Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Zurich, Switzerland
Can the hawkeye system be wrong?
Sorry, if this has been discussed before.
During the Mauresmo's 2nd round match today, a challenge against a call by a linesperson was made, and the hawkeye graphic showed the ball was slightly out, but the it said "IN". There was a tiny but a clear space between the ball mark and the line. The umpire's decision was "IN". The commentators were also surprised by that and finding that ridiculous.
There are sometimes moments when I see the hawkeye graphic and think "hey, was the ball that much out!? It didn't look like so.." Sometimes commentators say the same thing. I don't remember in which match, but Eurosport commentators said today something like, "that wasn't that out, was it?"
I remember, during the Masters Cup last year Nalbandian insisted that the ball mark was out, while the hawkeye showed the ball was in.
Has anyone thought about the possibility that Hawkeye can be wrong sometimes??