New Rules Quiz (clay) - MensTennisForums.com
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 04-30-2009, 11:39 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Age: 38
Posts: 213
                     
New Rules Quiz (clay)

Here are some questions regarding procedures on clay courts since we are in the clay court season right now. Good luck.

1. On a clay court, Player A hits a shot very close to the line and the ball is called out. As Player B slides, he accidentally slides right through the ball mark erasing the mark. Player A wants you to check the mark. As the chair umpire, what is your decision?

A. Player B loses the point as he erased the mark.
B. The original call stands as you can't read the mark and the mark erasing was accidental.
C. Replay the point.

2. On a clay court, Player A hits a very high lob that lands very close to the far side line. The line umpire calls the ball out. Player A wants you to go check the mark. When you get to where the ball hit, there are 2 small circular marks next to each other, one touching the line and the other one not touching the line. You are unsure which mark, so you call the line umpire. The line umpire comes up and says he's not sure which one it is. As the chair umpire, your decision is?

A. The original call stands.
B. Replay the point.

3. Same situation as #2, only this time the line umpire points at a different mark about a foot away from where you are and the mark he points at is a long elliptical mark, almost looking like a serve mark and it is touching the line.

A. Replay the point
B. Go with the mark that he showed you as "in" even though you know that by the shape of the mark, it couldn't have been a lob.
C. Say "thank you" to the line umpire, go with the original call, and laugh in your head the whole way back to the chair at the moron line umpire that doesn't know what the shape of a lob ball mark should be.

4. Player A hits a shot that is very close to the line and it's called out. He wants you to check the mark. You go down and look and see that the ball is in. You go back to the chair and announce the score as you are awarding the point as a winner to Player A. Player B then says, "No, I hit the ball back." You think about and realize that he is correct and that you should have decided to replay the point. Should you:

A. Replay the point and explain that since player A reminded of you of an actual fact that happened, it's ok to change your decision.
B. Award the point to Player A explaining that you can't change your decision once you have announced it.

5. Similar situation to #4, instead this time, you announce "replay the point." Player A says, "No, he didn't have a play on the ball. It was a winner." You think about it and realize that although Player B didn't actually hit the ball, you're not quite sure that he did or did not stop because of the out call. Should you:

A. Replay the point since you already announced that, and you are not allowed to change your "judgment" based on player appeal.
B. Award the point to player A.
woodrow1029 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 04-30-2009, 11:45 PM
Banned!
 
GlennMirnyi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: I'm in Porto Alegre, bitch!
Posts: 42,099
                     
Re: New Rules Quiz (clay)

1. Stick with the call.
2. Replay the point and fire the linesman.
3. Punch the linesman? Probably C.
4. B
5. A

Just what I'd do in the last couple of questions.
GlennMirnyi is offline  
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 04-30-2009, 11:56 PM
Registered User
 
Montego's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Age: 36
Posts: 2,135
                     
Re: New Rules Quiz (clay)

Quote:
Originally Posted by woodrow1029 View Post
Here are some questions regarding procedures on clay courts since we are in the clay court season right now. Good luck.

1. On a clay court, Player A hits a shot very close to the line and the ball is called out. As Player B slides, he accidentally slides right through the ball mark erasing the mark. Player A wants you to check the mark. As the chair umpire, what is your decision?

B. The original call stands as you can't read the mark and the mark erasing was accidental.

2. On a clay court, Player A hits a very high lob that lands very close to the far side line. The line umpire calls the ball out. Player A wants you to go check the mark. When you get to where the ball hit, there are 2 small circular marks next to each other, one touching the line and the other one not touching the line. You are unsure which mark, so you call the line umpire. The line umpire comes up and says he's not sure which one it is. As the chair umpire, your decision is?

A. The original call stands.

3. Same situation as #2, only this time the line umpire points at a different mark about a foot away from where you are and the mark he points at is a long elliptical mark, almost looking like a serve mark and it is touching the line.

A. Replay the point

4. Player A hits a shot that is very close to the line and it's called out. He wants you to check the mark. You go down and look and see that the ball is in. You go back to the chair and announce the score as you are awarding the point as a winner to Player A. Player B then says, "No, I hit the ball back." You think about and realize that he is correct and that you should have decided to replay the point. Should you:

B. Award the point to Player A explaining that you can't change your decision once you have announced it.
(Kohlschreiber - Robredo in Hamburg anyone ?)

5. Similar situation to #4, instead this time, you announce "replay the point." Player A says, "No, he didn't have a play on the ball. It was a winner." You think about it and realize that although Player B didn't actually hit the ball, you're not quite sure that he did or did not stop because of the out call. Should you:

A. Replay the point since you already announced that, and you are not allowed to change your "judgment" based on player appeal.
Right ?
Montego is offline  
post #4 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-01-2009, 12:02 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Age: 38
Posts: 213
                     
Re: New Rules Quiz (clay)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Montego View Post
Right ?
Just remember that in Hamburg, the umpire wasn't allowed to change his reading of the mark because Kohlschreiber was changing his Judgment of whether the mark was in or not. In question 4, you are being reminded of the actual fact of the player hitting the ball back, and not a judgment whether he had a play on the ball or not.
woodrow1029 is offline  
post #5 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-01-2009, 12:13 AM
Registered User
 
Bazooka's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,414
                     
Re: New Rules Quiz (clay)

1. B. The original call stands as you can't read the mark and the mark erasing was accidental.

If a call can't be challenged it stands.

2. A. The original call stands.

Same thing. Out was called, you must prove it was a wrong call or it stands.

3. C. Say "thank you" to the line umpire, go with the original call, and laugh in your head the whole way back to the chair at the moron line umpire that doesn't know what the shape of a lob ball mark should be.

Again if there's not way to prove a call is wrong it should stand. Not sure about this one, however.

4. A. Replay the point and explain that since player A reminded of you of an actual fact that happened, it's ok to change your decision.

Common sense, but not sure.

5. B. Award the point to player A.

This is why players usually touch the ball even when it is out... if you're not sure, return it, always.

Nadal career prediction: 6 RG, 2 Wimbledon, 1 Australian Open, 1 US Open, 2 Master Cup, 20 Master Series, 65 titles.
(Predicted before RG 2008 when he had 3xRG)
--------
Quote:
The inhabitants of the Balearic Islands are said to have been the inventors of slings, and to have managed them with surprising dexterity, owing to the manner of bringing up their children. The children were not allowed to have their food by their mothers till they had first struck it with their sling.
~Vegetius, De Re Militari, late 4th century
Nadal: the last Balearic Slinger, the ultimate product of natural selection. Feel the weight of the centuries in the Topspin from Hell!
Bazooka is offline  
post #6 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-01-2009, 03:03 AM
-LIFETIME MEMBER-
 
Har-Tru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Age: 30
Posts: 20,524
                     
Re: New Rules Quiz (clay)

Quote:
Originally Posted by woodrow1029 View Post
Here are some questions regarding procedures on clay courts since we are in the clay court season right now. Good luck.

1. On a clay court, Player A hits a shot very close to the line and the ball is called out. As Player B slides, he accidentally slides right through the ball mark erasing the mark. Player A wants you to check the mark. As the chair umpire, what is your decision?

A. Player B loses the point as he erased the mark.
B. The original call stands as you can't read the mark and the mark erasing was accidental.
C. Replay the point.

2. On a clay court, Player A hits a very high lob that lands very close to the far side line. The line umpire calls the ball out. Player A wants you to go check the mark. When you get to where the ball hit, there are 2 small circular marks next to each other, one touching the line and the other one not touching the line. You are unsure which mark, so you call the line umpire. The line umpire comes up and says he's not sure which one it is. As the chair umpire, your decision is?

A. The original call stands.
B. Replay the point.

3. Same situation as #2, only this time the line umpire points at a different mark about a foot away from where you are and the mark he points at is a long elliptical mark, almost looking like a serve mark and it is touching the line.

A. Replay the point
B. Go with the mark that he showed you as "in" even though you know that by the shape of the mark, it couldn't have been a lob.
C. Say "thank you" to the line umpire, go with the original call, and laugh in your head the whole way back to the chair at the moron line umpire that doesn't know what the shape of a lob ball mark should be.

4. Player A hits a shot that is very close to the line and it's called out. He wants you to check the mark. You go down and look and see that the ball is in. You go back to the chair and announce the score as you are awarding the point as a winner to Player A. Player B then says, "No, I hit the ball back." You think about and realize that he is correct and that you should have decided to replay the point. Should you:

A. Replay the point and explain that since player A reminded of you of an actual fact that happened, it's ok to change your decision.
B. Award the point to Player A explaining that you can't change your decision once you have announced it.

5. Similar situation to #4, instead this time, you announce "replay the point." Player A says, "No, he didn't have a play on the ball. It was a winner." You think about it and realize that although Player B didn't actually hit the ball, you're not quite sure that he did or did not stop because of the out call. Should you:

A. Replay the point since you already announced that, and you are not allowed to change your "judgment" based on player appeal.
B. Award the point to player A.
Nice to see you back woodrow.

Quote:
Originally Posted by philosophicalarf View Post
Armstrong says in-competition testing will never catch anyone, only out-of-competition testing and the blood passport can.

Tennis has no blood passport system, and does basically no out of competition testing.

The methods and drugs used by Armstrong in 1999 would work in tennis right now, with zero chance of being caught (not slightly surprising to anyone familiar with the topic, btw).
Har-Tru is offline  
post #7 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-01-2009, 03:05 AM
-LIFETIME MEMBER-
 
Har-Tru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Age: 30
Posts: 20,524
                     
Re: New Rules Quiz (clay)

Quote:
Originally Posted by woodrow1029 View Post
Just remember that in Hamburg, the umpire wasn't allowed to change his reading of the mark because Kohlschreiber was changing his Judgment of whether the mark was in or not. In question 4, you are being reminded of the actual fact of the player hitting the ball back, and not a judgment whether he had a play on the ball or not.
wasn't it because you can't change your call on appeal? That's what old Tom Barnes said.

Quote:
Originally Posted by philosophicalarf View Post
Armstrong says in-competition testing will never catch anyone, only out-of-competition testing and the blood passport can.

Tennis has no blood passport system, and does basically no out of competition testing.

The methods and drugs used by Armstrong in 1999 would work in tennis right now, with zero chance of being caught (not slightly surprising to anyone familiar with the topic, btw).
Har-Tru is offline  
post #8 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-01-2009, 08:44 AM
Registered User
 
jonas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,822
                     
Re: New Rules Quiz (clay)

B, A, C, A, A

"You were no picnic, you were no prize
but you had just enough pathos to keep me hypnotized"

Ani DiFranco
jonas is offline  
post #9 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-01-2009, 04:04 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Age: 38
Posts: 213
                     
Re: New Rules Quiz (clay)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Har-Tru View Post
wasn't it because you can't change your call on appeal? That's what old Tom Barnes said.
Yes, but it was changing the call on appeal on a judgment call that you can't do. If the player is reminding you of an actual fact that happened, i.e. that he actually hit the ball, and you remember that he did hit the ball, that is a point of tennis law that the point is replayed. You can change your decision based on that information. If he tells you he hit it, and you can't remember, then you have to stick with your original call.
woodrow1029 is offline  
post #10 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-01-2009, 04:28 PM
-LIFETIME MEMBER-
 
Har-Tru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Age: 30
Posts: 20,524
                     
Re: New Rules Quiz (clay)

Quote:
Originally Posted by woodrow1029 View Post
Yes, but it was changing the call on appeal on a judgment call that you can't do. If the player is reminding you of an actual fact that happened, i.e. that he actually hit the ball, and you remember that he did hit the ball, that is a point of tennis law that the point is replayed. You can change your decision based on that information. If he tells you he hit it, and you can't remember, then you have to stick with your original call.
got it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by philosophicalarf View Post
Armstrong says in-competition testing will never catch anyone, only out-of-competition testing and the blood passport can.

Tennis has no blood passport system, and does basically no out of competition testing.

The methods and drugs used by Armstrong in 1999 would work in tennis right now, with zero chance of being caught (not slightly surprising to anyone familiar with the topic, btw).
Har-Tru is offline  
post #11 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-01-2009, 04:50 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Age: 38
Posts: 213
                     
Re: New Rules Quiz (clay)

Answers:
1. B
2. A
3. C
4. A
5. A
woodrow1029 is offline  
post #12 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-01-2009, 05:03 PM
-LIFETIME MEMBER-
 
Har-Tru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Age: 30
Posts: 20,524
                     
Re: New Rules Quiz (clay)

yay, I got them right!

Quote:
Originally Posted by philosophicalarf View Post
Armstrong says in-competition testing will never catch anyone, only out-of-competition testing and the blood passport can.

Tennis has no blood passport system, and does basically no out of competition testing.

The methods and drugs used by Armstrong in 1999 would work in tennis right now, with zero chance of being caught (not slightly surprising to anyone familiar with the topic, btw).
Har-Tru is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the MensTennisForums.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome