rules question -
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 09-30-2011, 03:46 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
Join Date: Jul 2010
Age: 50
Posts: 2
rules question

During a 4.0 league match we tried setting up regular on my serve, then as I am hitting my serve my partner moves from regular to I formation. Same vice versa, as I am hitting my serve. He times his move since he knows I toss after my 3rd bounce. The opponent claimed that was not legal since we were trying to distract him....well, we were, kind of like a fake poach while he is hitting is a distraction. So, is our movement illegal, or is it unsporting?
rcloughga is offline  
Sponsored Links
post #2 of 3 (permalink) Old 09-30-2011, 04:30 PM
Registered User
v-money's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2,655
Re: rules question

You partner is certainly allowed to move during your serve, this is why poaching is legal. In fact, in doubles it is legal for the partner to stand anywhere, even if it obstructs the other teams view of the ball.

Seems very legal to me, but maybe a bit unsporting.

Supporting the unusual strokes gang: Dolgopolov, Mayer, Mannarino, Tomic

Originally Posted by petar_pan View Post
Just keep [t]rolling Bernard, just keep [t]rolling my man.
Originally Posted by MatchFederer View Post
Keep [t]rolling Bernard, keep [t]rolling.
Originally Posted by Thanos View Post
tomic just keep on [t]rolling
v-money is offline  
post #3 of 3 (permalink) Old 09-30-2011, 05:38 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
Join Date: Jul 2010
Age: 50
Posts: 2
Re: rules question

Thanks for your thoughts. I thought it would be legal since he is just changing position and not jumping around waving his arms or something.
Unsporting? I am still mulling that over.... but leaning toward sporting. It is very much like moving around at any other point of a point, except the ball is often not quite in play yet....and I have never seen anyone do it on tv. Might be best if he made sure to wait until he hears me hit the serve and then move....of course then he risks getting hit in the head.
rcloughga is offline  

Quick Reply

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:


Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome