Players retiring - Should SRs count or not? - Page 2 - MensTennisForums.com

View Poll Results: Players retiring - Should SRs count or not?
Option A - SRs should not count if a player retires 37 59.68%
Option B - If 1 set been played, SRs should count and retiring player concedes all remaining sets 25 40.32%
Voters: 62. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #16 of 37 (permalink) Old 04-15-2007, 02:15 AM
#freeviktor
 
savesthedizzle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: formerly known as Troickitard
Posts: 93,764
                     
Re: Players retiring - Should SRs count or not?

I think it's the sort of situation where it should be counted if the winning player was up a break in the set which wasn't completed because then a player could retire just because he thought the match was hopeless.

But if the set was even, then not. I don't know. It's difficult and I can see why both sides are upset.

Troicki - Djokovic - Del Potro - Kyrgios - Berankis
Cibulkova - Robson - Kirilenko - Azarenka
Retired but always loving Ferrero - Ancic - Kiefer

savesthedizzle is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #17 of 37 (permalink) Old 04-15-2007, 08:58 AM
Registered User
 
Taz Warrior's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 13,131
                     
Re: Players retiring - Should SRs count or not?

I vote A as we shouldn't guess what would have happened if the match had finished without a retirement. Just because someone's a set and a break up doesn't mean he would have gone on to win the match

Last edited by Taz Warrior; 04-15-2007 at 09:08 AM.
Taz Warrior is offline  
post #18 of 37 (permalink) Old 04-15-2007, 10:33 AM
Registered User
 
Homo_Esperanto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Age: 39
Posts: 1,556
                     
Re: Players retiring - Should SRs count or not?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gavnich77 View Post
I vote A as we shouldn't guess what would have happened if the match had finished without a retirement. Just because someone's a set and a break up doesn't mean he would have gone on to win the match

I totally agree to Gavin; The best way is to have no speculations at all at what could have happened.
Homo_Esperanto is offline  
post #19 of 37 (permalink) Old 04-15-2007, 01:17 PM
.
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 33,407
                     
Re: Players retiring - Should SRs count or not?

when a player retires, he's giving the rest of the match to his opponent
keqtqiadv is offline  
post #20 of 37 (permalink) Old 04-15-2007, 01:27 PM
#freeviktor
 
savesthedizzle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: formerly known as Troickitard
Posts: 93,764
                     
Re: Players retiring - Should SRs count or not?

Quote:
Originally Posted by keqtqiadv View Post
when a player retires, he's giving the rest of the match to his opponent
That is true, and I do agree with that. I mean if we are counting the match, then the SR should count.

If a match is counted when a player wins 3-6 4-6 0-4 ret, the only possible way for him to have won that match was to come back and win the next three sets. The ratio would HAVE to have been 3:2. And if we are counting him as the winner we should count the ratio he would have won by.

My opinion last night was more of an attempt to be in the middle and compromise, but given more thought, I really do support counting the SR.

Troicki - Djokovic - Del Potro - Kyrgios - Berankis
Cibulkova - Robson - Kirilenko - Azarenka
Retired but always loving Ferrero - Ancic - Kiefer

savesthedizzle is offline  
post #21 of 37 (permalink) Old 04-15-2007, 01:35 PM
Registered User
 
Taz Warrior's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 13,131
                     
Re: Players retiring - Should SRs count or not?

Quote:
Originally Posted by keqtqiadv View Post
when a player retires, he's giving the rest of the match to his opponent
That's true and that's why we count the winner of retired matches but the SR is irrelevant as a player hasn't won by 2 sets to love if his opponent retires after only one full set has been completed
Taz Warrior is offline  
post #22 of 37 (permalink) Old 04-16-2007, 01:58 PM
Registered User
 
Renaud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 7,055
                     
Re: Players retiring - Should SRs count or not?

Tippers should plan the retirements :

For exemple : Youznhy: 1/0 ret

~♠ Lisnardaire(s) ~
un pour un, un pour un

‾‾‾‾‾‾‾‾‾‾‾‾‾‾‾‾‾‾‾‾‾‾‾‾‾‾‾
"Je peux simplement vous dire que Jean-René Lisnard aime beaucoup les Chocapics" Benjamin Balleret
Renaud is offline  
post #23 of 37 (permalink) Old 04-16-2007, 05:39 PM
Registered User
 
FiBeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: CapFed, Bs. As.
Posts: 29,033
                     
Re: Players retiring - Should SRs count or not?

depends on the match

if the trail is clear.. 64 53 for e.g. it should be counted

if it is 46 64 11.. it should be counted.. (best of 3..of course.. because 3 sets are already played)

if is is 6-6* .. or let me say..4-1* .. no.. only clearly decided matches.. (already in the 3rd set..or 5th set.. and/or serving for the match or set up break up...)

Entrá a http://batennis.com/

Sorewa ore no Nindou da

6-4 3-6 6-7 7-6 70-68

FiBeR is offline  
post #24 of 37 (permalink) Old 04-17-2007, 06:10 AM
Forum Umpire:
Gaston Gaudio
 
Action Jackson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 124,507
                     
Re: Players retiring - Should SRs count or not?

I see both sides of this, the main problem is when the retirement takes place in the match.

The match result should count of course, but not the SR, it should go to the next one, then what happens if that's a retirement as well.

On Nadal bumping him on the changeover, Rosol said: "It's ok, he wanted to take my concentration; I knew he would try something".


Wilander on Dimitrov - "He has mind set on imitating Federer and yes it looks good. But he has no idea what to do on the court".

Quote:
Originally Posted by Filo V. View Post
I definitely would have preferred Gaba winning as he needs the points much more, but Jan would have beaten him anyway. I expect Hajek to destroy Machado, like 6-1 6-2.
Machado wins 6-2 6-1
Action Jackson is offline  
post #25 of 37 (permalink) Old 04-19-2007, 10:07 PM Thread Starter
_._._._._._
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Age: 32
Posts: 72,524
                     
Re: Players retiring - Should SRs count or not?

*bump*

Just a couple of days left to vote
adee-gee is offline  
post #26 of 37 (permalink) Old 04-20-2007, 02:12 PM
Registered User
 
Tankman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Sydney
Age: 26
Posts: 3,724
                     
Re: Players retiring - Should SRs count or not?

Option A

SRs shouldn't count because the last set isn't finished. It's as simple as that in my opinion. Whether a player is up or down 1-0 or 5-0, you can't say for sure that they were going to win or lose.

It'd be much too hard to try and call the set based on the scoreline, or who was winning, because it just raises too many questions and makes things way too complicated and subjective.

For the same sorts of reasons, I'm also against counting retired matches altogether, but that's a battle I doubt I'd win...

Proud supporter of: | JARKKO NIEMINEN | Isner | Nishikori | Hewitt | and all other the Aussies

Tennis Tipping 2013
Doubles (275): W
Zagreb FU (w/Papillon.)
Tankman is offline  
post #27 of 37 (permalink) Old 04-20-2007, 07:56 PM
Registered User
 
ZackBusner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,575
                     
Re: Players retiring - Should SRs count or not?

Just to make sure: I suppose it is common sense that matches that ended with one player resigning still should count for SR decision if one TT player picked the winner and the opponent didn't ? (I can imagine that some people will start a discussion about this what that situation occurs, saying: "Read the new rule: This match doesn't count for SR" )
ZackBusner is offline  
post #28 of 37 (permalink) Old 04-20-2007, 10:06 PM
Registered User
 
GustavoM_Fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Athens
Posts: 18,579
                     
Smile Re: Players retiring - Should SRs count or not?

I think in case of retirement, SR`s should count when the winner of the match is playing final set and is leading by more than 3 games......

Per ex. (RG 2007 results )

Marcaccio d. Federer 6-0 6-0 2-0 ret. not counted

Marcaccio d. Kohlschreiber 6-0 6-0 3-0 ret. counted (3-0)

Marcaccio d. El Aynaoui 6-7 7-5 6-4 1-6 5-2 ret.counted (3-2)

Marcaccio d. Djokovic 4-6 6-4 6-2 4-1 ret. counted (3-1)

Marcaccio d. Coria 4-6 7-6 4-6 0-5 ret. not counted

.etc..... (Gustavo cant end the matchs properly )

What do you think???

Gustavo Marcaccio David Nalbandian Jo-Jo Tsonga Marcos Baghdatis

Quote:
Originally Posted by kostas kastoria View Post
HELlas ole ole
thanks felip for your help.i m priciate u friend
GustavoM_Fan is offline  
post #29 of 37 (permalink) Old 04-20-2007, 10:07 PM
Registered User
 
Labamba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Finland
Age: 34
Posts: 32,551
                     
Re: Players retiring - Should SRs count or not?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ZackBusner View Post
Just to make sure: I suppose it is common sense that matches that ended with one player resigning still should count for SR decision if one TT player picked the winner and the opponent didn't ? (I can imagine that some people will start a discussion about this what that situation occurs, saying: "Read the new rule: This match doesn't count for SR" )
That's the invisible option C
Labamba is offline  
post #30 of 37 (permalink) Old 04-21-2007, 06:49 PM
Registered User
 
Labamba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Finland
Age: 34
Posts: 32,551
                     
Re: Players retiring - Should SRs count or not?

The poll is now closed, option A wins and it should be used in all tournaments from this point on.

Now the problem is, what should we do about this question:

Quote:
Originally Posted by ZackBusner View Post
Just to make sure: I suppose it is common sense that matches that ended with one player resigning still should count for SR decision if one TT player picked the winner and the opponent didn't ? (I can imagine that some people will start a discussion about this what that situation occurs, saying: "Read the new rule: This match doesn't count for SR" )
Labamba is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the MensTennisForums.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome