Someone Explain This To Me... (Re. Serves) - Page 2 - MensTennisForums.com

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #16 of 27 (permalink) Old 02-18-2012, 09:07 PM
Registered User
 
Nixer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Moscow, Russia
Age: 29
Posts: 2,695
                     
Re: Someone Explain This To Me... (Re. Serves)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slice Winner View Post
I actually prefer the way he handled it today - if the server hits a 2nd serve, called good, challenged and called out, I think he should get a 2nd serve. It doesn't make sense to replay the whole 'point' since no real disadvantage was caused to the server.
Oh, is that what the situation was today? I didn't watch the match, from your post I thought it's the same as 1st situation. This one is different, so then the decision was correct.
Nixer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #17 of 27 (permalink) Old 02-18-2012, 09:10 PM
Registered User
 
Slice Winner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 2,438
                     
Re: Someone Explain This To Me... (Re. Serves)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nixer View Post
Oh, is that what the situation was today? I didn't watch the match, from your post I thought it's the same as 1st situation. This one is different, and then the decision was correct.
Sorry I wrote it the wrong way round.
Davy's 2nd serve was called out, Davy challenged and hawkeye called it good. Fergus gave Davy another 2nd serve instead of a 1st.
Slice Winner is offline  
post #18 of 27 (permalink) Old 02-18-2012, 09:25 PM
Registered User
 
Nixer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Moscow, Russia
Age: 29
Posts: 2,695
                     
Re: Someone Explain This To Me... (Re. Serves)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slice Winner View Post
Sorry I wrote it the wrong way round.
Davy's 2nd serve was called out, Davy challenged and hawkeye called it good. Fergus gave Davy another 2nd serve instead of a 1st.
Well, usually umpires give 1st serves in that position.. Davy IMO should have complained, and called the supervisor if Murphy wouldn't change the decision.
Nixer is offline  
post #19 of 27 (permalink) Old 02-18-2012, 09:30 PM
Registered User
 
Slice Winner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 2,438
                     
Re: Someone Explain This To Me... (Re. Serves)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nixer View Post
Well, usually umpires give 1st serves in that position.. Davy IMO should have complained, and called the supervisor if Murphy wouldn't change the decision.
Davy didn't seem pleased, but didn't argue too long.
Slice Winner is offline  
post #20 of 27 (permalink) Old 02-18-2012, 09:40 PM
Registered User
 
156mphserve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 19,411
                     
Re: Someone Explain This To Me... (Re. Serves)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slice Winner View Post
I actually prefer the way he handled it today - if the server hits a 2nd serve, called out, challenged and called good, I think he should get a 2nd serve. It doesn't make sense to replay the whole 'point' since no real disadvantage was caused to the server.
davydenko successfully got a 2nd serve in, so why should he have had to get another one in?

A double fault is when you miss 2 serves in a row, he made a 2nd serve, so he shouldn't be given another 2nd serve because if he missed that one it would be a DF for missing only 1 serve in a row.

He made his serve, only reason that it wasn't allowed was a bad line judge call, why should he have to face the risk of having to make it again just because of a bad call? The fact that he had to is a disadvantage to the server isn't it?

a DF is 0/2 serves in, not 1/3

2012 Chennai Champion
11-13 San Jose 3-Peat
Milos

Welcome Your Newest Top 10 Member

Raonic

Proud Canadian
11-13 San Jose 3-Peat
2012 Chennai Champion
156mphserve is offline  
post #21 of 27 (permalink) Old 02-18-2012, 10:34 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Age: 43
Posts: 80
                     
Re: Someone Explain This To Me... (Re. Serves)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 156mphserve View Post
davydenko successfully got a 2nd serve in, so why should he have had to get another one in?

A double fault is when you miss 2 serves in a row, he made a 2nd serve, so he shouldn't be given another 2nd serve because if he missed that one it would be a DF for missing only 1 serve in a row.

He made his serve, only reason that it wasn't allowed was a bad line judge call, why should he have to face the risk of having to make it again just because of a bad call? The fact that he had to is a disadvantage to the server isn't it?

a DF is 0/2 serves in, not 1/3
This has never made sense to me until you articulated it this way. Thanks!
bassoon is offline  
post #22 of 27 (permalink) Old 02-18-2012, 10:37 PM
country flag n8
 
n8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Canberra, Australia
Age: 31
Posts: 7,377
                     
Re: Someone Explain This To Me... (Re. Serves)

Quote:
Originally Posted by bassoon View Post
This has never made sense to me until you articulated it this way. Thanks!
Ditto.
n8 is offline  
post #23 of 27 (permalink) Old 02-18-2012, 10:41 PM
Registered User
 
fast_clay's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: ₫ṿﻁᶫỉᾔﺍᶏ
Posts: 15,727
                     
Re: Someone Explain This To Me... (Re. Serves)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 156mphserve View Post
davydenko successfully got a 2nd serve in, so why should he have had to get another one in?

A double fault is when you miss 2 serves in a row, he made a 2nd serve, so he shouldn't be given another 2nd serve because if he missed that one it would be a DF for missing only 1 serve in a row.

He made his serve, only reason that it wasn't allowed was a bad line judge call, why should he have to face the risk of having to make it again just because of a bad call? The fact that he had to is a disadvantage to the server isn't it?

a DF is 0/2 serves in, not 1/3
what a great post

Quote:
Originally Posted by SelvenluvJo View Post
why are you so seriously
fast_clay is offline  
post #24 of 27 (permalink) Old 02-19-2012, 02:45 AM
Registered User
 
Slice Winner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 2,438
                     
Re: Someone Explain This To Me... (Re. Serves)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 156mphserve View Post
davydenko successfully got a 2nd serve in, so why should he have had to get another one in?

A double fault is when you miss 2 serves in a row, he made a 2nd serve, so he shouldn't be given another 2nd serve because if he missed that one it would be a DF for missing only 1 serve in a row.

He made his serve, only reason that it wasn't allowed was a bad line judge call, why should he have to face the risk of having to make it again just because of a bad call? The fact that he had to is a disadvantage to the server isn't it?

a DF is 0/2 serves in, not 1/3
I understand the reasoning behind it, and it makes sense.
I just think giving another first serve is an imperfect solution. (And either Fergus agrees with me, or he forgot the rules :P)

It's unfair having to hit another 2nd serve having already made one. But it's unfair to the returner to have to receive another first serve despite server having definitely missed it.
Slice Winner is offline  
post #25 of 27 (permalink) Old 02-19-2012, 02:51 AM
Registered User
 
156mphserve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 19,411
                     
Re: Someone Explain This To Me... (Re. Serves)

well there isn't a 1.5th serve, and imo it would be more unfair on the server to get a 2nd serve that it would be on the returner to have to return a 1st.

When a server misses a first serve, makes the 2nd, they play a point and somewhere in the rally there's a missed called, that gets either overuled or challenged and reversed, and the point needs to be replayed, the server gets a first serve then too. Is that unfair on the returner as well?

2012 Chennai Champion
11-13 San Jose 3-Peat
Milos

Welcome Your Newest Top 10 Member

Raonic

Proud Canadian
11-13 San Jose 3-Peat
2012 Chennai Champion
156mphserve is offline  
post #26 of 27 (permalink) Old 02-19-2012, 02:56 AM
Registered User
 
Slice Winner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 2,438
                     
Re: Someone Explain This To Me... (Re. Serves)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 156mphserve View Post
well there isn't a 1.5th serve, and imo it would be more unfair on the server to get a 2nd serve that it would be on the returner to have to return a 1st.
I agree.. there isn't a perfectly fair solution, but makes more sense to give the advantage to the server since it's his service game.

Quote:
When a server misses a first serve, makes the 2nd, they play a point and somewhere in the rally there's a missed called, that gets either overuled or challenged and reversed, and the point needs to be replayed, the server gets a first serve then too. Is that unfair on the returner as well?
Yea, I think so.
Slice Winner is offline  
post #27 of 27 (permalink) Old 02-19-2012, 02:57 AM
Registered User
 
Yolita's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Mexico
Posts: 3,086
                     
Re: Someone Explain This To Me... (Re. Serves)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slice Winner View Post
I understand the reasoning behind it, and it makes sense.
I just think giving another first serve is an imperfect solution. (And either Fergus agrees with me, or he forgot the rules :P)

It's unfair having to hit another 2nd serve having already made one. But it's unfair to the returner to have to receive another first serve despite server having definitely missed it.
Or he was trying to help Federer. We'll never know...

NOVAK DJOKOVIC
Yolita is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the MensTennisForums.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome