Here are some questions regarding procedures on clay courts since we are in the clay court season right now. Good luck.
1. On a clay court, Player A hits a shot very close to the line and the ball is called out. As Player B slides, he accidentally slides right through the ball mark erasing the mark. Player A wants you to check the mark. As the chair umpire, what is your decision?
A. Player B loses the point as he erased the mark.
B. The original call stands as you can't read the mark and the mark erasing was accidental.
C. Replay the point.
2. On a clay court, Player A hits a very high lob that lands very close to the far side line. The line umpire calls the ball out. Player A wants you to go check the mark. When you get to where the ball hit, there are 2 small circular marks next to each other, one touching the line and the other one not touching the line. You are unsure which mark, so you call the line umpire. The line umpire comes up and says he's not sure which one it is. As the chair umpire, your decision is?
A. The original call stands.
B. Replay the point.
3. Same situation as #2, only this time the line umpire points at a different mark about a foot away from where you are and the mark he points at is a long elliptical mark, almost looking like a serve mark and it is touching the line.
A. Replay the point
B. Go with the mark that he showed you as "in" even though you know that by the shape of the mark, it couldn't have been a lob.
C. Say "thank you" to the line umpire, go with the original call, and laugh in your head the whole way back to the chair at the moron line umpire that doesn't know what the shape of a lob ball mark should be.
4. Player A hits a shot that is very close to the line and it's called out. He wants you to check the mark. You go down and look and see that the ball is in. You go back to the chair and announce the score as you are awarding the point as a winner to Player A. Player B then says, "No, I hit the ball back." You think about and realize that he is correct and that you should have decided to replay the point. Should you:
A. Replay the point and explain that since player A reminded of you of an actual fact that happened, it's ok to change your decision.
B. Award the point to Player A explaining that you can't change your decision once you have announced it.
5. Similar situation to #4, instead this time, you announce "replay the point." Player A says, "No, he didn't have a play on the ball. It was a winner." You think about it and realize that although Player B didn't actually hit the ball, you're not quite sure that he did or did not stop because of the out call. Should you:
A. Replay the point since you already announced that, and you are not allowed to change your "judgment" based on player appeal.
B. Award the point to player A.
Nice to see you back woodrow.