Very good thread and fair question!
My reasoning is that something (injury timeout) that is not against the rules is not cheating. Furthermore, my reasoning is that it's not our job to judge from watching the match if the player is really injured or not and if is, therefore, classified as gamesmanship. Only the players themselves (and maybe experienced physios) know what's really going on with their bodies.
So cheating when somebody takes his injury timeout, that the rules award to him, does not exist for me.
And saying it is gamesmanship is very very difficult to prove... and as long as it is not proved as "faking an injury" and applying gamesmanship I would say: in dubio pro reo for the player instead of accusing him/her wrongfully.
Somebody takes an injury timeout at a critical moment? Is it gamesmanship? No, because
(1) if he really needs it, he should take it. The rules allow him that. After he lost the match or maybe a crucial game, it doesn't use him anymore. Sometimes a new tape, a message or whatever is already enough to help immediately.
(2) if his opponent is strong enough and if he has the needs to win, he is holding his game together at any time when it counts, no matter if the match resumes in 5 minutes or if it would next week.
Originally Posted by athie
P.S. is Chloe Rebecca btw?