Tennis officiating - ITF Rules of Tennis - MensTennisForums.com
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 2 (permalink) Old 02-03-2017, 12:02 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
mayday72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 1
 
Post Tennis officiating - ITF Rules of Tennis

I am an amateur tennis player and have growing interest in becoming a tennis official. I am currently going through "ITF Rules of Tennis" as downloaded from
http://www.itftennis.com/media/220771/220771.pdf


There are some points I'd like to discuss/get help with. Hope you can share your thoughts with me. This post is lengthy so please bear with me.

1. On page 4 "If a ball gets broken during play, the point shall be replayed.", my understanding is that if a tennis ball in the middle of a rally, say gets broken for example splitted into two halves, then this point must be replayed. What about at the end of a point a player complains the ball was broken say the surface was ripped off etc., in this case should the point be replayed?

2. On page 4 "Case 1" under "The Racket", what does "more than one set of strings" mean? As for my understanding, many players use two different types of strings for horizontal and vertical strings. Is this not allowed?

3. On page 4 "Case 3" under "The Racket". "these devices may only be placed outside the pattern of the crossed strings", where exactly are dampers allowed to be placed on?

4. On page 5 "Case 6" under "The Racket", I am aware some players (Nadal) use smart rackets (eg. Babolat Play). Surely these rackets must have some sort of power/battery otherwise they wouldn't be able to detect and store playing information. Are these rackets allowed in matches?

5. On Page 7 "Order of Receiving in Doubles", in a best of 3 match, may receivers change ad/deuce sides at the beginning of a new set?

6. Similarly in a best of 3 match, let's say Team AC in the first set's serving order was ACA and they broke the opponents' service game to win the first set. Now for the second set, supposedly it's C's turn to serve, can they switch to A's turn to serve first?

7. On Page 8 "Service Fault", if a player tosses the ball up and takes a full swing and hits nothing but air, the ball lands on the ground. Is this a fault (the ball was not touched in the whole serving motion)?

8. On Page 8 "Case 1", "A player, who tosses the ball and then decides not to hit it, is allowed to catch the ball with the hand or the racket, or to let the ball bounce". Caught the ball with the racket - Why was this not a fault?

9. Singles sticks are defined as NOT permanent fixtures but they get treated differently. If you hit a singles stick on your serve, it's a fault. But if you hit it during a rally and your ball lands on the correct court, it's a good return. Why?

10. Extreme scenario: In 2016 Miami Open, Troicki jumped over the net and hit an unreturned shot against Goffin but lost the point because he landed on the opponent's court. Let's say Troicki hit Goffin before he landed on the opponent's court, would he win the point?

11. Following on 10, if Troicki hit an unreturned shot and landed in the alley, i.e. between singles and doubles sideline, would he win the point?

12. On Page 11 "A Good Return", point d "The ball passes under the net cord between the singles stick and the adjacent net post without touching either net, net cord or net post and hits the ground in the correct court, or". So this applies to both singles and doubles matches? The ball may pass under the cord?

13. On page 12 Case 5, "Case 5: In doubles, where are the server’s partner and receiver’s partner allowed to
stand?
Decision: The server’s partner and the receiver’s partner may take any position on
their own side of the net, inside or outside the court. However, if a player is creating
a hindrance to the opponent(s), the hindrance rule should be used."
As a receiver's partner, can he/she stand close to or even inside the service box?

14. On page 12 point c under "Correcting Errors", "If a player serves out of turn during a standard game, the player who was
originally due to serve shall serve as soon as the error is discovered. However,
if a game is completed before the error is discovered the order of service shall
remain as altered. In this case, any ball change to be made after an agreed
number of games should be made one game later than originally scheduled."
What's the reasoning of delaying the ball change one game later?

15. On Page 13 point f, "If in error a tie-break game is started at 6 games all, when it was previously
agreed that the set would be an “Advantage set”, the error shall be corrected
immediately if only one point has been played." Corrected means the first point played simply gets discounted?

16.On Page 13 point h, " the set will continue either until a
player or team wins three games (and therefore the set) or until the score
reaches 2 games all, when a match tie-break shall be played." Does this mean in this error situation, the final set becomes shortened to a 3-game format?

17. On Page 14 Case 2 under "Coaching", "Case 2: Is a player allowed to receive coaching when play is suspended?
Decision: Yes." Can a player receive coaching during the opponent's medical timeout period?

Many thanks for any help!
mayday72 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 2 (permalink) Old 08-26-2017, 09:04 PM
Registered User
 
Captain Meerkat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2,475
                     
Re: Tennis officiating - ITF Rules of Tennis

I know this post is a few months old, and that you probably dont visit here anymore, but I have just discovered it and you raise so good but basic fundamental questions all referees should know - even those just starting out. So this will be useful for anyone else interested.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mayday72 View Post
I am an amateur tennis player and have growing interest in becoming a tennis official. I am currently going through "ITF Rules of Tennis" as downloaded from
http://www.itftennis.com/media/220771/220771.pdf


There are some points I'd like to discuss/get help with. Hope you can share your thoughts with me. This post is lengthy so please bear with me.

1. On page 4 "If a ball gets broken during play, the point shall be replayed.", my understanding is that if a tennis ball in the middle of a rally, say gets broken for example splitted into two halves, then this point must be replayed. What about at the end of a point a player complains the ball was broken say the surface was ripped off etc., in this case should the point be replayed?
Yes, provided that it is 100% known that the ball in question was the one used in said point. Note: a soft ball does not result in the point being replayed.

Quote:
2. On page 4 "Case 1" under "The Racket", what does "more than one set of strings" mean? As for my understanding, many players use two different types of strings for horizontal and vertical strings. Is this not allowed?
In this case, it means layers of strings. ie you cant have two or more layers of overlapping strings.

Quote:
3. On page 4 "Case 3" under "The Racket". "these devices may only be placed outside the pattern of the crossed strings", where exactly are dampers allowed to be placed on?
Outside the pattern. See the Blue area in this (crappy) pic:



Quote:
4. On page 5 "Case 6" under "The Racket", I am aware some players (Nadal) use smart rackets (eg. Babolat Play). Surely these rackets must have some sort of power/battery otherwise they wouldn't be able to detect and store playing information. Are these rackets allowed in matches?
Electrical/power additions to the racquet cannot change or alter the dynamics of the racquet ie its Characteristics. Devices added to racquets that reads information is permitted provided permission is granted.

Quote:
5. On Page 7 "Order of Receiving in Doubles", in a best of 3 match, may receivers change ad/deuce sides at the beginning of a new set?
Yes

Quote:
6. Similarly in a best of 3 match, let's say Team AC in the first set's serving order was ACA and they broke the opponents' service game to win the first set. Now for the second set, supposedly it's C's turn to serve, can they switch to A's turn to serve first?
Yes.

Serving and receiving order is reset at the start of each set, or at the start of a Match Tiebreak.

Quote:
7. On Page 8 "Service Fault", if a player tosses the ball up and takes a full swing and hits nothing but air, the ball lands on the ground. Is this a fault (the ball was not touched in the whole serving motion)?
Yes. Rule 7: "The service motion is completed at the moment that the player’s racket hits or misses the ball."

Quote:
8. On Page 8 "Case 1", "A player, who tosses the ball and then decides not to hit it, is allowed to catch the ball with the hand or the racket, or to let the ball bounce". Caught the ball with the racket - Why was this not a fault?
Definition of serve: "The server shall then release the ball by hand in any direction and hit the ball with the
racket
before the ball hits the ground".

In this case, the ball hits the racquet, not racquet hits the ball therefore is not a serve.

Quote:
9. Singles sticks are defined as NOT permanent fixtures but they get treated differently. If you hit a singles stick on your serve, it's a fault. But if you hit it during a rally and your ball lands on the correct court, it's a good return. Why?
Singles sticks are treated the same as the net post when using a singles net.

If you hit a singles stick on serve - fault. If you hit a net post when using a singles net on serve - fault.

Why does singles stick change from essentially being a permanent fixture to not being a permanent fixture after a serve? Because if you hit the singles stick/net post on a serve, the ball was clearly going to land fault if it wasnt there.

Quote:
10. Extreme scenario: In 2016 Miami Open, Troicki jumped over the net and hit an unreturned shot against Goffin but lost the point because he landed on the opponent's court. Let's say Troicki hit Goffin before he landed on the opponent's court, would he win the point?
Yes, the point would be over when the ball hit Goffin. Troicki would have touched the court after this.

Quote:
11. Following on 10, if Troicki hit an unreturned shot and landed in the alley, i.e. between singles and doubles sideline, would he win the point?
Yes. Its a singles match, so you have to play/apply rules assuming the doubles part of the court isnt there.

Quote:
12. On Page 11 "A Good Return", point d "The ball passes under the net cord between the singles stick and the adjacent net post without touching either net, net cord or net post and hits the ground in the correct court, or". So this applies to both singles and doubles matches? The ball may pass under the cord?
No. That applies only for a singles match using a doubles net and singles stick.

A doubles match would not use a singles stick, so if the ball manages to pass through the net without touching the net, cord, etc, "through" would be called. This also applies for a singles match using a singles net.

Quote:
13. On page 12 Case 5, "Case 5: In doubles, where are the server’s partner and receiver’s partner allowed to stand?
Decision: The server’s partner and the receiver’s partner may take any position on their own side of the net, inside or outside the court. However, if a player is creating a hindrance to the opponent(s), the hindrance rule should be used."
As a receiver's partner, can he/she stand close to or even inside the service box?
Yes, providing they arent creating an hindrance to the server i.e. moving about. Though it is a stupid place to stand because if the ball hits said player before it bounces, server wins the point!

Quote:
14. On page 12 point c under "Correcting Errors", "If a player serves out of turn during a standard game, the player who was originally due to serve shall serve as soon as the error is discovered. However, if a game is completed before the error is discovered the order of service shall remain as altered. In this case, any ball change to be made after an agreed number of games should be made one game later than originally scheduled."

What's the reasoning of delaying the ball change one game later?
So that the original player who should have received the new balls gets them. Otherwise one player will receive new balls twice in succession.

Quote:
15. On Page 13 point f, "If in error a tie-break game is started at 6 games all, when it was previously
agreed that the set would be an “Advantage set”, the error shall be corrected immediately if only one point has been played."
Corrected means the first point played simply gets discounted?
NO. As a principle when an error is discovered, ALL previous points played shall stand.

In this example, if Player A is serving and wins the first point, the score is called "1-0 Player A". When it is brought to attention that it is meant to be a standard game, the score is now "15-0".

Quote:
16.On Page 13 point h, " the set will continue either until a player or team wins three games (and therefore the set) or until the score reaches 2 games all, when a match tie-break shall be played."
Does this mean in this error situation, the final set becomes shortened to a 3-game format?
4 games. If score gets to 3-0 or 3-1, the player/team to have won those 3 games wins the set/match.

When it gets to 2-2, they play the Match Tiebreaker as previously planned.

Quote:
17. On Page 14 Case 2 under "Coaching", "Case 2: Is a player allowed to receive coaching when play is suspended?
Decision: Yes." Can a player receive coaching during the opponent's medical timeout period?
NO. A medical timeout is not a suspension, its a stop in play.
Captain Meerkat is offline  
Reply

Tags
itf , officiating , rules , tennis

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the MensTennisForums.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome