We previously had a poll to decide whether matches where someone retiring should count, and the results showed that most people were in favour of them counting. However, we have run into some problemswith regards to SRs in retired matches. Both rules we have used have had their problems, as seen below. So it's only fair to go with what the majority of TT players would see as "the lesser of 2 evils".
Option A - SRs do not count
This was the original rule, although it ran into problems in Acapulco when TT player A needed 'X' to win 2-0, and TT Player B needed 'X' to win 2-1. 'X' was leading by a set and 5-3, when his opponent retired. TT Player A then lost the match because of this, whereas he would've won if the injured opponent had completed one more game. Due to this, we changed the rule (to option B).
Option B - SRs do count
This rule was introduced, but has caused recent controversy in Valencia. Rules were changed so that if more than 1 set had been played, the player retiring forfeited all remaining sets. However, in Valencia, TT Team A needed player 'X' to win 2-1, and TT Team B needed player 'X' to win 2-0. Player 'X' led 6-4 *1-0 when his opponent retired. Under the old rules, TT Team A would have won the match, as this SR would have been void. Under the new rules, TT Team B claimed victory as player 'X' was awarded a 2-0 victory.
I hope these explanations are ok, please vote for your preferred option. The poll will be open for 1 week, and whichever option is more popular will be implemented after Monte Carlo. Thanks