Was Mardy Fish right or wrong? - Page 3 - MensTennisForums.com

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #31 of 62 (permalink) Old 03-14-2012, 01:38 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 4,547
                     
Re: Was Mardy Fish right or wrong?

If Ebden was a pure sportsman who holds sportsmanship in the highest regard, he wouldn't have complained to the umpire because he knew he wasn't gonna make it anyway. Even if the umpire called hindrance, Ebden would have said "No. It's fine. I couldn't make the shot anyway"....

But back in reality, yeah, this.

Quote:
Originally Posted by scoobs View Post
Ebden had a play. He probably still wouldn't have made it, he probably wasn't hindered by the call, but Fish's call was way too early, and so the umpire's decision was correct.

I can understand Fish not being happy, it probably was a winning shot from him, but don't be a dumbass, wait for the ball to be clearly dead before making any sort of call like that.
paseo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 62 (permalink) Old 03-14-2012, 01:38 AM
Registered User
 
Mountaindewslave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 12,111
                     
Re: Was Mardy Fish right or wrong?

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1stserveace View Post
Mardy Fish down a set and break point at 4-4 in the 2nd hits a fantastic short cross court volley. As his opponent sprinted to the ball, and just before contact, Mardy yells "come on!" assuming he won the point. Ebden, his opponent immediately looks to the umpire to replay the point. The umpire agrees with Ebden and calls for a replay of the point due to obstruction. Mardy approaches the umpire to argue that his "come on" did not effect the outcome of the point. As always the umpire does not change his mind and tells Mardy that the rules state you can not yell out prior to the point being completed.

As we all remember this is very similar to Serena Williams last year at the US Open.

I watched the point 3 times and every time I feel Mardy called out too early. Ebden had a play on the ball and whether he would have made it or not is irrelevant. The rules are the rules. I have to agree with the umpire on this one.

I'm sure Mardy is more mad at himself today. He should know better then to yell out before the point is over.

What do you think? Was Mardy right wanting the point awarded to him or was the umpire correct?
Mardy's an idiot, it would be one thing if he had yelled AS Ebden was hitting the ball, but he literally yells WAY beforehand. he yells out when Ebden is running mid-court and seconds pass after Fish's loud noise. it was just a foolish thing to do and for all we know it did affect Ebden's hit on the ball. Matthew certainly seemed upset after hitting the ball from the noice as he glanced and yelled at the ump.

Ebden managed to direct the ball towards the net from an awkward angle so who's to say without the noise and a little more concentration, he couldn't have hit it in?

I used to like Fish a lot because I thought he was a class act, but over the past few years, ironically as he has risen up the rankings and has gotten into 'shape', his personality has gotten worse and he begun to become a clown that has a horrible personality.

hopeful he tumbles in the rankings, because a player with his class does not deserve success

<3 Roger Federer <3 David Ferrer <3 Juan Martin Del Potro <3 Ernest Gulbis <3

------------------------ <3 Richard Gasquet <3

Rafael Nadal
Mountaindewslave is offline  
post #33 of 62 (permalink) Old 03-14-2012, 01:40 AM
Registered User
 
Mountaindewslave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 12,111
                     
Re: Was Mardy Fish right or wrong?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Waddle View Post
Mardy Fish and Andy Roddick might be nice people outside the tennis court, I have no idea. But their pathetic attitude against referees is just disgraceful, especially since they are wrong 90 percent of their arguments.
at least Andy Roddick is entertaining when he gets upset, Mardy Fish is just an ass hole

<3 Roger Federer <3 David Ferrer <3 Juan Martin Del Potro <3 Ernest Gulbis <3

------------------------ <3 Richard Gasquet <3

Rafael Nadal
Mountaindewslave is offline  
post #34 of 62 (permalink) Old 03-14-2012, 02:11 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 4,588
                     
Re: Was Mardy Fish right or wrong?

Fish can't be right.
swebright is offline  
post #35 of 62 (permalink) Old 03-14-2012, 02:13 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 994
                     
Re: Was Mardy Fish right or wrong?

At the US Open Serena actually lost the point for doing the same thing:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Yd1FlBcdi1c

Serena vs. Stosur
Marc23 is offline  
post #36 of 62 (permalink) Old 03-14-2012, 03:39 AM
Registered User
 
Nixer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Moscow, Russia
Age: 29
Posts: 2,695
                     
Re: Was Mardy Fish right or wrong?

Quote:
Originally Posted by BroTree123 View Post
Fish was wrong, umpire was right. It was a hindrance because regardless of whether you can't get the ball or not, you can't celebrate until the point is over. Should have kept his mouth shut, but then again, he's American .
I'm pretty sure screaming right after hitting a clean winner (when opponent has no chance of getting to the ball) doesn't (and shouldn't) get punished - and is frequently done by the players.
Nixer is offline  
post #37 of 62 (permalink) Old 03-14-2012, 04:16 AM
Registered User
 
navy75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,787
                     
Re: Was Mardy Fish right or wrong?

Quote:
Originally Posted by NicolasKiefer44 View Post
When did he call Gasquet a "fag"? And why? It was malicious?
It was several years ago at the USO. Mardy was in the crowd watching Ginepri play Gasquet, and was so drunk and disruptive that security actually got called his way.

I'm not sure if there is any way that calling someone that is not malicious, but no one should take it too personally. Fish was always one of those guys on the challenger circuit that ran with a couple of the other "good old boys," and loved to talk trash about everyone even then too. I'd like to speculate that he's grown up on the immature/a**hole front, but based on his actions this past year I severely doubt it (and if anything he's probably gotten worse).

Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Groove View Post
I'm so fucking sick of not being on tour. I'm so fucking sick of being a nobody. I'm just so fucking sick.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Frank Garrett
This is about the 4th post you've made today.
navy75 is offline  
post #38 of 62 (permalink) Old 03-14-2012, 05:48 AM
Registered User
 
leng jai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Oxford (at heart)
Age: 29
Posts: 24,205
                     
Re: Was Mardy Fish right or wrong?

Fish was a dumbass and then proceeded to make himself look like even more of a dumbass after his chat with the umpire.

Ajde.

WARNING: This signature may contain extreme traces of bullying and glory hunting
TOMMY HASS
0 slams () and 0 finals
0 consecutive weeks at world no. 1
0 consecutive Laureus World Sports Awards
0 times qualified for YEC
3-13 H2H against Rogi Featherer
0-5 H2H against Rafito Nadal
Career low ranking: 1,241 (26.06.1995)
0 fake mullets flaunted in Roland Garros finals.
0 double bagels consumed against Raonic on grass
1 first name in common with Tommy Robredo
leng jai is offline  
post #39 of 62 (permalink) Old 03-14-2012, 09:38 AM
Registered User
 
Beat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Confoederatio Helvetica
Posts: 1,518
                     
Re: Was Mardy Fish right or wrong?

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1stserveace View Post
As always the umpire does not change his mind and tells Mardy that the rules state you can not yell out prior to the point being completed.
i don't have more to add, it's a clear rule. i mean, it's logical you can't scream "come on!" during a point.

Quote:
Originally Posted by navy75 View Post
he was wrong to call Gasquet a "fag,"
he did?? source?


__________________

__________________


Last edited by Beat; 03-14-2012 at 09:45 AM.
Beat is offline  
post #40 of 62 (permalink) Old 03-14-2012, 10:15 AM
Banned!
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Sen'jin Village
Age: 32
Posts: 18,509
                     
Re: Was Mardy Fish right or wrong?

If I were the umpire, I'd disqualify Fish from the match entirely for being such a disagreeable mug.
Topspindoctor is offline  
post #41 of 62 (permalink) Old 03-14-2012, 10:29 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Age: 26
Posts: 574
                     
Re: Was Mardy Fish right or wrong?

So there are 2 empty slots of Fish & Tipsa in the top 10 for Isner and another guy.
cmoss is offline  
post #42 of 62 (permalink) Old 03-14-2012, 10:47 AM
Registered User
 
BroTree123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 17,810
                     
Re: Was Mardy Fish right or wrong?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nixer View Post
I'm pretty sure screaming right after hitting a clean winner (when opponent has no chance of getting to the ball) doesn't (and shouldn't) get punished - and is frequently done by the players.
Hindrance is when you celebrate/scream/vamos/adje/cmon or what-have-you, when the ball hasn't double bounced yet -- it doesn't matter whether or not there is a chance to get the ball, it's downright rude. Fish got rooted for that, and thoroughly deserved his punishment.

Quote:
Hian about himself
Quote:
No words can describe me.
Without me, it would be just aweso.
No shit.
Quote:
Originally Posted by MTwEeZi View Post
Never held a racquet in my life.
Quote:
Originally Posted by MTwEeZi View Post
I've played the game for close to 10 years. This should come as no surprise to many.

Banned Users
BroTree123 is offline  
post #43 of 62 (permalink) Old 03-14-2012, 11:39 AM
Registered User
 
Nixer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Moscow, Russia
Age: 29
Posts: 2,695
                     
Re: Was Mardy Fish right or wrong?

Quote:
Originally Posted by BroTree123 View Post
Hindrance is when you celebrate/scream/vamos/adje/cmon or what-have-you, when the ball hasn't double bounced yet -- it doesn't matter whether or not there is a chance to get the ball, it's downright rude. Fish got rooted for that, and thoroughly deserved his punishment.
I think it does matter - for example if Fish made a clean dropshot and Ebden would be behind the baseline and wouldn't move for it - nobody would've argued with Mardy's celebration. Same story as if umpire overrules clean winner as OUT, and Hawk Eye shows that it's IN, the point gets awarded and not replayed - there was no chance of returning the ball anyway, the other player didn't get hindered by umpire's call.

I've just seen Federer, Nadal, Djokovic, etc. celebrate right after they hit the ball for a winner - it's really depends on if the ball can be played by opponent or not.
Nixer is offline  
post #44 of 62 (permalink) Old 03-14-2012, 11:58 AM
Registered User
 
MaxPower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Age: 32
Posts: 7,805
                     
Re: Was Mardy Fish right or wrong?

Fish isn't very smart. He needs a new grunt when he hits those shots. Then he can just use a "celebration grunt" slightly after the ball is hit. He can also raise his leg, spin around, fist pump, beat his chest or whatever. Just don't do like THAT, because that was soooooooo distracting. But maybe if he did "come on" after every shot he hit the umpire would let it fly eventually
MaxPower is offline  
post #45 of 62 (permalink) Old 03-14-2012, 12:08 PM
Registered User
 
BroTree123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 17,810
                     
Re: Was Mardy Fish right or wrong?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nixer View Post
I think it does matter - for example if Fish made a clean dropshot and Ebden would be behind the baseline and wouldn't move for it - nobody would've argued with Mardy's celebration. Same story as if umpire overrules clean winner as OUT, and Hawk Eye shows that it's IN, the point gets awarded and not replayed - there was no chance of returning the ball anyway, the other player didn't get hindered by umpire's call.

I've just seen Federer, Nadal, Djokovic, etc. celebrate right after they hit the ball for a winner - it's really depends on if the ball can be played by opponent or not.
That's because the opposition either didn't bother to get it, or they tried to get it but they, for example, stretched for it but missed it and the ball goes past the opponent and goes to the stands/wall....then they celebrate.

The rule still stands. If you have the chance to even touch the ball before it bounces twice (but NOT necessarily having the chance to get it back), it is still hindrance if you celebrate before the point is over.

Quote:
Hian about himself
Quote:
No words can describe me.
Without me, it would be just aweso.
No shit.
Quote:
Originally Posted by MTwEeZi View Post
Never held a racquet in my life.
Quote:
Originally Posted by MTwEeZi View Post
I've played the game for close to 10 years. This should come as no surprise to many.

Banned Users
BroTree123 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the MensTennisForums.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome