Is it bad etiquette to dropshot off of a serve? [Archive] - MensTennisForums.com

Is it bad etiquette to dropshot off of a serve?

Perfection
04-19-2007, 11:29 PM
I thought I remember reading somewhere that it is very disrespectful or some shit.

leng jai
04-19-2007, 11:31 PM
'or some shit' sounds about right to me.

kobulingam
04-19-2007, 11:45 PM
I thought I remember reading somewhere that it is very disrespectful or some shit.

Hell no. It takes skill to do this, and if someone can do it effectively, then more power to him.

RickDaStick
04-19-2007, 11:46 PM
I thought I remember reading somewhere that it is very disrespectful or some shit.

Yes, it has absolutely nothing to do with the difficulty of hitting a good dropshot of a 130mph serve.

marcRD
04-19-2007, 11:46 PM
I remember Federer doing this against Blake in USOPEN.

wenty
04-19-2007, 11:48 PM
Nah, I agree with kobulingam. If you can hit a drop shot off a serve, you either fluked it or you're very good.

Sunset of Age
04-19-2007, 11:50 PM
Yes, it has absolutely nothing to do with the difficulty of hitting a good dropshot of a 130mph serve.

:haha:

See, that's what I love about this place. So funny!

ReturnWinner
04-19-2007, 11:51 PM
santoro has hit some of those return, i remember henman federer and stepanek have too

leng jai
04-19-2007, 11:57 PM
Personally I get more offended when my opponent hits a deep down the line winner off my serve.

MisterQ
04-20-2007, 12:04 AM
I remember John McEnroe commentating during the USO2005 final when Federer hit a dropshot return against Agassi. JMac said, with a bit of a laugh, it's an unwritten rule that that's not cool. :lol: (I paraphrase)

[Agassi, incidentally, got to the return and lobbed the ball over Fed's head, right to the baseline. After Fed scrambled back and returned the ball to midcourt with a bit of over-the-shoulder improvisation, Andre hit one of the only forehand dropshots I've ever seen him hit, which dropped just inches over the net, out of Fed's reach. That was a great match... :worship:

EDIT: Just realized I was thinking of a different point. :o But hey, it was still a good one, you can see it at 7:00 in this clip http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z2JV97fMtqw :rolls: ]

NYCtennisfan
04-20-2007, 12:04 AM
Personally I get more offended when my opponent hits a deep down the line winner off my serve.

:haha:

NaDALiTa
04-20-2007, 12:11 AM
As far as you win the point who cares ...........except your opponent :lol: ?

federerfan7465
04-20-2007, 12:18 AM
I thought I remember reading somewhere that it is very disrespectful or some shit.

Yes, it is an unwritten rule in the pro game that it isnt cool.

Sunset of Age
04-20-2007, 12:18 AM
As far as you win the point who cares ...........except your opponent :lol: ?

Hey, that's just what I thought tennis was all about - WINNING YOUR POINTS! :lol: I might have been wrong about that, heh. :yeah:

NaDALiTa
04-20-2007, 12:22 AM
Hey, that's just what I thought tennis was all about - WINNING YOUR POINTS! :lol: I might have been wrong about that, heh. :yeah:


:lol: :lol: You should have hard times if you win your opponent's points :lol:

njnetswill
04-20-2007, 12:22 AM
I've done that a few times, they were mishits though. :lol:

Sunset of Age
04-20-2007, 12:25 AM
:lol: :lol: You should have hard times if you win your opponent's points :lol:

Ah, we've seen quite a few demonstrations of that this week, I think. ;)
Raf against Vliegen today? :tape:

NaDALiTa
04-20-2007, 12:27 AM
I've done that a few times, they were mishits though. :lol:

:haha: in this case don't apologize to your opponent, he'd be like "wow this player is really gifted....but i'm sure he didn't do it on purpose "

NaDALiTa
04-20-2007, 12:31 AM
Ah, we've seen quite a few demonstrations of that this week, I think. ;)
Raf against Vliegen today? :tape:


:spit: Rafa was really nasty today he robbed all Vliegen's points :devil: What a slaughter he did!!!!

tangerine_dream
04-20-2007, 12:31 AM
I remember Federer doing this against Blake in USOPEN.
:lol: Mishits don't count.

GlennMirnyi
04-20-2007, 01:38 AM
As far as you win the point who cares ...........except your opponent :lol: ?

Typical rafa-fangirl. Just because your idol does use all kinds of dirty tactics and antics to win you think that's cool?

Kolya
04-20-2007, 01:38 AM
No.

NaDALiTa
04-20-2007, 01:48 AM
Typical rafa-fangirl. Just because your idol does use all kinds of dirty tactics and antics to win you think that's cool?



:o you should buy yourself a slice of second-degree.It never killed!Omfg Rafa touched his arse i'll do the same !Arse touching is so cool :spit:

The only dirty thing Rafa does is picking his booty......you should do the same at least it would avoid you writting bullcraps!

brent-o
04-20-2007, 01:51 AM
Off a fast serve, that's difficult to do. And if they do it, then congrats because it won't happen again very often. I think the opponent would probably regard it the same as a net cord. Nothing to do about it. But if it's a weak serve, this raises a question. Is it poorer etiquette to drop shot off or slam a winner? Personally, if I was the server, I wouldn't be happy either way lol

GlennMirnyi
04-20-2007, 01:54 AM
:o you should buy yourself a slice of second-degree.It never killed!Omfg Rafa touched his arse i'll do the same !Arse touching is so cool :spit:

The only dirty thing Rafa does is picking his booty......you should do the same at least it would avoid you writting bullcraps!

:haha: :haha: :haha:

What a joke of a post. What about 2 minutes to serve? Or taking fake injury time-outs to cool the adversary? Or never giving credit to your opponents always alledging injuries? :lol:

NaDALiTa
04-20-2007, 02:00 AM
:haha: :haha: :haha:

What a joke of a post. What about 2 minutes to serve? Or taking fake injury time-outs to cool the adversary? Or never giving credit to your opponents always alledging injuries? :lol:

You confirm it, i'am about to start a professional clown career :cool:

Only 2 minutes you are in a good mood ,i'd bet he took at least 3 minutes against Vliegen today!

Rules are made to be crossed, as far as nobody complains :devil:

GlennMirnyi
04-20-2007, 02:06 AM
You confirm it, i'am about to start a professional clown career :cool:

Only 2 minutes you are in a good mood ,i'd bet he took at least 3 minutes against Vliegen today!

Rules are made to be crossed, as far as nobody complains :devil:

Well, this is another peak of :retard:ness in MTF. Maybe we should cross the line on laws too, right? Maybe we should release killers too, if nobody complains about them. :rolleyes:

Metis
04-20-2007, 02:11 AM
Didn't this happen at the AO this year? I think it was Haas against Gonzalez. The commentators said it was probably a mishit.

Yappa
04-20-2007, 02:18 AM
Haas-Gonzalez is right. It was their match in IW where Haas hit a bh return drop shot. I don't remember correctly if it was a mishit or on purpose.

NaDALiTa
04-20-2007, 02:20 AM
Well, this is another peak of :retard:ness in MTF. Maybe we should cross the line on laws too, right? Maybe we should release killers too, if nobody complains about them. :rolleyes:

Get a life ,tennis is not life and life is not tennis. Don't pull all your eggs in one basket.Crossing tennis littlest rule and crossing life's rule isn't the same except if your life is reviewed to tennis.


you should fart from times to times......it can help!

GlennMirnyi
04-20-2007, 02:23 AM
Get a life ,tennis is not life and life is not tennis. Don't pull all your eggs in one basket.Crossing tennis littlest rule and crossing life's rule isn't the same except if your life is reviewed to tennis.


you should fart from times to times......it can help!

Wow, they are allowing 10 year-olds to post here.

Rules are rules and they were made to be followed. Get a clue.

Marek.
04-20-2007, 02:23 AM
:lol: Mishits don't count.
I remember Fed doing that because it was on break point and it wasn't a mishit. He did it against Roddick at the AO and that one was a mishit.

Metis
04-20-2007, 02:36 AM
Haas-Gonzalez is right. It was their match in IW where Haas hit a bh return drop shot. I don't remember correctly if it was a mishit or on purpose.

I see! It was during the payback match :devil:. I remember the commentators saying it was probably a mishit but during playback it looked to me as if he had done it on purpose.

Polikarpov
04-20-2007, 05:07 AM
I think it's cool because that's very tough to pull off.

martinatreue
04-20-2007, 05:28 AM
I would love to see more underhand serves too :)

Peta Pan
04-20-2007, 05:39 AM
I really don't understand why anyone would have a problem with dropshotting off a serve :scratch: If you can win a point doing it then why shouldn't you do it, considering it would be much harder than hitting a basic shot back into play :shrug:

Macbrother
04-20-2007, 06:21 AM
It's an unspoken rule for a youngster not to do this against an old geezer at tennis clubs. It obviously has no bearing in professional tennis.

jazar
04-20-2007, 06:53 AM
federer did it off almagro's serve last year in rome and the look on almagro's face said it all. the commentators were really impressed with it though

mecir72
04-20-2007, 09:43 AM
No.

stebs
04-20-2007, 10:12 AM
If you can do it then do it. Rios used to pull some magical winners with drop shot returns.

MisterQ
04-20-2007, 10:23 AM
It's an unspoken rule for a youngster not to do this against an old geezer at tennis clubs. It obviously has no bearing in professional tennis.

Ah, makes sense. And that somewhat explains the application of this to the match-up of Federer vs. "old geezer" Agassi I mentioned in my previous post. :lol:

Neely
04-20-2007, 10:33 AM
Sure, it's not against the rules, but it's taking the piss out on you. Still, I would not regard it as bad etiquette in pro tennis.

Kolya
04-20-2007, 10:54 AM
Do whatever to win.

scoobs
04-20-2007, 10:58 AM
Stuff etiquette, if in fact is is bad etiquette.

In professional tennis, you do what works to get the win - if that's moonballing, hitting drops off serves, slicing every backhand - whatever works.

TheBoiledEgg
04-20-2007, 11:29 AM
no best way to demoralise your opponent, who stands there thinking
"if only i could do that too" :tape:

Apemant
04-20-2007, 11:53 AM
I don't see why it would be bad etiquette? When you serve, you are right on the baseline. Should be able to catch dropshots easily; at any rate, much easier than when someone dropshots you while you are 4 yards behind the baseline, as Nadal often is (and still catches them comfortably)

Burrow
04-20-2007, 04:59 PM
doesnt the poster mean hit a dropshot serve? i dunno. I dont see why its disrespectful to hit a drop shot return. Same with a drop shot serve, if its in the rules its fine, why not?

Rafa = Fed Killa
04-20-2007, 06:14 PM
All is fair in love and war.

And tennis is war.

RickDaStick
04-20-2007, 06:20 PM
All is fair in love and war.

And tennis is war.

No you clown tennis is not war. Whats going on in Iraq is war. What goes on a tennis court is far from war.

Rafa = Fed Killa
04-20-2007, 06:46 PM
No you clown tennis is not war. Whats going on in Iraq is war. What goes on a tennis court is far from war.

As Connors said its a battle out there.

P.S. Of course the Iraq war is more important than any tennis match.

hablovah19
04-20-2007, 08:59 PM
It's an unspoken rule for a youngster not to do this against an old geezer at tennis clubs. It obviously has no bearing in professional tennis.

Thanks for the explanation.

Tzar
04-20-2007, 11:05 PM
I like drop shots, in ANY POINT i really do

scoobs
04-20-2007, 11:08 PM
Roger tried one against Ferrer today - only just hit the tape and fell back, but it was intentional.

Yappa
04-20-2007, 11:16 PM
Federer and Ljubicic like to hit those short bh slice returns which draw their opponent to the net, so that they can hit an easy volley or passing shot.

leng jai
04-21-2007, 12:00 AM
As Connors said its a battle out there.

P.S. Of course the Iraq war is more important than any tennis match.

With Rafa's retarded playing style it must feel like war for him.

alfonsojose
04-21-2007, 06:48 AM
If it's legal, go for it :D

lleytonfan!
04-21-2007, 08:29 AM
I think it's remarkable if someone pulls off such a shot, and more power to them if they can do successfully.

I remember when I used to play J1 Girl's Comp.
We used to play best of 8 game sets, ie, you won 8-0, 7-1, 6-2, 5-3 or drew 4-4. This girl had beaten me twice before, in two meetings, 6-2 and 5-3, and I really wanted to beat her on this occassion. She also usually always held serve comfrtably, because she served like a man.
I broke her to go up 3-2, after we both held our first two service games each. She then broke me back for 3-3. Then I hit two winners, and she hit an error, for her to go down 0-40. She then faulted, and hit a second serve, and I hit this phenomonal drop shot, and eventually won 5-3. I don't mean to brag, but it was so good. If it wasn't for that drop shot, I wouldn't have won.

Tom Paulman
05-17-2008, 11:53 AM
Federer has so far used it at least 6 times in the Seppi match, it's slowly starting to annoy me (and Seppi has played only 3 service games)

Rogieva
05-17-2008, 11:54 AM
I think he has won the point about 6/6

Nathaliia
05-17-2008, 11:55 AM
Fine next time someone will ask if winning a point against an opponent is a bad manner :yawn:

martinatreue
05-17-2008, 12:09 PM
Hmmm, well I hit drop shot return winners ON A REGULAR BASIS (mostly off 2nd serves) and NOBODY EVER says anything except "wow that is a great shot" or "oh my god, no way" or something like that. It's something I do well when players throw in a weaker or shorter 2nd serve.

Incidentally, I feel kind of bullied when players just hit the crap out of the ball and overpower me but this happens to nearly everyone in tennis. Not such a nice feeling to get bullied but I never would say it is bad etiquette. They are just playing to win. I have done it and had it done to me. I have hit numerous drop shot winners and had some done to me. That is part of the game and ENCOURAGING PLAYERS TO ELIMINATE VARIETY IS VERY BAD FOR THE GAME!!!!

groundstroke
05-17-2008, 12:19 PM
Federer did it against Blake a few years ago in the US Open (Fed wore blue, Blake wore red/black)

Chiseller
05-17-2008, 12:44 PM
A serve dropshot is even better, hingis did that once and the crowd cheered like hell.

Burrow
05-17-2008, 12:47 PM
I don't see how anything within the rules is bad etiquette.

Black Adam
05-17-2008, 01:10 PM
I remember Roddick Drop-shoting a serve by Coria at the Masters Cup 2004. It was pretty fun considering Andy almost ner uses a drop shot and how Coria over uses them.

leng jai
05-17-2008, 01:13 PM
I don't see how anything within the rules is bad etiquette.

:retard:

ThizServe
05-17-2008, 01:18 PM
as you score and win i dont think it really matters about having good etiquette. (unless you cheated)

FluffyYellowBall
05-17-2008, 01:24 PM
Im not a fan of drop shots in the first place.

Burrow
05-17-2008, 01:27 PM
:retard:

Did I upset you? :bigcry:

Luís Santos
05-17-2008, 01:31 PM
It's called talent..

Fed Express
05-17-2008, 01:55 PM
Federer does this a lot. I think it is a great shot.

FluffyYellowBall
05-17-2008, 01:57 PM
^^

Yea, if u can do it, its a good way to win point but when opponents over do it its annoying

RogerFan82
05-17-2008, 01:58 PM
A related question ? Is an underarm serve still legal in tennis ? It used to be legal years back.

Burrow
05-17-2008, 02:01 PM
I have never seen an opponent over do a drop shot off of a serve...

Burrow
05-17-2008, 02:01 PM
A related question ? Is an underarm serve still legal in tennis ? It used to be legal years back.

it is

RogerFan82
05-17-2008, 02:03 PM
it is


Thanks!!1:wavey: It's been a few years since I have seen anyone use it though. But then I don't watch boring WTA, much anymore.

El Legenda
05-17-2008, 02:05 PM
Is it bad etiquette to hit a ace on 2nd serve?

Federerhingis
05-17-2008, 02:20 PM
Personally I get more offended when my opponent hits a deep down the line winner off my serve.

I know, exactly. I'd be like holy crap I have such a bull shit serve, look how they bitch slapped it for a winner. :o :tape:

RickDaStick
05-22-2008, 01:17 AM
Actually I watched Ljubo's match vs Hajek and he hit a drop shot winner off a second serve. Dont see anything wrong with that:shrug:

Acer
05-22-2008, 01:45 AM
A related question ? Is an underarm serve still legal in tennis ? It used to be legal years back.

It's legal, Hingis used it a couple of times against Graf in the 1999 FO final, she got booed by the crowd (and ended up in tears when she eventually lost the match) but it's legal.

El Legenda
05-22-2008, 01:50 AM
Ljubicic used an underarm serve on match point vs Monfils last year on grass, but it was *5-0 *40-0, Ljubo hit 3 aces and on mp monfils stood way back and Ivan just underhand it over :lol: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ieTy3CfBpMg&feature=related

*Viva Chile*
05-22-2008, 05:40 AM
Haas did it against Gonzo last year on IW :ras:

leng jai
05-22-2008, 08:25 AM
Haas did it against Gonzo last year on IW :ras:

Gonzo was very rude to Haas for the entire 07 AO Semi-final :mad:

Action Jackson
05-22-2008, 08:35 AM
This is just brilliant. Hard to see initially, but the replay it becomes very clear.

http://svt.se/svt/play/video.jsp?a=938911

bjurra
05-22-2008, 09:23 AM
This is just brilliant. Hard to see initially, but the replay it becomes very clear.

http://svt.se/svt/play/video.jsp?a=938911

Now I would like to see that when the server is down 15-40, rather than serving at 40-0.

cardio
05-22-2008, 11:09 AM
This is just brilliant. Hard to see initially, but the replay it becomes very clear.

http://svt.se/svt/play/video.jsp?a=938911
Karlovic did it also against Youzhny in AO 2008, if I´m not mistaken it was gamepoint too. Youzhny has sense of humour and he was winning the match anyway, so he took it cool.But Lendl was extremely pissed when Chang hit underarm serve against him in RG semifinal:devil:
http://youtube.com/watch?v=A3h64dsUkGk

LoveFifteen
05-22-2008, 01:58 PM
A serve dropshot is even better, hingis did that once and the crowd cheered like hell.

Actually, they booed like hell! :lol:

That was one of my favorite points of all time. But I love Hingis and I love sneaky, cunning tennis. :devil:

This is just brilliant. Hard to see initially, but the replay it becomes very clear.

http://svt.se/svt/play/video.jsp?a=938911

:worship:

MacTheKnife
05-22-2008, 02:13 PM
I've done this several times on purpose, most of those were body serves that I just tried to fend off toward the side of the court just over the net. Some of them were out right miss hits. At any rate, bottom line, my coach taught me that getting the serve back in play any way possible was the objective. I'm never offended if someone drop shots my serve, in fact I rarely lose the point if they do because I'm finishing my serve moving forward into the court. I guess it's a matter of opinion. As far as the pros go, I never saw anyone apologize for it unless it was a miss hit, so it must not be an issue.

~*BGT*~
05-22-2008, 05:05 PM
Is it rude to hit a smash and accidently disguise it as a drop shot? :lol:

Z4quPYsGGfU

drf716
05-23-2008, 04:55 AM
dropshot off of a serve

i remember seeing yevgeny kafelnikov do this and i thought it was awesome
that that is even doable.

Adler
05-23-2008, 11:20 AM
Radwańska's just did it against Pironkova @ BP in Istanbul SF, hehe :)

tangerine_dream
05-23-2008, 06:56 PM
Is it rude to hit a smash and accidently disguise it as a drop shot? :lol:

Z4quPYsGGfU

Can't wait to see Taylor back in action again. :D

ToJo's reaction was great. :lol:

It's legal, Hingis used it a couple of times against Graf in the 1999 FO final, she got booed by the crowd (and ended up in tears when she eventually lost the match) but it's legal.
Yup. :devil:

hND_CQfFqnQ

At 3:45.