Rule Question (touching of the net during play) - MensTennisForums.com

 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 08-09-2005, 01:07 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
for-sure's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 373
                     
Rule Question (touching of the net during play)

This may sound like a silly question but a friend is driving me crazy claiming that you can touch the net during a point ONCE (without losing the point) but not TWICE. He claims he heard a commentator say it during a particular tennis telecast. Can someone else support my claim that what he heard had to have been WRONG!

For-Sure.

ELENA DEMENTIEVA SERVING
...................................O
O.....
|.....
\
..|\
|
/ \
for-sure is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 08-09-2005, 01:12 AM
country flag Fee
Registered User
 
Fee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Northern California.
Posts: 17,866
                     
Re: Rule Question (touching of the net during play)

Wrong, but I'm sure you can find the USTA rulebook (or the rulebook of whatever country you live in) online to support your argument. Due to my sucky connection, I can't be of much help to you, sorry.

Best twitter posts of the epic match:

@dougrobson - Whoever is supplying Mahut with hair gel needs to ink a sponsorship deal now.

@Wimbledon - FYI, with @Wimbledon live scoring devices, please add 50 to the games in the fifth set of the Isner v Mahut match.

@HolterMedia - Nice to see that a three-day test has come to tennis here @wimbledon.



Andy wearring Crocs, courtesy of Smitty8
Fee is offline  
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 08-09-2005, 04:01 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
for-sure's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 373
                     
Re: Rule Question (touching of the net during play)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fee
Wrong, but I'm sure you can find the USTA rulebook (or the rulebook of whatever country you live in) online to support your argument. Due to my sucky connection, I can't be of much help to you, sorry.
Thank you!

ELENA DEMENTIEVA SERVING
...................................O
O.....
|.....
\
..|\
|
/ \
for-sure is offline  
post #4 of 4 (permalink) Old 08-09-2005, 04:18 AM
Fed Fo Mod
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: On vacation...
Age: 45
Posts: 11,233
                     
Re: Rule Question (touching of the net during play)

"The player or the racket, whether in the player’s hand or not, or anything
which the player is wearing or carrying touches the net, net
posts/singles sticks, cord or metal cable, strap or band, or the opponent’s
court at any time while the ball is in play" loses the point.

From the USTA.

http://dps.altdc3.va.twimm.net/usta_...oc_13_4198.pdf
NYCtennisfan is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the MensTennisForums.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome