Which book do you currently read? - Page 15 - MensTennisForums.com
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #211 of 1969 (permalink) Old 02-06-2007, 10:37 PM
Registered User
 
Naranoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Oxford is not Detroit!
Age: 26
Posts: 8,841
                     
Re: Which book do you currently read?

The Scarlet Letter - Nathaniel Hawthorne
Ptolemy's Gate - Jonathan Stroud
Language, Truth and Logic - A.J. Ayer
Naranoc is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #212 of 1969 (permalink) Old 02-06-2007, 10:48 PM
Registered User
 
MissPovaFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Devon, UK
Age: 32
Posts: 9,119
                     
Re: Which book do you currently read?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jlee View Post
Great. I've heard that Animal Farm is good, but never got around to reading it.
It's a superb book especially if you look deeper into the storyline. I guess it provides an "idiot's guide" type thing of the Russian Revolution. Really handy I found when gaining background knowledge. Saying that it's been about 10 years since I read it.
MissPovaFan is offline  
post #213 of 1969 (permalink) Old 02-06-2007, 10:51 PM
Not a Registered User
 
El Legenda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: US of A
Posts: 30,181
                     
Re: Which book do you currently read?

Car and Driver
Sports Illustrated


El Legenda is offline  
post #214 of 1969 (permalink) Old 02-06-2007, 11:06 PM
Registered User
 
Jlee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,875
                     
Re: Which book do you currently read?

Quote:
Originally Posted by PaulHopkins View Post
It's a superb book especially if you look deeper into the storyline. I guess it provides an "idiot's guide" type thing of the Russian Revolution. Really handy I found when gaining background knowledge. Saying that it's been about 10 years since I read it.
Sounds very interesting. I wish I had time to read all the books I want to!


Has anyone read 1984? I have to read it for my Brit Lit class.

Rooting for: Roddick | Federer | Blake| Fish | Bryans | Gasquet | Querrey | Baghdatis | Verdasco | Kimmy
Missing: Andre | Safin | Women's tennis
Jlee is offline  
post #215 of 1969 (permalink) Old 02-06-2007, 11:15 PM
Registered User
 
MissPovaFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Devon, UK
Age: 32
Posts: 9,119
                     
Re: Which book do you currently read?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jlee View Post
Sounds very interesting. I wish I had time to read all the books I want to!


Has anyone read 1984? I have to read it for my Brit Lit class.
Yeah well worth a read especially if you are interested in the Russian Rev.

1984? Yeah that takes me back a while though. I've read quite a number of Orwell's novels. In 1984 it seemed to me that Winston couldn't help himself going against his earlier ideals and principles and in the end simply couldn't help submitting to the very party he once hated. Quite a deep book but quite easy to understand.
MissPovaFan is offline  
post #216 of 1969 (permalink) Old 02-07-2007, 12:50 AM
Registered User
 
Jlee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,875
                     
Re: Which book do you currently read?

Quote:
Originally Posted by PaulHopkins View Post
Yeah well worth a read especially if you are interested in the Russian Rev.

1984? Yeah that takes me back a while though. I've read quite a number of Orwell's novels. In 1984 it seemed to me that Winston couldn't help himself going against his earlier ideals and principles and in the end simply couldn't help submitting to the very party he once hated. Quite a deep book but quite easy to understand.
I find those sorts of historical events very interesting usually...

Ohhh I can't wait to read it.

Rooting for: Roddick | Federer | Blake| Fish | Bryans | Gasquet | Querrey | Baghdatis | Verdasco | Kimmy
Missing: Andre | Safin | Women's tennis
Jlee is offline  
post #217 of 1969 (permalink) Old 02-07-2007, 12:59 AM
Registered User
 
MissPovaFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Devon, UK
Age: 32
Posts: 9,119
                     
Re: Which book do you currently read?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jlee View Post
I find those sorts of historical events very interesting usually...

Ohhh I can't wait to read it.
Yeah it is really political - sort of a totalitarian take but at the back of your mind you can feel Orwell bashing Communism again
MissPovaFan is offline  
post #218 of 1969 (permalink) Old 02-07-2007, 09:52 AM
Miss Thang
 
sigmagirl91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Big Blue Nation
Age: 45
Posts: 36,083
                     
Re: Which book do you currently read?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jlee View Post
Great. I've heard that Animal Farm is good, but never got around to reading it.

Romeo and Juliet...freshman English class is coming back to me.
Yeah, I read both of these as a freshman in high school....so long ago.

These days, they have the sophomores read Animal Farm...and if it's an honors class, they have them read it and 1984 as part of a large unit.

Talk to the hand because the ears don't hear you.
sigmagirl91 is offline  
post #219 of 1969 (permalink) Old 02-08-2007, 08:58 PM
Registered User
 
Jlee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,875
                     
Re: Which book do you currently read?

Quote:
Originally Posted by PaulHopkins View Post
Yeah it is really political - sort of a totalitarian take but at the back of your mind you can feel Orwell bashing Communism again
lol, sounds like a good one!

Quote:
Originally Posted by sigmagirl91 View Post
Yeah, I read both of these as a freshman in high school....so long ago.

These days, they have the sophomores read Animal Farm...and if it's an honors class, they have them read it and 1984 as part of a large unit.
That's a great class I love literature classes...

Rooting for: Roddick | Federer | Blake| Fish | Bryans | Gasquet | Querrey | Baghdatis | Verdasco | Kimmy
Missing: Andre | Safin | Women's tennis
Jlee is offline  
post #220 of 1969 (permalink) Old 02-08-2007, 09:25 PM
Miss Thang
 
sigmagirl91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Big Blue Nation
Age: 45
Posts: 36,083
                     
Re: Which book do you currently read?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jlee View Post



That's a great class I love literature classes...
So do I.

Talk to the hand because the ears don't hear you.
sigmagirl91 is offline  
post #221 of 1969 (permalink) Old 02-08-2007, 09:34 PM Thread Starter
-LIFETIME MEMBER-
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Age: 40
Posts: 23,277
                     
Re: Which book do you currently read?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ashie_87
The Historian by Elizabeth Kostova....vampires and Vlad the Impaler. It's pretty good so far
If you like this kind of book I can highly recommend you Twilight from Stephenie Meyer

In the tradition of Anne Rice and YA titles such as Annette Curtis Klause's The Silver Kiss (1999) comes this heady romance that intertwines Bella Swan's life with that of Edward, an alluring and tormented vampire. Bella's life changes when she moves to perpetually rain-soaked Forks, Washington. She is instantly drawn to a fellow student, Edward Cullen, beautiful beyond belief and angrily aloof. Bella senses there is more behind Edward's hostility, and in a plot that slowly and frighteningly unfolds, she learns that Edward and his family are vampires--though they do not hunt humans. Yet Edward cannot promise that his powerful attraction to Bella won't put in her in danger, or worse. Recklessly in love, Bella wants only to be with Edward, but when a vicious, blood-lusting predator complicates her world, Bella's peril is brutally revealed.
Eden is offline  
post #222 of 1969 (permalink) Old 02-08-2007, 09:36 PM
Registered User
 
Naranoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Oxford is not Detroit!
Age: 26
Posts: 8,841
                     
Re: Which book do you currently read?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eden View Post
If you like this kind of book I can highly recommend you Twilight from Stephenie Meyer
As do I
Naranoc is offline  
post #223 of 1969 (permalink) Old 02-08-2007, 09:43 PM Thread Starter
-LIFETIME MEMBER-
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Age: 40
Posts: 23,277
                     
Re: Which book do you currently read?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Naranoc
As do I
Have you read the serial New moon? I wait until the book is released in German, but I'm really looking forward to it.
Eden is offline  
post #224 of 1969 (permalink) Old 02-09-2007, 01:25 AM
Registered User
 
Naranoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Oxford is not Detroit!
Age: 26
Posts: 8,841
                     
Re: Which book do you currently read?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eden View Post
Have you read the serial New moon? I wait until the book is released in German, but I'm really looking forward to it.
Yep, read it a couple of months back . I thought it was great, but some people may not like it as much as Twilight, maybe because of the decreasing references to the vampires in general, and Edward.
Naranoc is offline  
post #225 of 1969 (permalink) Old 02-09-2007, 07:52 AM
Registered User
 
Ashie_87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Sydney
Age: 28
Posts: 1,544
                     
Re: Which book do you currently read?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eden View Post
If you like this kind of book I can highly recommend you Twilight from Stephenie Meyer
Awesome thanks for that

This post was brought to you by: The Awesomeness that is Ferdinand

Tomas
Ashie_87 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the MensTennisForums.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome