Rule question (let vs fault) - MensTennisForums.com

 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 08-11-2007, 08:57 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Age: 35
Posts: 1
 
Rule question (let vs fault)

When you serve the ball, and it hits the tape, is it only a let if it lands in the service box, or is it a let if it crosses to the other player's side? The reason I ask is because I would have thought that the service let means "it could have been in, and the opponent might have gotten it, but since it hit the tape it may have been knocked out or the opponent may have been out of position, so it's a do-over." However a friend of mine recently told me that it is only a let if it lands in the service box, even if it was going to be in if not for the tape. However, he says that if it does not hit the service box, tape or not, it is a fault. He wasn't sure about the rule but thought he'd heard it that way. Which is right?
myuki is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 08-12-2007, 01:27 AM
-
 
Neely's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Age: 32
Posts: 24,630
                     
Re: Rule question (let vs fault)

Of course it matters if the ball drops into the right service box or not.


A serve touching the net cord (net tape) AND dropping into the right service box is a let.
(with a very little restriction, but this is mostly in 99.9% of all cases. I don't want to confuse you with such little details for now, it's much more important you are getting the main things first)


Any serve which does not land in the correct service box is a fault.

Carlos --- C'MON Lleyton!!! --- Kiwi!!! --- Jürgen --- Juan

Best of luck to all Germans : Nicolas Kiefer | Rainer Schüttler | Lars | Florian | Tommy

Last edited by Neely; 08-12-2007 at 01:33 AM.
Neely is offline  
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 08-19-2007, 06:56 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 82
 
Re: Rule question (let vs fault)

It is only a let if lands in the correct service box. If it does not land in the service box, it is a fault.

Need extra help with your tennis game, visit this tennis forums and chat help site.
tennisplayer89 is offline  
post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 08-21-2007, 02:55 AM
Registered User
 
lazyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Age: 26
Posts: 335
                     
Re: Rule question (let vs fault)

Quote:
Originally Posted by tennisplayer89 View Post
It is only a let if lands in the correct service box. If it does not land in the service box, it is a fault.
That is not completely true i think. I may be wrong but im fairly sure a let can be called if the server serves before the reciever is ready. This is also a let

well its does have to land in the service box so yeah u r right but it doesnt have to hit the net to be a let

Go Hewitt and other Aussies
lazyman is offline  
post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old 08-26-2007, 11:45 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 82
 
Re: Rule question (let vs fault)

I was assuming that everyone was ready, a distant car alarm didn't go off, and a crazed fan wasn't running on the court. Otherwise, you're right.

Need extra help with your tennis game, visit this tennis forums and chat help site.
tennisplayer89 is offline  
post #6 of 6 (permalink) Old 09-05-2007, 07:31 PM
country flag mir
Registered User
 
mir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: at home
Age: 49
Posts: 3,769
                     
Re: Rule question (let vs fault)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Neely View Post
Of course it matters if the ball drops into the right service box or not.


A serve touching the net cord (net tape) AND dropping into the right service box is a let.
(with a very little restriction, but this is mostly in 99.9% of all cases. I don't want to confuse you with such little details for now, it's much more important you are getting the main things first)


Any serve which does not land in the correct service box is a fault.
You got me curious about the 0.1 %
mir is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the MensTennisForums.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome