Double Retirement: Has It Ever Happened? [Archive] - MensTennisForums.com

Double Retirement: Has It Ever Happened?

SheepleBuster
04-27-2008, 06:36 AM
I know it's highly unlikely to happen but what would happen if in a final of a grandslam both players retire? Would there be a match between semi-finalists?

Richardgm
04-27-2008, 06:40 AM
Why would both retire? When you hear one has retired, don't you automatically win? What are they going to notify the officals at the exact same time?

<confused>

Alex999
04-27-2008, 06:41 AM
this is great. I'm so tempted to open a new thread too :-)

SheepleBuster
04-27-2008, 06:42 AM
It's highly unlikely. But let's say before the game both players come down with a bad case of Flu. I don't know. I just wanted to know if there is a rule in place.

scarecrows
04-27-2008, 06:43 AM
this is great. I'm so tempted to open a new thread too :-)

go on, open one for quadruple retirement

FedFan_2007
04-27-2008, 06:43 AM
Fortunately it hasn't happened in the history of tennis.

SheepleBuster
04-27-2008, 06:46 AM
What if both players are hit by a truck before the match. Just wanted to know if there is rule. Given, it will probably never happen. Can we move on now :)

Alex999
04-27-2008, 06:50 AM
go on, open one for quadruple retirement
well, it's possible in doubles, right, what if all 4 players get a heart attack at the same time?

Benny_Maths
04-27-2008, 08:40 AM
If one player knew that the other was struggling, they'd probably drag themself onto the court regardless of their physical condition.:D

Bibberz
04-27-2008, 08:49 AM
I don't mean to sound derisive, but this is the sort of question a six-year old might ask. This question is still at least...interesting, so it's immediately better than 70% of the questions found in threads.

I agree with one of the earlier posters--someone has to retire first. The match ends at that moment. I would think it would be collusive (and presumably improper) if the players agreed to retire simultaneously.

Adler
04-27-2008, 08:56 AM
That looks possible, if one player doesn't know anything about his opponent's retirement and they both pull out at exactly the same time

Jimnik
04-27-2008, 09:03 AM
What if both players are hit by a truck before the match.
The one who crawls out of his hopsital bed first is the winner. ;)

boughtmypoints
04-27-2008, 09:25 AM
It's quite straightforward ...

If both players are defaulted or withdraw prior to a match in the first round, their places are taken by lucky losers (players who have lost in qualifying but who have signed in that morning and who are on 15 minute call to play). In doubles without qualies, ALTernates (players who signed in on the entry sheet but who did not make the cut but who also have to sign in the morning of play).

In a later round, the match is voided and the opponent in the next round is given a walk over. The only time this not come into play is in a 48 or 96 player draw and
it is possible for a lucky loser to go straight into the second round and collect second round prize money but no points if they lose the match.

I am almost certain there have been instances of a player winning a later stage match due to the retirement of his opponent and the "wimming" player withdrawing injured and giving his next opponent a walk over.

The flipside to all this are the many instances in the past of doubles teams not having a good relationship with their opponents and both teams trying to tank (usually to get catch the same flight!) with hilarious results.

Kolya
04-27-2008, 10:17 AM
Would be interesting to see it happen.

Retiring at the same time would be ironic.

thesonofgray
04-27-2008, 10:21 AM
It's highly unlikely. But let's say before the game both players come down with a bad case of Flu. I don't know. I just wanted to know if there is a rule in place.

What if both players are hit by a truck before the match. Just wanted to know if there is rule. Given, it will probably never happen. Can we move on now :)

Is there something we should be concerned about? You seem really determined to find out what will happen if two finalists are taken out. :unsure:

Kuhne
04-27-2008, 11:11 AM
What if they both die at the same time? (im serious) is it just a no contest or do the semifinalists get a shot?

W!MBLEDON
04-27-2008, 11:20 AM
no, they lost, end of story

Nathaliia
04-27-2008, 11:42 AM
I've only seen double retirement in doubles compatitions in challengers, but then is pretty much resembled tanking; nobody wanted to be bothered playing doubles as they prefered to play singles quallies elsewhere :lol:

Monteque
04-27-2008, 12:03 PM
it's just likely happen to a couple. If the final is Gasquet and Safin. and being exact happenned in their marriage. making mistake reading schedule and choosing the wrong day. :devil:

Nacho
04-27-2008, 12:21 PM
this reminds me of the 2002 valencia challenger :lol:

Doubles SF
Marcus Hilpert/Shaun Rudman (GER/RSA) d. Feliciano Lopez/Marc Lopez (ESP) w/o
(2)Tim Crichton/Todd Perry (AUS) d. Jan Siemerink/Dennis van Scheppingen (NED) w/o

Doubles Finals
(2)Tim Crichton/Todd Perry (AUS) d. Marcus Hilpert/Shaun Rudman (GER/RSA) w/o :lol: :lol:

The winners only finished 1 match to get the title :haha:

maria_marie
04-27-2008, 01:20 PM
omg must have been an exciting tournament lol! feli tanking the doubles with that little known guy. I imagine the following situation-before the semifinal both players are injured and withdraw seperately before the match. if, for example, player X has a torn ligament and withdraws then player Y has a broken rib and can't play either, so why bother showing up at the final

cherry2008
04-27-2008, 01:27 PM
This could happen one day when Djokovic plays Davydenko.

LocoPorElTenis
04-27-2008, 05:57 PM
this reminds me of the 2002 valencia challenger :lol:

Doubles SF
Marcus Hilpert/Shaun Rudman (GER/RSA) d. Feliciano Lopez/Marc Lopez (ESP) w/o
(2)Tim Crichton/Todd Perry (AUS) d. Jan Siemerink/Dennis van Scheppingen (NED) w/o

Doubles Finals
(2)Tim Crichton/Todd Perry (AUS) d. Marcus Hilpert/Shaun Rudman (GER/RSA) w/o :lol: :lol:

The winners only finished 1 match to get the title :haha:

:spit: :rolls:

boughtmypoints
04-27-2008, 05:58 PM
What if they both die at the same time? (im serious) is it just a no contest or do the semifinalists get a shot?

No, the beaten players are out.

Somebody can chip in here with the story of a player match point up who retired as he knew he would be unfit to play the next day. This was hailed as a great act of sportsmanship.

There's also the detail that there's not a lot of difference in points between semi-finalist and beaten finalist.

All that said, most tournaments have a requirement that any player still present make themselves available to put on an exhibition instead of the cancelled men's final.

SheepleBuster
04-27-2008, 05:59 PM
But who wins if let's say Final of Roland Garos, both players are down with illness and don't show up? Who is the winner?

boughtmypoints
04-27-2008, 06:04 PM
But who wins if let's say Final of Roland Garos, both players are down with illness and don't show up? Who is the winner?

Money and points are split. This has happened various times with rained out finals. RG might wait a day for the players to recover ...

Tutu
04-27-2008, 06:05 PM
Unless Gunther Parche comes and attacks both players, I can't see it happening.

Waterfox
04-27-2008, 06:16 PM
no..

IT WONT HAPPEN EVER
cuz one has to retire first

I remember that match
Venus has against Rubin in Tokyo..

Rubin was suppose to retire in her match against Venus in her quarters..
but she decided hit a few balls before saying so...
then before the match started..
Venus withdrew...
and Chanda with her pain...went to to the Semis..
but had to withdraw herself..

Chris Seahorse
04-27-2008, 11:44 PM
What if they both die at the same time? (im serious) is it just a no contest or do the semifinalists get a shot?

I think if both players were to die before a final, it would be very disrespectful to invite the semifinalists to play the final in their place. Indeed in place of the final there would no doubt be a very sad and respectful gathering honoring the achievements of both players along with tributes paying respects to the characters of both players, whoever they may be. Under such grave circumstances I am sure that while the spectators would be disappointed, they would appreciate that it would be highly inappropiate to play a tennis match and I am sure they would respectfully mourn the players' loss.

As to what would happen to the title, I think it would be split between both players in the same way as has happened on the rare occasion when finals have had to be canceled, normally due to bad weather.

Having said all this, I very much doubt this will ever happen and certainly hope with all my heart that it indeed doesn't.

exposbabe
04-28-2008, 04:49 AM
It's quite straightforward ...

If both players are defaulted or withdraw prior to a match in the first round, their places are taken by lucky losers (players who have lost in qualifying but who have signed in that morning and who are on 15 minute call to play). In doubles without qualies, ALTernates (players who signed in on the entry sheet but who did not make the cut but who also have to sign in the morning of play).

In a later round, the match is voided and the opponent in the next round is given a walk over. The only time this not come into play is in a 48 or 96 player draw and
it is possible for a lucky loser to go straight into the second round and collect second round prize money but no points if they lose the match.

I am almost certain there have been instances of a player winning a later stage match due to the retirement of his opponent and the "wimming" player withdrawing injured and giving his next opponent a walk over.

The flipside to all this are the many instances in the past of doubles teams not having a good relationship with their opponents and both teams trying to tank (usually to get catch the same flight!) with hilarious results.



This actually happened at Indian Wells this year, when Frank Dancevic and Alejandro Falla were scheduled to play a first-round match. Both bailed; two lucky losers took their spot.

hra87
04-28-2008, 05:09 AM
I'm sure your mommy would disagree, but every single thought you have isn't worth public expression.

Bernard Black
04-28-2008, 09:54 AM
Hahaha, hilarious scenario. I can just imagine two players struggling with an injury and saying "I retire" at exactly the same moment...closely followed by "ah crap!"