Do I understand the rules correctly? - MensTennisForums.com
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 18 (permalink) Old 02-10-2008, 11:57 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 2,396
                     
Do I understand the rules correctly?

If a slam winner falls out of the final Top Eight in the Race, he still gets the invitation for TMC? Therefore, Novak already qualified, no matter what final race spot he takes?

Mandatory reading:
"Bury My Heart at Wounded Knee"
Farenhajt is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 18 (permalink) Old 02-10-2008, 11:57 PM
Vamos Mandy :)
 
Deboogle!.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Looking for Andy's forehand with Sarah and Re...
Posts: 85,829
                     
Re: Do I understand the rules correctly?

Has to be in the top 20 of the race. So as soon as Novak has been confirmed to finish within the top 20 for the race as long as the other slam winners are within the top 7 (or behind him in the top 20), he would qualify automatically.

But really do you think he'll not be in the top 8?

LA Pics & Reports ~ My New Blog: Adventures of a Picky Foodie! ~ My Travel Blog

to (in no particular order): BryOns | Mandy | MarTy | Isner | Dent | Querrey | Baghdatis | Delic | Oli | N&o | Gasquet | Ferrero | Levine | Malisse | LUX | Melzer | Moya | Nishikori | Haas | Grosjean | Ancic | Mathieu | Calleri | Bolelli | Sela | Blake | more...
Deboogle!. is offline  
post #3 of 18 (permalink) Old 02-11-2008, 12:00 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 2,396
                     
Re: Do I understand the rules correctly?

I sure don't just wanted to check how the rule works.

Mandatory reading:
"Bury My Heart at Wounded Knee"
Farenhajt is offline  
post #4 of 18 (permalink) Old 02-11-2008, 12:04 AM
Vamos Mandy :)
 
Deboogle!.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Looking for Andy's forehand with Sarah and Re...
Posts: 85,829
                     
Re: Do I understand the rules correctly?

alright, just checking

LA Pics & Reports ~ My New Blog: Adventures of a Picky Foodie! ~ My Travel Blog

to (in no particular order): BryOns | Mandy | MarTy | Isner | Dent | Querrey | Baghdatis | Delic | Oli | N&o | Gasquet | Ferrero | Levine | Malisse | LUX | Melzer | Moya | Nishikori | Haas | Grosjean | Ancic | Mathieu | Calleri | Bolelli | Sela | Blake | more...
Deboogle!. is offline  
post #5 of 18 (permalink) Old 02-11-2008, 05:38 AM
Registered User
 
JimmyV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,856
                     
Re: Do I understand the rules correctly?

Joke will only be able to play if they build a court inside the Shanghai international hospital. They'll be able to take him to and from the court in a wheelchair and administer IV fluids on each changeover.

Labadze - Berrer - Junqueira
JimmyV is offline  
post #6 of 18 (permalink) Old 02-11-2008, 08:34 AM
♥ eve ♥
 
bokehlicious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Lausanne
Posts: 40,768
                     
Re: Do I understand the rules correctly?

Pointless thread, Novak will come to TMC leading the race by a huge margin...
bokehlicious is offline  
post #7 of 18 (permalink) Old 02-11-2008, 08:50 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: I don't really know, I travel a lot :)
Age: 30
Posts: 1,591
                     
Re: Do I understand the rules correctly?

It's not pointless. It's not about Novak, it's about the rules.

For instance, in 2002, Thomas Johansson and Albert Costa were not in the top 8 of the race whereas they were both slam winner. Only one of them could go to the YEC, Costa !

Allez Simon, you rock
Grenouille is offline  
post #8 of 18 (permalink) Old 02-11-2008, 08:58 AM
Registered User
 
Kolya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Munich
Posts: 11,306
                     
Re: Do I understand the rules correctly?

Interesting rule.

Never knew about it.

Robin Bo Carl Söderling
Kolya is offline  
post #9 of 18 (permalink) Old 02-11-2008, 08:59 AM
♥ eve ♥
 
bokehlicious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Lausanne
Posts: 40,768
                     
Re: Do I understand the rules correctly?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grenouille View Post
It's not pointless.
Thanks for the bad rep mate, was worth it you Einstein

SCUMBAG!

:retard::retard::retard:
bokehlicious is offline  
post #10 of 18 (permalink) Old 02-11-2008, 09:25 AM
Registered User
 
Nathaliia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 94,681
                     
Re: Do I understand the rules correctly?

The same rules is in the doubles as well

Comedy is a drama that happens to other people

my old Polish blog www.tenislove.pl
Nathaliia is offline  
post #11 of 18 (permalink) Old 02-11-2008, 12:01 PM
Registered User
 
Renaud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 7,055
                     
Re: Do I understand the rules correctly?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grenouille View Post
For instance, in 2002, Thomas Johansson and Albert Costa were not in the top 8 of the race whereas they were both slam winner. Only one of them could go to the YEC, Costa !
There were even 3 GS winners out of top 8.
Costa: 11th
Sampras: 13th
Johansson: 14th

ToJo was the first alternate there, but does any one know if it was thanks to the rule (2nd GS winner out of top 8 is first alternate) or because Henman, Roddick, Haas, Nalbandian and Sampras did not want to come ?

~♠ Lisnardaire(s) ~
un pour un, un pour un

‾‾‾‾‾‾‾‾‾‾‾‾‾‾‾‾‾‾‾‾‾‾‾‾‾‾‾
"Je peux simplement vous dire que Jean-René Lisnard aime beaucoup les Chocapics" Benjamin Balleret
Renaud is offline  
post #12 of 18 (permalink) Old 02-11-2008, 12:19 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 2,396
                     
Re: Do I understand the rules correctly?

So, the addendum to the rule is that no more than one out-of-the-eight-slam-winner can qualify directly. OK.

Mandatory reading:
"Bury My Heart at Wounded Knee"
Farenhajt is offline  
post #13 of 18 (permalink) Old 02-11-2008, 12:26 PM
Registered User
 
*bunny*'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 8,523
                     
Re: Do I understand the rules correctly?

In 2001, Goran appeared in TMC under this rule. He was ranked #13 after TMS Paris.

JUAN CARLOS FERRERO FOREVER!!

Also supporting Rafael Nadal, Kei Nishikori, Lleyton Hewitt
David Ferrer, Andy Murray, Juan Martin Del Potro, Nikolay Davydenko, David Nalbandian
Goran Ivanisevic and Marat Safin
#3 Ferrero Tard
*bunny* is offline  
post #14 of 18 (permalink) Old 02-11-2008, 12:32 PM
-LIFETIME MEMBER-
 
MrExcel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: London, UK
Age: 29
Posts: 779
                     
Re: Do I understand the rules correctly?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Renaud View Post
There were even 3 GS winners out of top 8.
Costa: 11th
Sampras: 13th
Johansson: 14th

ToJo was the first alternate there, but does any one know if it was thanks to the rule (2nd GS winner out of top 8 is first alternate) or because Henman, Roddick, Haas, Nalbandian and Sampras did not want to come ?
It would make sense to me that any other Grand Slam champions (i.e. Johansson) were offered the alternate place first, but I don't know whether that's the rule or not. I only know that Henman said he wouldn't travel as an alternate that year and Sampras didn't play any events after his US Open win, not sure about Roddick, Haas or Nalbandian though...


MrExcel is offline  
post #15 of 18 (permalink) Old 02-11-2008, 05:13 PM
-LIFETIME MEMBER-
 
Aphex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Hässelby
Posts: 2,809
                     
Re: Do I understand the rules correctly?

http://www.atptennis.com/en/common/T...lebook2008.pdf

Page 31
Aphex is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the MensTennisForums.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome