overrule question - MensTennisForums.com
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 08-24-2005, 03:28 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
PaulieM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Ithaca, NY
Age: 31
Posts: 10,023
                     
overrule question

i read this on yahoo earlier today about something that happend in the blake vs. llodra match:

With a chance to go up 4-2, Blake delivered a strong forehand and shouted, ``Come on!'' Llodra appeared to return the ball just long, but the chair umpire called the outburst a hindrance and gave Llodra the point. He went on to win the game, tying the set at 3-3.

``I've never seen that called in my career,'' Blake said.

i was just wondering if anyone saw the match and could explain what happened, or if you've ever seen that happen before. thanks.

Goran Ivanisevic~ You Never Forget Your First (Tennis) Love!

ROGER FEDERER

GROSJEAN, HENMAN, MOYA, CORIA

ANCIC, BLAKE, LJUBICIC, CLEMENT, SANTORO, BAGHDATIS, MONFILS

F-LO, DENT, PHM, MULLER, STEPANEK, PHILIPPOUSSIS

Co-Founder and Proud Member of M.A.S.H.A


"If you even dream of beating me, you'd better wake up and apologize."-Muhammad Ali

My Blog!
PaulieM is offline  
post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 08-24-2005, 08:53 AM
Registered User
 
Truc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Berlin
Posts: 17,349
                     
Re: overrule question

Sorry, I have no answer, but it's a good question and I didn't want the thread to disappear on page 2.
I've never heard of something like this before.
Truc is offline  
post #3 of 14 (permalink) Old 08-24-2005, 09:44 AM
-LIFETIME MEMBER-
 
ae wowww's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Age: 27
Posts: 8,972
                     
Re: overrule question

So Blake should not have shouted as the point was still in duration?? Unless Llodra really had no way of playing it back in e.g. it was a scramble shot, behind him or something..

But then, I'm surprised the point was awarded to Llodra??? I would've thought at most it would've been played again as a let or something. Otherwise, give it to James.

Weird!

Jim Thomas - Max Mirnyi - Jordan Kerr - Rohan Bopanna - Andy Roddick - Aisam-Ul-Haq Qureshi - Ilia Bozoljac - Chris Haggard - Jan-Michael Gambill - Donald Young - Nathan Healey - Lleyton Hewitt - Jamie Murray - Olivier Rochus - James Blake - Vince Spadea - Tim Henman - John Isner - Travis Parrott - Paul Goldstein - Tim Henman - Wes Moodie - Arnaud Clement - Michael Russell - Jeff Coetzee

Surbiton Trophy Challenger 1998-2008


Jim Thomas Official Site


Jeff Coetzee Official Site
ae wowww is offline  
post #4 of 14 (permalink) Old 08-24-2005, 09:58 AM
Forum Umpire:
Gaston Gaudio
 
Action Jackson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 124,507
                     
Re: overrule question

If Blake screamed loud enough before Llodra had a chance to hit the ball, then I'd understand it, but it doesn't seem the case here.

On Nadal bumping him on the changeover, Rosol said: "It's ok, he wanted to take my concentration; I knew he would try something".


Wilander on Dimitrov - "He has mind set on imitating Federer and yes it looks good. But he has no idea what to do on the court".

Quote:
Originally Posted by Filo V. View Post
I definitely would have preferred Gaba winning as he needs the points much more, but Jan would have beaten him anyway. I expect Hajek to destroy Machado, like 6-1 6-2.
Machado wins 6-2 6-1
Action Jackson is offline  
post #5 of 14 (permalink) Old 08-24-2005, 10:20 AM
Banned!
 
iliketennis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Age: 29
Posts: 819
                     
Re: overrule question

I'm sure Hewitt has been dealt the same punishment in the past.
iliketennis is offline  
post #6 of 14 (permalink) Old 08-24-2005, 05:00 PM
_._._._._._
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Age: 33
Posts: 72,524
                     
Re: overrule question

Interesting....I had a quite similar thing. I played some guy the other week and about 3 or 4 times he shanked a ball and let out a big groan, and the ball landed in. It was very offputting and I had to ask him to stop doing it until he knew the ball was out. I'd be interested to know the ruling.
adee-gee is offline  
post #7 of 14 (permalink) Old 08-24-2005, 05:07 PM
F***ing have it
 
alfonsojose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Barranquilla (COL)
Age: 42
Posts: 17,090
                     
Re: overrule question

Don't they should play the point again ?

"Poor is the man whose pleasures depend on the permission of another" .. Madonna

Drooling after Schuettler, Bolelli, Volandri, Starace (short haired version), ToJo, Tursunov, Alves, Petzschner, Simon, Qureshi, Steve Johnson
alfonsojose is offline  
post #8 of 14 (permalink) Old 08-24-2005, 05:29 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
PaulieM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Ithaca, NY
Age: 31
Posts: 10,023
                     
Re: overrule question

i thought it was pretty odd, i can't remember seeing anything like that happen in a match. if james celebrated the point before a call was made which i've hardly ever seen a player do i figured the most that would happen is having the point be replayed. the only time i can remember anything similar is a player yelling because they think they've missed a shot and having it fall in like adee-gee talked about, but i don't think i've ever seen that resulting in a point being replayed or awarded to the other player.

Goran Ivanisevic~ You Never Forget Your First (Tennis) Love!

ROGER FEDERER

GROSJEAN, HENMAN, MOYA, CORIA

ANCIC, BLAKE, LJUBICIC, CLEMENT, SANTORO, BAGHDATIS, MONFILS

F-LO, DENT, PHM, MULLER, STEPANEK, PHILIPPOUSSIS

Co-Founder and Proud Member of M.A.S.H.A


"If you even dream of beating me, you'd better wake up and apologize."-Muhammad Ali

My Blog!
PaulieM is offline  
post #9 of 14 (permalink) Old 08-24-2005, 06:24 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 939
                     
Re: overrule question

I didn't see the match but I believe the umpire deceided that it was a hindrance.

This is the official rule about hindrances :

Quote:
HINDRANCE
If a player is hindered in playing the point by a deliberate act of the opponent(s), the player shall win the point.
However, the point shall be replayed if a player is hindered in playing the
point by either an unintentional act of the opponent(s), or something outside
the player’s own control (not including a permanent fixture).


Case 1: Is an unintentional double hit a hindrance?
Decision: No. See also Rule 24 (e).
Case 2: A player claims to have stopped play because the player thought that the opponent(s)
was being hindered. Is this a hindrance?
Decision: No, the player loses the point.
Case 3: A ball in play hits a bird flying over the court. Is this a hindrance?
Decision: Yes, the point shall be replayed.
Case 4: During a point, a ball or other object that was lying on the player’s
side of the net when the point started hinders the player. Is this a hindrance?
Decision: No.
Case 5: In doubles, where are the server’s partner and receiver’s partner
allowed to stand?
Decision: The server’s partner and the receiver’s partner may take any position
on their own side of the net, inside or outside the court. However, if a player
is creating a hindrance to the opponent(s), the hindrance rule should be used.

USTA Comment 26.1: What is the difference between a deliberate
and an unintentional act? Deliberate means a player did what the
player intended to do, even if the result was unintended. An example
is a player who advises the player’s partner in such a loud voice that
their opponents are hindered. Unintentional refers to an act over which
a player has no control, such as a hat blowing off or a scream after a
wasp sting.

USTA Comment 26.2: Can a player’s own action be the basis for
that player claiming a let or a hindrance? No. Nothing a player does
entitles that player to call a let. For example, a player is not entitled to a
Let because the player breaks a string, the player’s hat falls off, or a ball
in the player’s pocket falls out.

USTA Comment 26.3: What happens if a player’s cell phone
rings while the ball is in play? Because the player created the disturbance
by bringing the phone to the court and not turning it off, the
player is not entitled to a let. If the referee did not notify the players
that cell phones should be turned off and if this is the first time that
the phone has rung, then the opponent is entitled to a let. If the referee
notified the players or if the player receives more than one call
that rings, the opponent wins the point based on a hindrance.

USTA Comment 26.4: Can the server’s discarding of a second
ball constitute a hindrance? Yes. If the receiver asks the server to
stop discarding the ball, then the server shall stop. Any continued
discarding of the ball constitutes a deliberate hindrance, and the
server loses the point.

USTA Comment 26.5: Is an out call or other noise from a spectator
a hindrance that allows a point to be replayed? No. The actions
of a spectator in an area designated for spectators is not the
basis for replaying a point.
David Kenzie is offline  
post #10 of 14 (permalink) Old 08-24-2005, 06:38 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
PaulieM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Ithaca, NY
Age: 31
Posts: 10,023
                     
Re: overrule question

thanks for that info Gouzo. i guess if the umpire decided that it was a hinderance then according to that he'd have to give the point to llodra instead of replay it because it was deliberate by their definition. i guess i've just never seen that be considered a hinderance by umpires in any of the matches i've seen.

Goran Ivanisevic~ You Never Forget Your First (Tennis) Love!

ROGER FEDERER

GROSJEAN, HENMAN, MOYA, CORIA

ANCIC, BLAKE, LJUBICIC, CLEMENT, SANTORO, BAGHDATIS, MONFILS

F-LO, DENT, PHM, MULLER, STEPANEK, PHILIPPOUSSIS

Co-Founder and Proud Member of M.A.S.H.A


"If you even dream of beating me, you'd better wake up and apologize."-Muhammad Ali

My Blog!
PaulieM is offline  
post #11 of 14 (permalink) Old 08-25-2005, 02:49 PM
Registered User
 
The Pro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,446
                     
Re: overrule question

I despise it when someone shouts during play. Not grunt, mind you, I grunt quite often, but when they say something.

My brother likes to go "YES" or "COME ON" when he hits a good winner on an important point.

I can only describe it as 'bloody off-putting'. When someone shouts in joy when they hit a ball, it puts alarm bells off in your head. Since you're already trying to get the ball anyway it can only be a distraction. As is someone waving their arms like they're trying to take off when they're stadning over you at the net.

Anyone know what the rule is on that too?

So yeah, I think Blake should have been penalised, you can save your celebrations til the ball's bounced twice.
The Pro is offline  
post #12 of 14 (permalink) Old 08-25-2005, 03:38 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 939
                     
Re: overrule question

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Pro
As is someone waving their arms like they're trying to take off when they're stadning over you at the net.

Anyone know what the rule is on that too?
I think Kiefer did that against Federer at Wimby this year, but I think Federer won the point anyway. Maybe if Roger had lost the point then the umpire would have called it a hindrance ? It's a matter of opinion really.
David Kenzie is offline  
post #13 of 14 (permalink) Old 08-25-2005, 03:48 PM
Registered User
 
The Pro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,446
                     
Re: overrule question

What a spud. No wonder his popularity is very 'mixed'.
The Pro is offline  
post #14 of 14 (permalink) Old 08-25-2005, 04:40 PM
_._._._._._
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Age: 33
Posts: 72,524
                     
Re: overrule question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gouzo
I think Kiefer did that against Federer at Wimby this year, but I think Federer won the point anyway. Maybe if Roger had lost the point then the umpire would have called it a hindrance ? It's a matter of opinion really.
Yeah he did. I think it just wound Federer up to be honest, and made him raise his game
adee-gee is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the MensTennisForums.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome