Tennis Rule Question. - MensTennisForums.com
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 08-11-2005, 04:00 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
The Pro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,443
                     
Tennis Rule Question.

What's the rule for when during a match, the ball comes over your way and you hit it twice to get it over the net.

-obviously not 'thump', then run after it and 'thump' again to give it a helping hand, but when you hit the ball and know that the hit doesn't feel right, and you end up scooping the ball in an unrealistic manner.

I think if it's unintentional then it should be ok, but my brother says it's a double hit and NOT allowed.

How would they guage intention anyway?

What's the rule?
The Pro is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 08-11-2005, 04:17 PM
Registered User
 
Experimentee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 4,274
                     
Re: Tennis Rule Question.

Its not allowed whether it was intentional or not.
Experimentee is offline  
post #3 of 14 (permalink) Old 08-11-2005, 04:36 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 939
                     
Re: Tennis Rule Question.

The rules state that only an intentional double hit is a fault. At least that's what I read on the french tennis federation website.
David Kenzie is offline  
post #4 of 14 (permalink) Old 08-11-2005, 04:42 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 939
                     
Re: Tennis Rule Question.

Just checked it in the USTA website aswell.

http://dps.altdc3.va.twimm.net/usta_...oc_13_4198.pdf
check rule 24.e.

and this USTA comment :

USTA Comment 24.5: Does a player lose a point if the ball hits
his racket twice during one swing? No. Only when there is a definite
and deliberate “second push” by the player does the shot become
illegal. “Deliberately” is the key word in this rule. Two hits occurring
during a single continuous swing are not deemed a double hit.

Last edited by David Kenzie; 08-11-2005 at 04:47 PM.
David Kenzie is offline  
post #5 of 14 (permalink) Old 08-11-2005, 04:54 PM
Registered User
 
superpinkone37's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Southern California
Age: 27
Posts: 7,683
                     
Re: Tennis Rule Question.

Sometimes when you hit the ball, it feels dead and like, rolls on the racquet, maybe hits some rim and it feels like a double hit. You can feel that something is not right, but as long as it is not like the ball hit on your strings and you hit it again, its fine.
superpinkone37 is offline  
post #6 of 14 (permalink) Old 08-11-2005, 11:58 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,339
                     
Re: Tennis Rule Question.

bottom line is a double hit is okay if it was unintentional and the player only executed one swinging motion.
megadeth is offline  
post #7 of 14 (permalink) Old 08-12-2005, 12:10 AM
Registered User
 
mitalidas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 4,048
                     
Re: Tennis Rule Question.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gouzo
Just checked it in the USTA website aswell.

http://dps.altdc3.va.twimm.net/usta_...oc_13_4198.pdf
check rule 24.e.

and this USTA comment :

USTA Comment 24.5: Does a player lose a point if the ball hits
his racket twice during one swing? No. Only when there is a definite
and deliberate “second push” by the player does the shot become
illegal. “Deliberately” is the key word in this rule. Two hits occurring
during a single continuous swing are not deemed a double hit.
thanks for a definitive (and official) answer. interesting question, The Pro
mitalidas is offline  
post #8 of 14 (permalink) Old 08-12-2005, 02:43 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
The Pro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,443
                     
Re: Tennis Rule Question.

Wasn't it?

Now my brother can stop hassling me, it maybe shouldn't be allowed, but it is, and means I can compete against his power with unintentional jammy-ness.

All good.
The Pro is offline  
post #9 of 14 (permalink) Old 08-12-2005, 02:54 PM
Registered User
 
mitalidas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 4,048
                     
Re: Tennis Rule Question.

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Pro
Wasn't it?

Now my brother can stop hassling me, it maybe shouldn't be allowed, but it is, and means I can compete against his power with unintentional jammy-ness.

All good.
we can all start practising those double hits which look unintentional but are in fact planned
mitalidas is offline  
post #10 of 14 (permalink) Old 08-12-2005, 03:24 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 120
                     
Re: Tennis Rule Question.

oh come on , it only happens once in a great while... I think the rule makes sense.. if you happen to hit the ball by accident .. the ball skid off the raq that its ok .. not just intentionally double hit the ball..
max122 is offline  
post #11 of 14 (permalink) Old 08-13-2005, 08:17 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
The Pro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,443
                     
Re: Tennis Rule Question.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mitalidas
we can all start practising those double hits which look unintentional but are in fact planned
I like your thinking....can't think where you got it from.
The Pro is offline  
post #12 of 14 (permalink) Old 08-13-2005, 09:57 AM
Registered User
 
Vass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Dubai
Age: 28
Posts: 6,031
                     
Re: Tennis Rule Question.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mitalidas
we can all start practising those double hits which look unintentional but are in fact planned
Let's all practice always putting the ball inside the court the regular way first...

Riding the 3AM Rollercoaster

Anastasia Myskina, Marat Safin thank you.
Vass is offline  
post #13 of 14 (permalink) Old 08-13-2005, 01:34 PM
Senior Member
 
federer express's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,772
                     
Re: Tennis Rule Question.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Experimentee
Its not allowed whether it was intentional or not.
it is fine...if its all in the same motion or swing
federer express is offline  
post #14 of 14 (permalink) Old 08-13-2005, 02:46 PM
Registered User
 
mitalidas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 4,048
                     
Re: Tennis Rule Question.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vass
Let's all practice always putting the ball inside the court the regular way first...
yeah, haha ... good point
mitalidas is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the MensTennisForums.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome