help me clear this out (tennis rules) - MensTennisForums.com
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 12-29-2005, 12:29 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
diegogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 68
                     
help me clear this out (tennis rules)

Hello everyone.

Ok, so we all know that the player who starts serving in a set is the one who was receiving in the last game of the last set, but my question is: what if the last set was decided by a tiebreak??? I would think that the player who was receiving on the last point would serve first, but watching matches I've realised that its not always so, I suspect that maybe if you served the last point in the TB but it was only the first of your 2 serves then you would serve first in the set, otherwise I got no idea how it is decided, I hope someone can help me out, any help will be very appreciatted .

Thank you.

diegogg is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 12-29-2005, 12:32 AM
Vamos Mandy :)
 
Deboogle!.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Looking for Andy's forehand with Sarah and Re...
Posts: 85,829
                     
Re: help me clear this out (tennis rules)

It's the person who received the FIRST point in the tiebreak that gets to start serving in the next set

LA Pics & Reports ~ My New Blog: Adventures of a Picky Foodie! ~ My Travel Blog

to (in no particular order): BryOns | Mandy | MarTy | Isner | Dent | Querrey | Baghdatis | Delic | Oli | N&o | Gasquet | Ferrero | Levine | Malisse | LUX | Melzer | Moya | Nishikori | Haas | Grosjean | Ancic | Mathieu | Calleri | Bolelli | Sela | Blake | more...
Deboogle!. is offline  
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 12-29-2005, 12:34 AM
Pacific Northwest Home
 
cobalt60's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 31,748
                     
Re: help me clear this out (tennis rules)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Debstah
It's the person who received the FIRST point in the tiebreak that gets to start serving in the next set
You are a plethora of information!! I did not know that

The great thing about democracy is that it gives every voter a chance to do something stupid.
Art Spander
cobalt60 is offline  
 
post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 12-29-2005, 12:36 AM
Vamos Mandy :)
 
Deboogle!.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Looking for Andy's forehand with Sarah and Re...
Posts: 85,829
                     
Re: help me clear this out (tennis rules)

I'm 100% sure I learned that somewhere on this board asking the same thing at some point in a scoring thread or something

And if you think about it, it makes sense, b/c the person who receives first in the TB is the person who served at 5-6... so I suppose you could look at it that way as well

LA Pics & Reports ~ My New Blog: Adventures of a Picky Foodie! ~ My Travel Blog

to (in no particular order): BryOns | Mandy | MarTy | Isner | Dent | Querrey | Baghdatis | Delic | Oli | N&o | Gasquet | Ferrero | Levine | Malisse | LUX | Melzer | Moya | Nishikori | Haas | Grosjean | Ancic | Mathieu | Calleri | Bolelli | Sela | Blake | more...
Deboogle!. is offline  
post #5 of 9 (permalink) Old 12-29-2005, 12:38 AM
Miss Thang
 
sigmagirl91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Big Blue Nation
Age: 46
Posts: 36,083
                     
Re: help me clear this out (tennis rules)

Interesting tidbit....thanks.

Talk to the hand because the ears don't hear you.
sigmagirl91 is offline  
post #6 of 9 (permalink) Old 12-29-2005, 12:56 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
diegogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 68
                     
Re: help me clear this out (tennis rules)

Thank you very much Debstah!!!!

diegogg is offline  
post #7 of 9 (permalink) Old 12-29-2005, 12:58 AM
Vamos Mandy :)
 
Deboogle!.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Looking for Andy's forehand with Sarah and Re...
Posts: 85,829
                     
Re: help me clear this out (tennis rules)

You are most welcome!

LA Pics & Reports ~ My New Blog: Adventures of a Picky Foodie! ~ My Travel Blog

to (in no particular order): BryOns | Mandy | MarTy | Isner | Dent | Querrey | Baghdatis | Delic | Oli | N&o | Gasquet | Ferrero | Levine | Malisse | LUX | Melzer | Moya | Nishikori | Haas | Grosjean | Ancic | Mathieu | Calleri | Bolelli | Sela | Blake | more...
Deboogle!. is offline  
post #8 of 9 (permalink) Old 12-29-2005, 03:03 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 312
                     
Re: help me clear this out (tennis rules)

yeah, it switches the order of serves...if you or your team served 1st in the set, and then you go to a tiebreak, the next set you receive first
FaceyFacem is offline  
post #9 of 9 (permalink) Old 12-29-2005, 03:31 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,411
                     
Re: help me clear this out (tennis rules)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Debstah
It's the person who received the FIRST point in the tiebreak that gets to start serving in the next set
totally right... thanks to Guillermo Salatino who always answer my questions

PAW Results 2010/2009/2008/2007/2006/2005:
Winner: / Stuttgart / Viña, Miami, Umag / Stuttgart / Viña / Davis Cup /
Final: / / Paris TMS / Sauipe, B.Aires, Monaco, Umag / Acapulco / Paris TMS / Tokyo
SF: / / Estoril, Shangai / / / / Stuttgart, Palermo
QF: Brisbane/ Umag, USOpen / / Australia, Nottingham, Olympics, Bangkok / Australia, Sauipe / / Kitzbuhel, Beijing

PAW Rank: 14

FITD Champ: Queens 2010 / Miami, Newport & Stuttgart 2009 / Hamburg & Kitzbuhel 2008
Suicide Champ: Johannesburg 2009
NyGeL is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the MensTennisForums.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome