Originally Posted by Debstah
but what I am saying is that if the OP came out before the RG final was over (which it did), he COULDN'T have withdrawn yet, because of the other stupid rule about not being able to withdraw from one tournament while you are still playing in another. This is the rule, correct?
There is a such a provision regarding ATP & challenger tournaments, but no specific provision (in either the ATP or Grand Slam handbook) when one of the tournaments in question is a Grand Slam. Obviously he will be sanctioned by the ATP for a late withdrawal (unless he goes to Queen's Club to be examined by the ATP physician).
I'm just covering the two options since there have been cases in the past when a player withdrew before the draw was made or before play started & for whatever reason (time differences, etc.) the ATP supervisor on-site didn't get the message in time & went ahead with the draw/seeding/OOP & matches/opponents didn't get correctly sorted out until the next morning right before players were to go on court. That's what happens sometimes when there are four ATP offices in four different time zones (plus other ATP officials in transit).