Re: Player challenge question
I agree with your point, MarieS.
Which I see as a problem with the challenge system.
I was watching a match a week or so ago and the ball was at least 6 inches out, but was called in. The line judge clearly should have called it right the first time but didn't. And the umpire clearly should have overruled the call (since the line was right in front of him) but didn't. Immediately, the umpire looked at the player and basically asked him if he was going to challenge the call, instead of overruling the call.
So, instead of overruling appropriately (and my gut tells me the other player wouldn't have challenged the overrule since it was so far out), the umpire made the shotmaker to burn a challenge.