So, can a player challenge his own shot if it`s going against him? [Archive] - MensTennisForums.com

So, can a player challenge his own shot if it`s going against him?

whist
07-25-2008, 07:54 AM
Just cross my mind watching Ančić and Dančević the other day. Mario hit a great serve but Frank had a fantastic backhand return and won a point. But I thought there for a moment that Mario`s serve could be wide. So, can he make a challenge to his own shot if the ball was wide and there was no call from the umpire or the man standing on that line? And what happens than after the challenge? He is challenging his own shot and turns out to be wide, does he lose this challenge or not? And does he have a first serve because after using the challenge will have a 30 second delay from that first serve which is always not good for the server? :rolls:

maria_marie
07-25-2008, 08:32 AM
I've always wondered about that. I think they should have the right to challenge because in this case the server loses the point. Guess there hasn't been such situation

Lopez
07-25-2008, 08:36 AM
That would be totally unsportsmanlike. Don't think were going to see that anytime soon at least. Maybe if a new, in-your-face generation rises.

jenanun
07-25-2008, 08:40 AM
yes. remember roddick did the similar thing before. he thought his serve was wide, he stopped play but the return came back was good. he challenged his own serve, which was good. he lost the point.

Lopez
07-25-2008, 08:58 AM
That might be the only case I could see that players would do it, if they think that a serve is out and don't even try to get to the ball. That's the right way to do it besides, if a player tries to play a ball then he can't challenge. But seriously, I don't think we'll be seeing a lot of those, at least not those that would be challenged just because the return was huge.

lazyman
07-25-2008, 09:31 AM
it happend in a womens match at wimbledon or the french this year. it was written about in that update blog thing on the website

Xenosys
07-25-2008, 11:10 AM
Interesting point you make there :)

Chrisilson
07-25-2008, 11:21 AM
That would be totally unsportsmanlike. Don't think were going to see that anytime soon at least. Maybe if a new, in-your-face generation rises.


I wouldn't call it unsportsmanlike. The Hawk-eye system is there for a reason and the players should be able to challenge anything. Dancevic gained the advantage because the line-judge made a mistake, Ancic should not suffer for his. If the ball is out, then second serve I say.

Lopez
07-25-2008, 11:53 AM
Hmm yes you do have a point Chris, however it's a tricky matter. They would have to clearly signal their challenge and not try to get to the return, otherwise the challenge should be invalid.

Burrow
07-25-2008, 01:20 PM
Yes, but that is irrelevant, nobody said they would chase down the return. If the ball is out, second serve.

Lopez
07-25-2008, 01:45 PM
Burrow, IMO it's hard to prove in those situations whether the player tries to catch it or not. But I admit that I was wrong and a bit harsh in my inital judgement :)

Tutu
07-25-2008, 01:49 PM
:rolls:

Jogy
07-25-2008, 02:36 PM
Of course can you challenging your own shot.

Happens sometimes that somebody loose the point after the return and then they challenging their own close serve call. If it was a fault, then they are lucky because they do not loose the point, but only have 2nd serve. Good deal.

Becker was a master in doing that to complain to ref that his own serve was out after he came to the net and lost point with a return.

Ozon
07-25-2008, 02:54 PM
That would be totally unsportsmanlike.

I don't think it would be unsportsmanlike. Maybe everyone had this experience from time to time: You serve and don't react to the returning ball because you thought your serve was out!

lleytonlegend
07-25-2008, 02:54 PM
i thought it happened in the AO this year, with jankovic or ivanovic maybe

Jogy
07-25-2008, 03:01 PM
I don't think it would be unsportsmanlike. Maybe everyone had this experience from time to time: You serve and don't react to the returning ball because you thought your serve was out!
yes very much agreeing, exactly such situation I mean

this should be unsportsmanlike? :spit: :rolls:
if you think your own serve was out, it's as much good right to challenge it like in other points

groundstroke
07-25-2008, 03:30 PM
It's allowed. I think Federer did it once.

clumsy
07-31-2008, 01:11 AM
Hey guys, i have a question about challenge. Let say a player serve a 130 mph first serve very close to the line and gets a winning return. However, the serve seems to be out. Can the server challenge his own serve and hope that his serve was out to get a second serve instead of losing the point?

GlennMirnyi
07-31-2008, 01:15 AM
Of course. Why wouldn't he be allowed to?

ChocGeek
07-31-2008, 05:10 AM
It would be rather quirky to challenge your own shot:spit:

octatennis
07-31-2008, 05:17 AM
Hey guys, i have a question about challenge. Let say a player serve a 130 mph first serve very close to the line and gets a winning return. However, the serve seems to be out. Can the server challenge his own serve and hope that his serve was out to get a second serve instead of losing the point?



you didn't read the first page, did you?

what you said about the service it is allowed, roddick did it in us open final against fed.