Challenging a 2nd serve fault - MensTennisForums.com
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 10-30-2008, 07:31 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 335
                     
Challenging a 2nd serve fault

Why do you get a first serve after a 2nd serve fault is called and there is a challenge?
yonexforever is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 10-30-2008, 07:34 AM
Registered User
 
TeamID's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Age: 29
Posts: 150
                     
Re: Challenging a 2nd serve fault

Quote:
Originally Posted by yonexforever View Post
Why do you get a first serve after a 2nd serve fault is called and there is a challenge?
:facepalm

That's not how it works
TeamID is offline  
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 10-30-2008, 09:03 AM
country flag s_j
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Age: 27
Posts: 41
                     
Re: Challenging a 2nd serve fault

When the second serve is called 'out' and the ball is challenged, if the ball is actually 'in' then the server will get two serves again (unless, of course, the second serve would have been an ace - then the server would win the point). Think of it as replaying the point rather than replaying the second serve. If the same happens in a rally you don't replay the last few strokes, you replay the whole point. It's the same with (second) serves. Replaying the point means starting from the beginning, which means you get a first serve.
s_j is offline  
post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 10-30-2008, 12:43 PM
In hiding.
 
SloKid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Age: 32
Posts: 19,112
                     
Re: Challenging a 2nd serve fault

Quote:
Originally Posted by s_j View Post
When the second serve is called 'out' and the ball is challenged, if the ball is actually 'in' then the server will get two serves again (unless, of course, the second serve would have been an ace - then the server would win the point). Think of it as replaying the point rather than replaying the second serve. If the same happens in a rally you don't replay the last few strokes, you replay the whole point. It's the same with (second) serves. Replaying the point means starting from the beginning, which means you get a first serve.
Yeah, it's still a silly rule at times though, last week in Basel a player hit a first serve in the net and it basically destroyed the tape in the middle, so it had to be replaced, after that happened he got another first serve.
SloKid is offline  
post #5 of 7 (permalink) Old 11-03-2008, 10:45 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 335
                     
Re: Challenging a 2nd serve fault

It jus seems odd..
yonexforever is offline  
post #6 of 7 (permalink) Old 11-03-2008, 12:49 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 939
                     
Re: Challenging a 2nd serve fault

Quote:
Originally Posted by SloKid View Post
Yeah, it's still a silly rule at times though, last week in Basel a player hit a first serve in the net and it basically destroyed the tape in the middle, so it had to be replaced, after that happened he got another first serve.
After a long delay you get a first serve. It's up to the umpire.
David Kenzie is offline  
post #7 of 7 (permalink) Old 11-03-2008, 04:49 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Cylon Base Ship
Posts: 12,385
                     
Re: Challenging a 2nd serve fault

This thread :fails:
FedFan_2007 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the MensTennisForums.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome