Special Exempt - MensTennisForums.com
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 01-27-2004, 10:19 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,189
                     
Special Exempt

Please explain the term "special exempt" as related to tournament
entry. I already know terms like wild card, lucky loser, etc.
I know there's a special exempt status, but it's hardly ever
referred to.
Devotee is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 02-26-2004, 12:00 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,189
                     
I finally found a true definition of the term "special exempt".
I tried emailing the ATP official site but their address came back to
me as 'undeliverable'.

This was from the TMS Cincinnati site.
One spot can be left open in case a player who would have had to qualify reaches the semifinals at Tennis Masters Canada (played the week before Cincinnati).

Why? That player can't play qualifying in Cincinnati if he's still playing
in Canada, and reaching the semifinal of a Tennis Masters Series event
should be enough to get you in the next big event.

That explains why Enqvist received a special exemption into Marseille.
He reached the semi-final of Memphis Kroger St. Jude last week.

Devotee is offline  
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 02-26-2004, 10:05 AM
Registered User
 
tall_one's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: lost in some cornfield
Age: 38
Posts: 8,249
                     
tall_one is offline  
post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old 02-26-2004, 02:36 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3
 
Re: Special Exempt

Yes, but it only applies at tournaments of the same level. A SF at Scottdale would not get you a SE the next week at the Masters Series-Indian Wells, for example.
-- Rick
rvach is offline  
post #5 of 5 (permalink) Old 02-26-2004, 05:45 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Belgium
Age: 40
Posts: 172
 
Re: Re: Special Exempt

Quote:
Originally Posted by rvach
Yes, but it only applies at tournaments of the same level. A SF at Scottdale would not get you a SE the next week at the Masters Series-Indian Wells, for example.
-- Rick
No it doesn't, it is possible to get an exempt for a higher tournament. The decision lies with the organizer but for a Master event (your exampl) it would indeed not get U a SE.
William Hunt is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the MensTennisForums.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome