Double Retirement: Has It Ever Happened? - MensTennisForums.com

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 32 (permalink) Old 04-27-2008, 05:36 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 24,270
                     
Double Retirement: Has It Ever Happened?

I know it's highly unlikely to happen but what would happen if in a final of a grandslam both players retire? Would there be a match between semi-finalists?

SheepleBuster: Nikola Tesla of MTF ...Jesus of America - the Capitalist Crusader.. the Morning Star ... the Bringer of Light.

My Black List: InfiDULL, Gutless Federer

Suarez & Nadal : True Trailblazers in Sports
*Proud hater of the neo-L.Ron Hubbard of Espana, the fake Pharaoh without clothes ... cult leader extraordinaire and ...

Fact: George Washington did not lose to Nole in Wimbledon final
SheepleBuster is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 32 (permalink) Old 04-27-2008, 05:40 AM
-LIFETIME MEMBER-
 
Richardgm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 162
                     
Re: Double Retirement: Has It Ever Happened?

Why would both retire? When you hear one has retired, don't you automatically win? What are they going to notify the officals at the exact same time?

<confused>
Richardgm is offline  
post #3 of 32 (permalink) Old 04-27-2008, 05:41 AM
Registered User
 
Alex999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kanata
Posts: 11,582
                     
Re: Double Retirement: Has It Ever Happened?

this is great. I'm so tempted to open a new thread too :-)
Alex999 is offline  
post #4 of 32 (permalink) Old 04-27-2008, 05:42 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 24,270
                     
Re: Double Retirement: Has It Ever Happened?

It's highly unlikely. But let's say before the game both players come down with a bad case of Flu. I don't know. I just wanted to know if there is a rule in place.

SheepleBuster: Nikola Tesla of MTF ...Jesus of America - the Capitalist Crusader.. the Morning Star ... the Bringer of Light.

My Black List: InfiDULL, Gutless Federer

Suarez & Nadal : True Trailblazers in Sports
*Proud hater of the neo-L.Ron Hubbard of Espana, the fake Pharaoh without clothes ... cult leader extraordinaire and ...

Fact: George Washington did not lose to Nole in Wimbledon final
SheepleBuster is offline  
post #5 of 32 (permalink) Old 04-27-2008, 05:43 AM
Ace Loveforty
 
scarecrows's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Tirana, ALBANIA
Posts: 81,649
                     
Re: Double Retirement: Has It Ever Happened?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alex999 View Post
this is great. I'm so tempted to open a new thread too :-)
go on, open one for quadruple retirement

http://www.menstennisforums.com/show...&postcount=378

Quote:
Originally Posted by FormerRafaFan View Post
That will be the last victory of Rafa for quite some time.. With his joke mentality and pathetic game, I hope the disgusting player loses every single match next season. He's disgraceful. He should just retire. He's a joke.
Quote:
Originally Posted by l_mac View Post
(10) Corey Feldman vs. (12) scarecrows
scarecrows is offline  
post #6 of 32 (permalink) Old 04-27-2008, 05:43 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Cylon Base Ship
Posts: 12,385
                     
Re: Double Retirement: Has It Ever Happened?

Fortunately it hasn't happened in the history of tennis.
FedFan_2007 is offline  
post #7 of 32 (permalink) Old 04-27-2008, 05:46 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 24,270
                     
Re: Double Retirement: Has It Ever Happened?

What if both players are hit by a truck before the match. Just wanted to know if there is rule. Given, it will probably never happen. Can we move on now

SheepleBuster: Nikola Tesla of MTF ...Jesus of America - the Capitalist Crusader.. the Morning Star ... the Bringer of Light.

My Black List: InfiDULL, Gutless Federer

Suarez & Nadal : True Trailblazers in Sports
*Proud hater of the neo-L.Ron Hubbard of Espana, the fake Pharaoh without clothes ... cult leader extraordinaire and ...

Fact: George Washington did not lose to Nole in Wimbledon final
SheepleBuster is offline  
post #8 of 32 (permalink) Old 04-27-2008, 05:50 AM
Registered User
 
Alex999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kanata
Posts: 11,582
                     
Re: Double Retirement: Has It Ever Happened?

Quote:
Originally Posted by scarecrows View Post
go on, open one for quadruple retirement
well, it's possible in doubles, right, what if all 4 players get a heart attack at the same time?
Alex999 is offline  
post #9 of 32 (permalink) Old 04-27-2008, 07:40 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 580
                     
Re: Double Retirement: Has It Ever Happened?

If one player knew that the other was struggling, they'd probably drag themself onto the court regardless of their physical condition.
Benny_Maths is offline  
post #10 of 32 (permalink) Old 04-27-2008, 07:49 AM
RAJ KAREGA KHALSA
 
Bibberz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 9,976
                     
Re: Double Retirement: Has It Ever Happened?

I don't mean to sound derisive, but this is the sort of question a six-year old might ask. This question is still at least...interesting, so it's immediately better than 70% of the questions found in threads.

I agree with one of the earlier posters--someone has to retire first. The match ends at that moment. I would think it would be collusive (and presumably improper) if the players agreed to retire simultaneously.
Bibberz is offline  
post #11 of 32 (permalink) Old 04-27-2008, 07:56 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Age: 31
Posts: 4,144
                     
Re: Double Retirement: Has It Ever Happened?

That looks possible, if one player doesn't know anything about his opponent's retirement and they both pull out at exactly the same time

You play only as good, as your opponent lets you to
Adler is offline  
post #12 of 32 (permalink) Old 04-27-2008, 08:03 AM
Registered User
 
Jimnik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Here
Posts: 20,932
                     
Re: Double Retirement: Has It Ever Happened?

Quote:
Originally Posted by cyrusking View Post
What if both players are hit by a truck before the match.
The one who crawls out of his hopsital bed first is the winner.
Jimnik is offline  
post #13 of 32 (permalink) Old 04-27-2008, 08:25 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 132
                     
Re: Double Retirement: Has It Ever Happened?

It's quite straightforward ...

If both players are defaulted or withdraw prior to a match in the first round, their places are taken by lucky losers (players who have lost in qualifying but who have signed in that morning and who are on 15 minute call to play). In doubles without qualies, ALTernates (players who signed in on the entry sheet but who did not make the cut but who also have to sign in the morning of play).

In a later round, the match is voided and the opponent in the next round is given a walk over. The only time this not come into play is in a 48 or 96 player draw and
it is possible for a lucky loser to go straight into the second round and collect second round prize money but no points if they lose the match.

I am almost certain there have been instances of a player winning a later stage match due to the retirement of his opponent and the "wimming" player withdrawing injured and giving his next opponent a walk over.

The flipside to all this are the many instances in the past of doubles teams not having a good relationship with their opponents and both teams trying to tank (usually to get catch the same flight!) with hilarious results.

Last edited by boughtmypoints; 04-27-2008 at 08:33 AM.
boughtmypoints is offline  
post #14 of 32 (permalink) Old 04-27-2008, 09:17 AM
Registered User
 
Kolya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Munich
Posts: 11,324
                     
Re: Double Retirement: Has It Ever Happened?

Would be interesting to see it happen.

Retiring at the same time would be ironic.

Robin Bo Carl Söderling
Kolya is offline  
post #15 of 32 (permalink) Old 04-27-2008, 09:21 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 81
                     
Re: Double Retirement: Has It Ever Happened?

Quote:
Originally Posted by cyrusking View Post
It's highly unlikely. But let's say before the game both players come down with a bad case of Flu. I don't know. I just wanted to know if there is a rule in place.
Quote:
Originally Posted by cyrusking View Post
What if both players are hit by a truck before the match. Just wanted to know if there is rule. Given, it will probably never happen. Can we move on now
Is there something we should be concerned about? You seem really determined to find out what will happen if two finalists are taken out.
thesonofgray is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the MensTennisForums.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome