Originally Posted by drf716
so i think just bcoz you won a grand slam doesn't mean you have to qualify for the top 8... you have to be consistent all year round
How is that answering the respective thread question? There is a rule there and has been there since the end of the Grand Slam Cup and it's not the first time either that it has been implemented see the year 2002 with Johansson and Costa.
To answer the thread question another generic excuse could be.
What is he doing there, he shouldn't have qualified and doesn't deserve to be there, that will come out if he manages to win a set or a match.