A Simple Question - MensTennisForums.com

 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 09-06-2005, 06:11 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
smartminddesi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 13
 
A Simple Question

I've been watching tennis for quite some time but never paid much attention to this. What's the deal with overrule and replaying a point? Sometimes after a overrule the players replay the point and sometimes a point is awarded to the winner. Has this got something to do with the server offering to replay?
smartminddesi is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 09-06-2005, 06:14 PM
_._._._._._
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Age: 32
Posts: 72,524
                     
Re: A Simple Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by smartminddesi
I've been watching tennis for quite some time but never paid much attention to this. What's the deal with overrule and replaying a point? Sometimes after a overrule the players replay the point and sometimes a point is awarded to the winner. Has this got something to do with the server offering to replay?
If Roddick hits a 145mph ace on the line which is called out, but overruled as good then they would usually give him the point, as it is unlikely that the opponent could've done anything even if the call had not been made. If a ball is incorrectly called out during a point while a rally is going on they will replay the point.
adee-gee is offline  
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 09-06-2005, 06:19 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
smartminddesi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 13
 
Re: A Simple Question

sounds about right. so they always replay a point if the overrule is during a rally?
smartminddesi is offline  
post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 09-06-2005, 06:20 PM
_._._._._._
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Age: 32
Posts: 72,524
                     
Re: A Simple Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by smartminddesi
sounds about right. so they always replay a point if the overrule is during a rally?
If someone has reached a ball and has a shot at it, then a call is made which is overruled then they would usually replay the point. If a probable winner is hit which is called out but then overruled as in, then the point would probably be given.
adee-gee is offline  
post #5 of 11 (permalink) Old 09-06-2005, 06:22 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
smartminddesi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 13
 
Re: A Simple Question

okay, got it. thx adee-gee .

Last edited by smartminddesi; 09-06-2005 at 07:36 PM.
smartminddesi is offline  
post #6 of 11 (permalink) Old 09-06-2005, 10:03 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
smartminddesi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 13
 
Re: A Simple Question

one more noob question. a linesperson calls both a serve long and foot fault right? and sometimes a buzzer goes off after a serve is long (is that an electronic machine?). why does it work only sometimes then? and can a 'let' happen twice and still considered not a fault?
smartminddesi is offline  
post #7 of 11 (permalink) Old 09-06-2005, 10:10 PM
Registered User
 
TheBoiledEgg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: in Woop Woop Land
Posts: 17,684
                     
Re: A Simple Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by smartminddesi
one more noob question. a linesperson calls both a serve long and foot fault right?
no, there's two diff linesmen who do that


Quote:
Originally Posted by smartminddesi
and sometimes a buzzer goes off after a serve is long (is that an electronic machine?). why does it work only sometimes then? and can a 'let' happen twice and still considered not a fault?
cos they turn the cyclops off

and a let can happen a million times as long as the ball still lands inside the opponents service box, you still get your 1,000,001st attempt
TheBoiledEgg is offline  
post #8 of 11 (permalink) Old 09-06-2005, 10:15 PM
RAVE ON
 
buddyholly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: LUBBOCK TX
Posts: 15,542
                     
Re: A Simple Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by smartminddesi
one more noob question. a linesperson calls both a serve long and foot fault right? and sometimes a buzzer goes off after a serve is long (is that an electronic machine?). why does it work only sometimes then? and can a 'let' happen twice and still considered not a fault?
Cyclops only buzzes if the ball is slightly long, because it only looks at a small area close to the line. If the ball is well long cyclops does not see it at all.
It could also be turned off. Sometimes it seems to not work very well and by agreement, is turned off.

JOIN THE CHURCH OF THE FLYING SPAGHETTI MONSTER TODAY
buddyholly is offline  
post #9 of 11 (permalink) Old 09-06-2005, 10:20 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
smartminddesi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 13
 
Re: A Simple Question

thx. that makes sense .
smartminddesi is offline  
post #10 of 11 (permalink) Old 09-06-2005, 10:20 PM
RAVE ON
 
buddyholly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: LUBBOCK TX
Posts: 15,542
                     
Re: A Simple Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by smartminddesi
one more noob question. a linesperson calls both a serve long and foot fault right? and sometimes a buzzer goes off after a serve is long (is that an electronic machine?). why does it work only sometimes then? and can a 'let' happen twice and still considered not a fault?
It IS theoretically possible for the same linesman to call a serve wide and a foot fault. This would occur if the player's foot crosses the centre line and the linesman on the other side of the net calls it.
But the foot fault call comes first and thereafter no in or out call is necessary.

JOIN THE CHURCH OF THE FLYING SPAGHETTI MONSTER TODAY
buddyholly is offline  
post #11 of 11 (permalink) Old 09-06-2005, 10:23 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
smartminddesi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 13
 
Re: A Simple Question

no, i wasn't talking about a serve that is both wide and foot faulted. i was just saying that a linesperson make those calls.

btw, is cyclops only used in grandslams?
smartminddesi is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the MensTennisForums.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome