The Umpire Challenging A Call. [Archive] - MensTennisForums.com

The Umpire Challenging A Call.

Certinfy
08-08-2010, 12:08 AM
Just happened in Nalbandian vs Cilic. :lol:

Ever happened before? :confused:

Sapeod
08-08-2010, 12:11 AM
Don't think so :lol:.
The ball was way out too, worst challenge I have ever seen :lol:.

osmonde
08-08-2010, 12:32 AM
Ridiculous from that empire...not the best on tour.
Bring Lhayani: he often overuled line judges and he is always right.
Not afraid of getting involved. Very few are.

Voo de Mar
08-08-2010, 12:41 AM
Bring Lhayani: he often overuled line judges and he is always right.


Watch for example Roddick vs. Tsonga in Paris 2008.

straitup
08-08-2010, 12:43 AM
That was hilarious :lol:

Certinfy
08-08-2010, 12:44 AM
Watch for example Roddick vs. Tsonga in Paris 2008.Roddick got robbed so badly that match with the linecalls. :help:

n8
08-08-2010, 12:59 AM
Just happened in Nalbandian vs Cilic. :lol:

Ever happened before? :confused:

Aren't they just supposed to overrule and let the players challenge?

I didn't see the incident, but I did see the point where the linesperson was unsighted and the ball was about half a foot out and the umpire didn't make the call - he made Cilic challenge! Seemed like a very novice umpire.

SerenaFederer
08-08-2010, 01:21 AM
it happened before....dunno what the issue is though

if everyone on the court doesn't know the chair ump is stepping up and calling for the technology to determine what is the correct call :shrug:

happens in cricket as well...would you rather the wrong call stand?

tensyo
08-08-2010, 03:10 AM
I think the umpire did the right thing. Linesman indicated he was unsighted, and if the umpire was not sure if it was in or out, then he should ask for a hawkeye review, which he did. He was not really challenging the call, he was being fair to both players as linesman could not make a call.

However having said that, the ball was out by quite a bit & umpire should have seen that. So you can fault him for not paying attention.

Tutu
08-08-2010, 03:14 AM
it happened before....dunno what the issue is though

if everyone on the court doesn't know the chair ump is stepping up and calling for the technology to determine what is the correct call :shrug:

happens in cricket as well...would you rather the wrong call stand?
Exactly. Of course if the umpire is unsure it is better to do that.

A non-issue.

156mphserve
08-08-2010, 03:14 AM
I have no problem with an umpire going to Hawkeye if the linesman didn't see it. that's being said I didn't see the incident so I don't know what happened, but Hawkeye is there to get calls right. If the linesman is unable to determine whether it was in or out better to go to hawkeye than to make a call just for the sake of calling it

osmonde
08-08-2010, 05:27 AM
Watch for example Roddick vs. Tsonga in Paris 2008.
It was a dilemna with the number of challenge left, not with the line call.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tZns7F3OLDY

Serenidad
08-08-2010, 05:43 AM
Brands is too good for this.

The Magician
08-08-2010, 06:30 AM
Brands is too good for this.

Just stop. It's not funny, it's not original, it's not even annoying. It's just a painfully boring line of text I have to skip every thread, and I would rather save the split second of time that takes thanks :wavey:

KarlyM
08-08-2010, 07:45 AM
I read somewhere recently that an "umpire's challenge" was called during a WTA match last week (Dementieva/Date Krumm). One of them hit a serve that went way out -- there was no call from a linesperson and the umpire apparently didn't see it. :shrug: I think the use of an umpire's challenge is rare though.

Ivanatis
08-08-2010, 09:15 AM
I like the idea.

Har-Tru
08-08-2010, 09:34 AM
I knew that is is contemplated in the rules, but I've never seen it.

Voo de Mar
08-08-2010, 09:39 AM
It was a dilemna with the number of challenge left, not with the line call.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tZns7F3OLDY

Yes, but Lahyani lost control there because made a mistake with counting challenges. He was the reason of the whole mess.

Har-Tru
08-08-2010, 09:41 AM
Yes, but Lahyani lost control there because made a mistake with counting challenges. He was the reason of the whole mess.

Did he? Wasn't he right in that Roddick had one challenge left? Who's responsible for the scoreboard?

Lopez
08-08-2010, 09:47 AM
Did he? Wasn't he right in that Roddick had one challenge left? Who's responsible for the scoreboard?

No actually I think he was wrong in that situation. That's why they added a new rule that "If the umpire and hawk-eye judge disagree on the number of challenges left, you go with the hawk-eye judge" :lol: