Rule question (let vs fault)
When you serve the ball, and it hits the tape, is it only a let if it lands in the service box, or is it a let if it crosses to the other player's side? The reason I ask is because I would have thought that the service let means "it could have been in, and the opponent might have gotten it, but since it hit the tape it may have been knocked out or the opponent may have been out of position, so it's a do-over." However a friend of mine recently told me that it is only a let if it lands in the service box, even if it was going to be in if not for the tape. However, he says that if it does not hit the service box, tape or not, it is a fault. He wasn't sure about the rule but thought he'd heard it that way. Which is right?