Stupid question [Archive] - MensTennisForums.com

Stupid question

Ragayan
10-07-2007, 12:07 AM
What does "SE" stand for in the draw brackets? I just saw Puerta is in next week's Quito Challanger with an "SE" next to his name. I've never been able to figure that one out. Any help?

GlennMirnyi
10-07-2007, 12:11 AM
Special exempt. When a player gets to the final of a tournament and he would have to play qualies in another tournament of the same level, he gets a SE entry in the main draw.

Ragayan
10-07-2007, 04:59 AM
got it, thanks!

TankingTheSet
10-07-2007, 05:32 AM
I think reaching the SF is enough in most cases to be eligible for a SE next week.

Jelena
10-07-2007, 06:15 AM
The important thing is you need to play a match on the day the quali of the next tournament starts. Cause it's Saturday (mainly SF-day) often SF is enough.

alexinmusic
10-07-2007, 06:17 AM
and how about the other qualifiers, such as SE player's opponent in QS?

wifey99999999
10-07-2007, 11:53 AM
Special exempt. When a player gets to the final of a tournament and he would have to play qualies in another tournament of the same level, he gets a SE entry in the main draw.

If you are playing double SF, do you get SE? Or SE is just for a player who is playing SF in single only?

Jelena
10-07-2007, 03:05 PM
and how about the other qualifiers, such as SE player's opponent in QS?
the players who have a SE never appear in the Quali-draw.

alexinmusic
10-07-2007, 03:30 PM
oh,i got it finally, haha.

GlennMirnyi
10-07-2007, 06:33 PM
If you are playing double SF, do you get SE? Or SE is just for a player who is playing SF in single only?

I don't think so. It's just for singles, but maybe you can get a doubles SE, even though I never heard about it.

gusman890
10-07-2007, 06:45 PM
hmm

It makes sense if your both in doubles draw and your still playing and you were planning on playing singles qualies. By rule it sounds ligit, but I'm not 100% sure.

R.Federer
10-07-2007, 06:46 PM
Not a stupid question... and thanks Gu and others for giving the answer, I had never thought about it.

Frooty_Bazooty
10-07-2007, 10:25 PM
in Puerta's case - Supplementally 'Enhanced'

GlennMirnyi
10-07-2007, 10:31 PM
hmm

It makes sense if your both in doubles draw and your still playing and you were planning on playing singles qualies. By rule it sounds ligit, but I'm not 100% sure.

Doesn't make sense at all. SEs are based on the two tournaments being of the same level, and doubles is clearly distinct from singles.

Ragayan
10-07-2007, 10:53 PM
Okay, so if they have the main draw acceptance list complete, and the qualifiers and WC's get their place in the draw, who gives up their spot in the main draw for the SE player?

For example, in the upcoming Moscow tournament, 25 people are in the Main Draw because their ranking is high enough. 3 people are in because of a Wild Card. And the rest are 4 Qualifiers. Now, lets say someone got an SE into this tournament. Would they take up a Wild Card spot, in which case the tournament would have to inform someone that was expecting a WC that they will not get a WC after all? Or would they take up a Qualifier spot, in which case there would be an extra Qualifier match between two people who would have normally made the cut? Or what? Who's spot do they take?

Lee
10-08-2007, 12:42 AM
Okay, so if they have the main draw acceptance list complete, and the qualifiers and WC's get their place in the draw, who gives up their spot in the main draw for the SE player?

For example, in the upcoming Moscow tournament, 25 people are in the Main Draw because their ranking is high enough. 3 people are in because of a Wild Card. And the rest are 4 Qualifiers. Now, lets say someone got an SE into this tournament. Would they take up a Wild Card spot, in which case the tournament would have to inform someone that was expecting a WC that they will not get a WC after all? Or would they take up a Qualifier spot, in which case there would be an extra Qualifier match between two people who would have normally made the cut? Or what? Who's spot do they take?

Tournaments leave room for SEs into the main draw. If no player qualifies for the SE, players in the alternate list will fill up the vacant space.

Qualifiers are on another list. The qualifying draw will only start after all the WCs and SEs spots are cleared. And whoever on the qualifying list but makes the main draw will remove from the list.

With Moscow as the example, if you read the entry list thread in the tournament forum, you will see at the beginning, only top 23 players made the main draw. With Safin and 2 SE spots cleared, 3 players from the alternate list made the main draw.

gusman890
10-08-2007, 01:05 AM
Glenn, think about this:

Your knocked out of singles play, but your still in the doubles tournament. Therefore your unable to leave the tournament due to still playing within it, singles or not, your still partcipating in the event.

Therefore, still playing in the event should give you the SE due to you still playing reguardless of the situation.

GlennMirnyi
10-08-2007, 01:24 AM
Glenn, think about this:

Your knocked out of singles play, but your still in the doubles tournament. Therefore your unable to leave the tournament due to still playing within it, singles or not, your still partcipating in the event.

Therefore, still playing in the event should give you the SE due to you still playing reguardless of the situation.

Yeah right.

Then I'm 800th of the world - I'm in the quali draw for Vienna and get to Tokyo's doubles SF. For my amazing effort of winning two doubles matches I'm gettin' a SE?

Get it right mate.

gusman890
10-08-2007, 02:01 AM
Sounds crazy, no doubt.

but hey, the rules just are not specific enough to make comment on. besides, any person ranked 800 wouldnt be in the qualies for vienna anyway.

Snowwy
10-08-2007, 02:25 AM
Gu's right, its singles only

Snowwy
10-08-2007, 02:25 AM
in Puerta's case - Supplementally 'Enhanced'

:haha:

GlennMirnyi
10-08-2007, 03:01 AM
Sounds crazy, no doubt.

but hey, the rules just are not specific enough to make comment on. besides, any person ranked 800 wouldnt be in the qualies for vienna anyway.

It was just an example. ;)