Aren't they just supposed to overrule and let the players challenge?
I didn't see the incident, but I did see the point where the linesperson was unsighted and the ball was about half a foot out and the umpire didn't make the call - he made Cilic challenge! Seemed like a very novice umpire.
I think the umpire did the right thing. Linesman indicated he was unsighted, and if the umpire was not sure if it was in or out, then he should ask for a hawkeye review, which he did. He was not really challenging the call, he was being fair to both players as linesman could not make a call.
However having said that, the ball was out by quite a bit & umpire should have seen that. So you can fault him for not paying attention.
I have no problem with an umpire going to Hawkeye if the linesman didn't see it. that's being said I didn't see the incident so I don't know what happened, but Hawkeye is there to get calls right. If the linesman is unable to determine whether it was in or out better to go to hawkeye than to make a call just for the sake of calling it
Just stop. It's not funny, it's not original, it's not even annoying. It's just a painfully boring line of text I have to skip every thread, and I would rather save the split second of time that takes thanks
I read somewhere recently that an "umpire's challenge" was called during a WTA match last week (Dementieva/Date Krumm). One of them hit a serve that went way out -- there was no call from a linesperson and the umpire apparently didn't see it. I think the use of an umpire's challenge is rare though.