S.Q.T. (stupid question thread) - Page 29 - MensTennisForums.com
 40Likes
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #421 of 2182 (permalink) Old 06-05-2013, 01:00 AM
Registered User
 
Lugburz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: near the quasars
Age: 28
Posts: 7,177
                     
Re: S.Q.T. (stupid question thread)

I have S.Q. What's with all these north Korean flags lately?

TOMMY HAAS

Philipp Kohlschreiber - Stanislas Wawrinka - TB - NM - GD - EG - IS - DL - RF - DT - JWT


Quote:
Originally Posted by leng jai View Post
Everytime Haas wins a point is the happiest moment in my life.
Lugburz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #422 of 2182 (permalink) Old 06-05-2013, 07:31 AM
country flag SVK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Age: 25
Posts: 3,763
                     
Re: S.Q.T. (stupid question thread)

Probably because of the new MTF rule (which is completely needed), what shows the level of posters here.

I have another one - What does umpire say when the ball bounce twice? I never understood correctly this word.
SVK is offline  
post #423 of 2182 (permalink) Old 06-05-2013, 08:44 AM
Registered User
 
appleGirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Age: 29
Posts: 1,651
                     
Re: S.Q.T. (stupid question thread)

"Not up"

http://www.letsecondserve.com/

TT Singles: 38 (Best: 38) 2011: Fürth CH W, Izmir CH W, Seoul CH W, Sao Jose Do Rio Preto CH W; 2012: Tiburon CH W; 2015: 's-Hertogenbosch W; 2016: AO SF
TT Doubles: 20 (Best: 19) 2011: Izmir CH W (w/ Mahqz); 2012: US Open SF, Tiburon CH W, Antalya Fut W (w/Mahqz); 2013: Winston Salem W, US Open SF (w/Mahqz); 2015: Sarasota CH W, Fergana CH W, Wimbledon W, Gstaad W, Moscow W (w/Mahqz)
No.1vak Djokovic!

"Is something unbelievable how he returns, no? His return probably is one of the best of the history. That's my opinion, no? I never played against a player who's able to return like this. Almost every time." - R. Nadal about N. Djokovic
appleGirl is online now  
post #424 of 2182 (permalink) Old 06-05-2013, 10:34 AM
#1
 
ProdigyEng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Age: 23
Posts: 32,940
                     
Re: S.Q.T. (stupid question thread)

Why do players with a single handed backhand bother holding their racket with two hands when in return stance?
ProdigyEng is offline  
post #425 of 2182 (permalink) Old 06-05-2013, 11:00 AM
ALT-0
 
Litotes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Norway
Age: 44
Posts: 58,216
                     
Re: S.Q.T. (stupid question thread)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Prodigy. View Post
Why do players with a single handed backhand bother holding their racket with two hands when in return stance?
I guess it's just an easy place to have the other hand. I did it myself.
Litotes is offline  
post #426 of 2182 (permalink) Old 06-05-2013, 11:05 AM
RAVE ON
 
buddyholly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: LUBBOCK TX
Posts: 15,781
                     
Re: S.Q.T. (stupid question thread)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Prodigy. View Post
Why do players with a single handed backhand bother holding their racket with two hands when in return stance?
The "other" hand is used to rotate the racquet to the proper grip once they know whether their next shot will be a forehand or backhand, slice or topspin.

JOIN THE CHURCH OF THE FLYING SPAGHETTI MONSTER TODAY

Last edited by buddyholly; 06-05-2013 at 11:20 AM.
buddyholly is offline  
post #427 of 2182 (permalink) Old 06-05-2013, 11:16 AM
RAVE ON
 
buddyholly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: LUBBOCK TX
Posts: 15,781
                     
Re: S.Q.T. (stupid question thread)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Prodigy. View Post
If a player touches the net after hitting a ball that goes for a winner/hit for an error by their opponent, their opponent is automatically wins the point.

Why is this? I know sometimes an advantage could be gained from touching the net, but a slight accidental touch is not going to change the outcome of the point is it? Espescially if it's a clear winner and they slide into the net well after striking the ball..
You can not touch the net while the ball is in play and the ball is in play until it bounces twice on the opponent's side.

JOIN THE CHURCH OF THE FLYING SPAGHETTI MONSTER TODAY

Last edited by buddyholly; 06-05-2013 at 11:26 AM.
buddyholly is offline  
post #428 of 2182 (permalink) Old 06-05-2013, 06:09 PM
#1
 
ProdigyEng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Age: 23
Posts: 32,940
                     
Re: S.Q.T. (stupid question thread)

Can the server choose any side to serve on for the first point of the game?
ProdigyEng is offline  
post #429 of 2182 (permalink) Old 06-05-2013, 06:23 PM
country flag SVK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Age: 25
Posts: 3,763
                     
Re: S.Q.T. (stupid question thread)

No, when you are serving you start every game from the right side of the court.
SVK is offline  
post #430 of 2182 (permalink) Old 06-05-2013, 06:24 PM
Moderator
 
Pratik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 18,890
                     
Re: S.Q.T. (stupid question thread)

^no. You start on the right side. Thus, deuce always comes on the right and ad on the left. Hence the names deuce court and ad court.
Pratik is offline  
post #431 of 2182 (permalink) Old 06-05-2013, 06:39 PM
Registered User
 
Lugburz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: near the quasars
Age: 28
Posts: 7,177
                     
Re: S.Q.T. (stupid question thread)

I think you didn't understand him, I hope he meant the side of the court(top-bottom), because if he didn't know that you always start the serve from right, well that is a stupid question indeed.

TOMMY HAAS

Philipp Kohlschreiber - Stanislas Wawrinka - TB - NM - GD - EG - IS - DL - RF - DT - JWT


Quote:
Originally Posted by leng jai View Post
Everytime Haas wins a point is the happiest moment in my life.
Lugburz is offline  
post #432 of 2182 (permalink) Old 06-05-2013, 10:54 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 3,552
                     
Re: S.Q.T. (stupid question thread)

Quote:
Originally Posted by buddyholly View Post
You can not touch the net while the ball is in play and the ball is in play until it bounces twice on the opponent's side.
Which actually is a silly rule that should be scrapped.
bjurra is offline  
post #433 of 2182 (permalink) Old 06-05-2013, 10:56 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 3,552
                     
Re: S.Q.T. (stupid question thread)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Prodigy. View Post
Can the server choose any side to serve on for the first point of the game?
Very funny.
bjurra is offline  
post #434 of 2182 (permalink) Old 06-05-2013, 11:32 PM
RAVE ON
 
buddyholly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: LUBBOCK TX
Posts: 15,781
                     
Re: S.Q.T. (stupid question thread)

Quote:
Originally Posted by bjurra View Post
Which actually is a silly rule that should be scrapped.
No, it is not silly. The umpire can not be expected to know when the net is touched, relative in time to other goings on while the ball is in play. Thus the only sensible rule is either that you can touch the net, or you can't touch the net during play of a point. Clearly, the second option could result in a player holding the net up when an opponent is returning the ball, or a player sitting on the net while his doubles partner hits the ball.

JOIN THE CHURCH OF THE FLYING SPAGHETTI MONSTER TODAY
buddyholly is offline  
post #435 of 2182 (permalink) Old 06-05-2013, 11:38 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 3,552
                     
Re: S.Q.T. (stupid question thread)

Quote:
Originally Posted by buddyholly View Post
No, it is not silly. The umpire can not be expected to know when the net is touched, relative in time to other goings on while the ball is in play. Thus the only sensible rule is either that you can touch the net, or you can't touch the net during play of a point. Clearly, the second option could result in a player holding the net up when an opponent is returning the ball, or a player sitting on the net while his doubles partner hits the ball.
Accidently touching the bottom of the net with your foot shouldnt cost you the point.

I think the rule should be limited to touching the net cord. Any deliberate manipulation of the net should of course also be banned but that only affects Mansour Bahrani anyway.
bjurra is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the MensTennisForums.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome