Honour roll: players overruling line calls in favour of opponent [Archive] - MensTennisForums.com

Honour roll: players overruling line calls in favour of opponent

pogotheorist
05-05-2009, 04:23 PM
Always heartwarming to see, if the match is close enough to make it meaningful. Latest (Munich, 2009-5-5, as reported in a post on AndyMurray.com):Hewitt was serving for the match against Petzschner and had MP, Petz goes long but Hewitt contests it and gives him the point. Petz goes on to break back and take the 2nd set
However this account is disputed: some say umpire overruled & Hewitt argued with that. (I didn't see it.) More below.

A classic from Roddick in 2005 which actually did cost him the match, as reported in Sports Illustrated (http://sportsillustrated.cnn.com/2005/writers/frank_deford/05/11/deford.sportsmanship/):Last Wednesday, in the round of sixteen at the Rome Masters, Fernando Verdasco of Spain was serving to America's top player, Andy Roddick. Verdasco had lost the first set and was down 5-3, love-40 -- triple match point. After he hit deep on the second serve, the line judge called the ball out and Roddick had the match.

Only, Roddick refused to accept the point. Verdasco's serve had nicked the line, he said. Stunned, the umpire let Roddick overrule him. Verdasco then fought back, held serve, won the set and then the match.

Probably you heard nothing about this display of generosity; it barely rated a mention in the American press. Yet Roddick risked -- and lost -- tens of thousands of dollars in a tournament where he was seeded first simply because he felt obliged to be honest.

JimmyV
05-05-2009, 04:37 PM
Let the Roddick flame fest begin.

Action Jackson
05-05-2009, 04:48 PM
Lots of players do this, the majority are honest.

Wilander overruled a call when he was match up point up against Clerc in the semi finals of RG.

Moya has done it numerous times. Rafter was another one who refused to take a bad call against Cherkasov and he lost the match.

MariaV
05-05-2009, 04:51 PM
Lots of players do this, the majority are honest.

Wilander overruled a call when he was match up point up against Clerc in the semi finals of RG.

Moya has done it numerous times. Rafter was another one who refused to take a bad call against Cherkasov and he lost the match.

Right.
Safin's done it numerous times too. :p

Bazooka
05-05-2009, 04:53 PM
I don't know why I missed this story in 2005, thanks.

Truc
05-05-2009, 05:03 PM
Hewitt was already on his way to the net to shake Petzschner's hand, the chair umpire overruled.

pogotheorist
05-05-2009, 05:18 PM
The Hewitt one is a subject of controversy in the match thread here on MTF:
Amazing sportsmanship from Hewitt in the second set when he was leading 6-2, 5-4 40-15. Petzschner seemingly play's the ball long, Linesman calls out - match over, Petzchner comes to the net to shake Hewitt's hand, Hewitt starts to walk towards the net but wants another look at the line. Hewitt calls umpire over and insists that Petzchner be awarded the point as he thinks it touched. Dazed looks from Petzchner and umpire as Hewitt concedes the point.
Are you crazy? He didn't do that at all. Hewitt said it was long.

Myrre
05-05-2009, 05:32 PM
It's not that honorable on clay, because they just save the umpire from coming down and checking the mark.

shotgun
05-05-2009, 05:43 PM
Nadal also did that once at MP against Calleri in Costa do Sauipe, 2005. Nadal would have won the match in straights, but he overruled it in Calleri's favour. Calleri ended up winning that second set, but lost the third. I remember the match ended past 2 AM local time. Nadal went on to win the title.

pogotheorist
05-05-2009, 06:56 PM
It's not that honorable on clay, because they just save the umpire from coming down and checking the mark.
Not so, in cases such as today's (by comm's accounts), where everyone else was going to accept the "out" call. If Hewitt says nothing, match is over.

Nacho
05-05-2009, 07:08 PM
I remember the roddick-verdasco match, can't believe it's already been 4 years

Deivid23
05-05-2009, 07:35 PM
Federer tried to hook on a call against Nadal in final tie-breaker of that epic Rome final, not good Roger :o

Fed Express
05-05-2009, 08:14 PM
Federer gave Wawrinka his first serve back when it was called long when Wawa was serving for the match. Thought that was pretty nice.

pogotheorist
05-05-2009, 08:31 PM
Federer tried to hook on a call against Nadal in final tie-breaker of that epic Rome final, not good Roger :o
Tried a search to find out what this means, got a reference (post-Rome 2005):

Roger: Hi Rafa :wavey:

Rafa: *thinks about one-dimensional comments, coaching complaints, try to hook on a call.... and looks away* Go n greet your momma, crying baby


:rocker:but no explanation. So... what's hooking?

Henry Chinaski
05-05-2009, 10:13 PM
Djokovic gave Roddick an ace in their match in Dubai last year but I think he said afterwards that it was because he hadn't heard the umpire call it out.

Har-Tru
05-05-2009, 10:53 PM
Tried a search to find out what this means, got a reference (post-Rome 2005):

but no explanation. So... what's hooking?

He's just trying to subtly imply that Roger is Rafa's hooker.

Deivid23
05-06-2009, 09:30 AM
He's just trying to subtly imply that Roger is Rafa's hooker.

Not bad :lol:

Tried a search to find out what this means, got a reference (post-Rome 2005):

but no explanation. So... what's hooking?

I think it was first point of 5th set tie-break, a ball landed on the line but was called out. Roger marked a wrong mark, but Grilloti went down and said mark was a different one and it was good, not sure if they had to replay the point and Nadal won it or it was just given to Rafa, anyway, Nadal won it. Basically Roger tried to cheat and steal that point :o

amarone
05-06-2009, 09:50 AM
Not bad :lol:



I think it was first point of 5th set tie-break, a ball landed on the line but was called out. Roger marked a wrong mark, but Grilloti went down and said mark was a different one and it was good, not sure if they had to replay the point and Nadal won it or it was just given to Rafa, anyway, Nadal won it. Basically Roger tried to cheat and steal that point :o

I seem to remember that they replayed the point and Roger won it. I'm sure Rafa wasn't given the point.

Truc
05-06-2009, 11:02 AM
If Hewitt says nothing, match is over.Again, it was an overrule from the chair umpire, Hewitt said the ball was out, the story you posted is wrong.

You really should edit the first post, a lot of people only read the first post of a thread.

Renaud
05-06-2009, 11:04 AM
Again, it was an overrule from the chair umpire, Hewitt said the ball was out, the story you posted is wrong.

You really should edit the first post, a lot of people only read the first post of a thread.

When did that happen ? Second or third set ?

Truc
05-06-2009, 11:05 AM
Second set, *5-4 40-15.

Renaud
05-06-2009, 11:17 AM
Ok I just saw that part. Hewitt is clearly not giving the point. :lol:
He was going to the net for the handshake then the umpire came to check the mark and overulled the decision. Hewitt even tried to contest the decision.

Sunset of Age
05-06-2009, 02:26 PM
Federer gave Wawrinka his first serve back when it was called long when Wawa was serving for the match. Thought that was pretty nice.

He overruled a wrong call in Djokovic' favour as well in the Rome match.
Nice to see.

JMG
05-06-2009, 02:59 PM
Ok I just saw that part. Hewitt is clearly not giving the point. :lol:
He was going to the net for the handshake then the umpire came to check the mark and overulled the decision. Hewitt even tried to contest the decision.

Unbelievable how this guy invents a story to make his favourite player look like an angle. One guy was posting the same shit in the gamblers lounge, so a lot of people believe this story now. :o

bobbynorwich
05-06-2009, 03:22 PM
Nadal also did that once at MP against Calleri in Costa do Sauipe, 2005. Nadal would have won the match in straights, but he overruled it in Calleri's favour. Calleri ended up winning that second set, but lost the third. I remember the match ended past 2 AM local time. Nadal went on to win the title.

Typical classy Rafa.

:)