Please return my stake from the Dent-Ginepri match. - MensTennisForums.com
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 07-25-2005, 08:24 AM Thread Starter
Banned!
 
its.like.that's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: sans domicile fixe
Posts: 34,169
                     
Please return my stake from the Dent-Ginepri match.

These were the rules stated in the betting thread:

"Who will win this match? This market will be closed at the stated time. If a player retires before completing this match, and the retiring player was leading the match at the point of retirement, all bets will be void and stakes returned. If a player retires before a set has been completed, all bets will be void and states returned. You must be logged in as a registered member to place bets using your vCash (Virtual Cash)."

In this match, Dent retired, and he was not in the lead, there is nothing in the rules stating what should happen upon this outcome. However, the rules do state "If a player retires before a set has been completed all bets will be void" - in this case the 3rd set was not complete, so according to these rules, my stake should be returned. Although, I think that you meant "if players retire before the first set has been completed..." - but that is not what the rules stated.

The reason most bookies invoke the "all bets are void unless match is complete" rule, is to avoid potential losses from suspect matches such as the one yesterday.

After breaking Ginepri, then holding serve to win the first set 6-4, Dent only won a handful of points in the match from then on - while losing 9 straight games, before retiring.


There are also various conflicting interpretations that could be taken from the phrase: "the retiring player was leading the match at the point of retirement".

Is this leading in terms of sets? in terms of current gamescore? all three of those? in terms of points won in the match? in terms of whose way the tide of the match is at the point of retirement?

and if it is in terms of games, if sets are level, and the player serving first holds serve, does that mean that they are in the lead? or do they have to break their opponents serve to be in the lead?

and if gamescore is level, and one player has more points than the other in the next game, ie, 15-0, does that mean that that player is in the lead?
its.like.that is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 07-25-2005, 08:25 AM
Senior Member
 
NATAS81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Monte Carlo, Monaco
Age: 33
Posts: 19,353
                     
Re: Please return my stake from the Dent-Ginepri match.

Dent was down a break, give it up bud.
NATAS81 is offline  
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 07-25-2005, 08:27 AM
bad gambler
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Please return my stake from the Dent-Ginepri match.

lol, nice try jim - i tried this last year but to no avail
post #4 of 4 (permalink) Old 07-25-2005, 08:29 AM Thread Starter
Banned!
 
its.like.that's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: sans domicile fixe
Posts: 34,169
                     
Re: Please return my stake from the Dent-Ginepri match.

Quote:
Originally Posted by bad gambler
lol, nice try jim - i tried this last year but to no avail
read the rules, nothing states that I should lose my bet, nothing at all!
its.like.that is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the MensTennisForums.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome