New Rules Quiz (clay) [Archive] - MensTennisForums.com

New Rules Quiz (clay)

woodrow1029
04-30-2009, 11:39 PM
Here are some questions regarding procedures on clay courts since we are in the clay court season right now. Good luck.

1. On a clay court, Player A hits a shot very close to the line and the ball is called out. As Player B slides, he accidentally slides right through the ball mark erasing the mark. Player A wants you to check the mark. As the chair umpire, what is your decision?

A. Player B loses the point as he erased the mark.
B. The original call stands as you can't read the mark and the mark erasing was accidental.
C. Replay the point.

2. On a clay court, Player A hits a very high lob that lands very close to the far side line. The line umpire calls the ball out. Player A wants you to go check the mark. When you get to where the ball hit, there are 2 small circular marks next to each other, one touching the line and the other one not touching the line. You are unsure which mark, so you call the line umpire. The line umpire comes up and says he's not sure which one it is. As the chair umpire, your decision is?

A. The original call stands.
B. Replay the point.

3. Same situation as #2, only this time the line umpire points at a different mark about a foot away from where you are and the mark he points at is a long elliptical mark, almost looking like a serve mark and it is touching the line.

A. Replay the point
B. Go with the mark that he showed you as "in" even though you know that by the shape of the mark, it couldn't have been a lob.
C. Say "thank you" to the line umpire, go with the original call, and laugh in your head the whole way back to the chair at the moron line umpire that doesn't know what the shape of a lob ball mark should be.

4. Player A hits a shot that is very close to the line and it's called out. He wants you to check the mark. You go down and look and see that the ball is in. You go back to the chair and announce the score as you are awarding the point as a winner to Player A. Player B then says, "No, I hit the ball back." You think about and realize that he is correct and that you should have decided to replay the point. Should you:

A. Replay the point and explain that since player A reminded of you of an actual fact that happened, it's ok to change your decision.
B. Award the point to Player A explaining that you can't change your decision once you have announced it.

5. Similar situation to #4, instead this time, you announce "replay the point." Player A says, "No, he didn't have a play on the ball. It was a winner." You think about it and realize that although Player B didn't actually hit the ball, you're not quite sure that he did or did not stop because of the out call. Should you:

A. Replay the point since you already announced that, and you are not allowed to change your "judgment" based on player appeal.
B. Award the point to player A.

GlennMirnyi
04-30-2009, 11:45 PM
1. Stick with the call.
2. Replay the point and fire the linesman.
3. Punch the linesman? Probably C.
4. B
5. A

Just what I'd do in the last couple of questions.

Montego
04-30-2009, 11:56 PM
Here are some questions regarding procedures on clay courts since we are in the clay court season right now. Good luck.

1. On a clay court, Player A hits a shot very close to the line and the ball is called out. As Player B slides, he accidentally slides right through the ball mark erasing the mark. Player A wants you to check the mark. As the chair umpire, what is your decision?

B. The original call stands as you can't read the mark and the mark erasing was accidental.

2. On a clay court, Player A hits a very high lob that lands very close to the far side line. The line umpire calls the ball out. Player A wants you to go check the mark. When you get to where the ball hit, there are 2 small circular marks next to each other, one touching the line and the other one not touching the line. You are unsure which mark, so you call the line umpire. The line umpire comes up and says he's not sure which one it is. As the chair umpire, your decision is?

A. The original call stands.

3. Same situation as #2, only this time the line umpire points at a different mark about a foot away from where you are and the mark he points at is a long elliptical mark, almost looking like a serve mark and it is touching the line.

A. Replay the point

4. Player A hits a shot that is very close to the line and it's called out. He wants you to check the mark. You go down and look and see that the ball is in. You go back to the chair and announce the score as you are awarding the point as a winner to Player A. Player B then says, "No, I hit the ball back." You think about and realize that he is correct and that you should have decided to replay the point. Should you:

B. Award the point to Player A explaining that you can't change your decision once you have announced it. (Kohlschreiber - Robredo in Hamburg anyone ?)

5. Similar situation to #4, instead this time, you announce "replay the point." Player A says, "No, he didn't have a play on the ball. It was a winner." You think about it and realize that although Player B didn't actually hit the ball, you're not quite sure that he did or did not stop because of the out call. Should you:

A. Replay the point since you already announced that, and you are not allowed to change your "judgment" based on player appeal.


Right ?

woodrow1029
05-01-2009, 12:02 AM
Right ?
Just remember that in Hamburg, the umpire wasn't allowed to change his reading of the mark because Kohlschreiber was changing his Judgment of whether the mark was in or not. In question 4, you are being reminded of the actual fact of the player hitting the ball back, and not a judgment whether he had a play on the ball or not.

Bazooka
05-01-2009, 12:13 AM
1. B. The original call stands as you can't read the mark and the mark erasing was accidental.

If a call can't be challenged it stands.

2. A. The original call stands.

Same thing. Out was called, you must prove it was a wrong call or it stands.

3. C. Say "thank you" to the line umpire, go with the original call, and laugh in your head the whole way back to the chair at the moron line umpire that doesn't know what the shape of a lob ball mark should be.

Again if there's not way to prove a call is wrong it should stand. Not sure about this one, however.

4. A. Replay the point and explain that since player A reminded of you of an actual fact that happened, it's ok to change your decision.

Common sense, but not sure.

5. B. Award the point to player A.

This is why players usually touch the ball even when it is out... if you're not sure, return it, always.

Har-Tru
05-01-2009, 03:03 AM
Here are some questions regarding procedures on clay courts since we are in the clay court season right now. Good luck.

1. On a clay court, Player A hits a shot very close to the line and the ball is called out. As Player B slides, he accidentally slides right through the ball mark erasing the mark. Player A wants you to check the mark. As the chair umpire, what is your decision?

A. Player B loses the point as he erased the mark.
B. The original call stands as you can't read the mark and the mark erasing was accidental.
C. Replay the point.

2. On a clay court, Player A hits a very high lob that lands very close to the far side line. The line umpire calls the ball out. Player A wants you to go check the mark. When you get to where the ball hit, there are 2 small circular marks next to each other, one touching the line and the other one not touching the line. You are unsure which mark, so you call the line umpire. The line umpire comes up and says he's not sure which one it is. As the chair umpire, your decision is?

A. The original call stands.
B. Replay the point.

3. Same situation as #2, only this time the line umpire points at a different mark about a foot away from where you are and the mark he points at is a long elliptical mark, almost looking like a serve mark and it is touching the line.

A. Replay the point
B. Go with the mark that he showed you as "in" even though you know that by the shape of the mark, it couldn't have been a lob.
C. Say "thank you" to the line umpire, go with the original call, and laugh in your head the whole way back to the chair at the moron line umpire that doesn't know what the shape of a lob ball mark should be.

4. Player A hits a shot that is very close to the line and it's called out. He wants you to check the mark. You go down and look and see that the ball is in. You go back to the chair and announce the score as you are awarding the point as a winner to Player A. Player B then says, "No, I hit the ball back." You think about and realize that he is correct and that you should have decided to replay the point. Should you:

A. Replay the point and explain that since player A reminded of you of an actual fact that happened, it's ok to change your decision.
B. Award the point to Player A explaining that you can't change your decision once you have announced it.

5. Similar situation to #4, instead this time, you announce "replay the point." Player A says, "No, he didn't have a play on the ball. It was a winner." You think about it and realize that although Player B didn't actually hit the ball, you're not quite sure that he did or did not stop because of the out call. Should you:

A. Replay the point since you already announced that, and you are not allowed to change your "judgment" based on player appeal.
B. Award the point to player A.

Nice to see you back woodrow.

Har-Tru
05-01-2009, 03:05 AM
Just remember that in Hamburg, the umpire wasn't allowed to change his reading of the mark because Kohlschreiber was changing his Judgment of whether the mark was in or not. In question 4, you are being reminded of the actual fact of the player hitting the ball back, and not a judgment whether he had a play on the ball or not.

wasn't it because you can't change your call on appeal? That's what old Tom Barnes said.

jonas
05-01-2009, 08:44 AM
B, A, C, A, A

woodrow1029
05-01-2009, 04:04 PM
wasn't it because you can't change your call on appeal? That's what old Tom Barnes said.
Yes, but it was changing the call on appeal on a judgment call that you can't do. If the player is reminding you of an actual fact that happened, i.e. that he actually hit the ball, and you remember that he did hit the ball, that is a point of tennis law that the point is replayed. You can change your decision based on that information. If he tells you he hit it, and you can't remember, then you have to stick with your original call.

Har-Tru
05-01-2009, 04:28 PM
Yes, but it was changing the call on appeal on a judgment call that you can't do. If the player is reminding you of an actual fact that happened, i.e. that he actually hit the ball, and you remember that he did hit the ball, that is a point of tennis law that the point is replayed. You can change your decision based on that information. If he tells you he hit it, and you can't remember, then you have to stick with your original call.

got it. :yeah:

woodrow1029
05-01-2009, 04:50 PM
Answers:
1. B
2. A
3. C
4. A
5. A

Har-Tru
05-01-2009, 05:03 PM
yay, I got them right! :bigclap: