Originally Posted by Shotgun Blues
He must have thought about it, otherwise he wouldn't have signed in at QC at all. He probably requested the first match on & if he wins could play his second match on the first court available & then take off for the challenger match. (Regardless of the "special scheduling" language in the rulebook, the ATP is fairly accomodating in these situations & will probably try to help him get to where he's supposed to be rather than having to default the challenger & get fined.)
The other times I've seen this happen it was the other way around: challenger match in the morning, then qualifying match at the other tournament the last match of the day. Playing qualifying rounds in one day makes it a little more complicated.