Do I understand the rules correctly? [Archive] - MensTennisForums.com

Do I understand the rules correctly?

Farenhajt
02-10-2008, 11:57 PM
If a slam winner falls out of the final Top Eight in the Race, he still gets the invitation for TMC? Therefore, Novak already qualified, no matter what final race spot he takes?

Deboogle!.
02-10-2008, 11:57 PM
Has to be in the top 20 of the race. So as soon as Novak has been confirmed to finish within the top 20 for the race as long as the other slam winners are within the top 7 (or behind him in the top 20), he would qualify automatically.

But really do you think he'll not be in the top 8? :)

Farenhajt
02-11-2008, 12:00 AM
I sure don't :) just wanted to check how the rule works.

Deboogle!.
02-11-2008, 12:04 AM
alright, just checking ;)

JimmyV
02-11-2008, 05:38 AM
Joke will only be able to play if they build a court inside the Shanghai international hospital. They'll be able to take him to and from the court in a wheelchair and administer IV fluids on each changeover.

bokehlicious
02-11-2008, 08:34 AM
Pointless thread, Novak will come to TMC leading the race by a huge margin...

Grenouille
02-11-2008, 08:50 AM
It's not pointless. It's not about Novak, it's about the rules.

For instance, in 2002, Thomas Johansson and Albert Costa were not in the top 8 of the race whereas they were both slam winner. Only one of them could go to the YEC, Costa !

Kolya
02-11-2008, 08:58 AM
Interesting rule.

Never knew about it.

bokehlicious
02-11-2008, 08:59 AM
It's not pointless.

Thanks for the bad rep mate, was worth it you Einstein :yeah:

SCUMBAG!

:retard::retard::retard:

Nathaliia
02-11-2008, 09:25 AM
The same rules is in the doubles as well :)

Renaud
02-11-2008, 12:01 PM
For instance, in 2002, Thomas Johansson and Albert Costa were not in the top 8 of the race whereas they were both slam winner. Only one of them could go to the YEC, Costa !

There were even 3 GS winners out of top 8.
Costa: 11th
Sampras: 13th
Johansson: 14th

ToJo was the first alternate there, but does any one know if it was thanks to the rule (2nd GS winner out of top 8 is first alternate) or because Henman, Roddick, Haas, Nalbandian and Sampras did not want to come ?

Farenhajt
02-11-2008, 12:19 PM
So, the addendum to the rule is that no more than one out-of-the-eight-slam-winner can qualify directly. OK.

*bunny*
02-11-2008, 12:26 PM
In 2001, Goran appeared in TMC under this rule. He was ranked #13 after TMS Paris.

MrExcel
02-11-2008, 12:32 PM
There were even 3 GS winners out of top 8.
Costa: 11th
Sampras: 13th
Johansson: 14th

ToJo was the first alternate there, but does any one know if it was thanks to the rule (2nd GS winner out of top 8 is first alternate) or because Henman, Roddick, Haas, Nalbandian and Sampras did not want to come ?

It would make sense to me that any other Grand Slam champions (i.e. Johansson) were offered the alternate place first, but I don't know whether that's the rule or not. I only know that Henman said he wouldn't travel as an alternate that year and Sampras didn't play any events after his US Open win, not sure about Roddick, Haas or Nalbandian though...

Aphex
02-11-2008, 05:13 PM
http://www.atptennis.com/en/common/TrackIt.asp?file=http://www.atptennis.com/en/players/ATP_Rulebook2008.pdf

Page 31 ;)

jonny84
02-11-2008, 11:10 PM
Novak will make it anyway without this rule. Unless he gets severley injured and is out for most of the year.

Tutu
02-12-2008, 01:02 AM
WTA need to adopt this rule. I remember the Williams sisters incident in 05. Stupid WTA

~*BGT*~
02-12-2008, 01:11 AM
What happened with the WS?