Stupid question - MensTennisForums.com

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 22 (permalink) Old 10-07-2007, 12:07 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Age: 30
Posts: 56
                     
Stupid question

What does "SE" stand for in the draw brackets? I just saw Puerta is in next week's Quito Challanger with an "SE" next to his name. I've never been able to figure that one out. Any help?
Ragayan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 22 (permalink) Old 10-07-2007, 12:11 AM
Banned!
 
GlennMirnyi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: I'm in Porto Alegre, bitch!
Posts: 42,099
                     
Re: Stupid question

Special exempt. When a player gets to the final of a tournament and he would have to play qualies in another tournament of the same level, he gets a SE entry in the main draw.
GlennMirnyi is offline  
post #3 of 22 (permalink) Old 10-07-2007, 04:59 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Age: 30
Posts: 56
                     
Re: Stupid question

got it, thanks!
Ragayan is offline  
post #4 of 22 (permalink) Old 10-07-2007, 05:32 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 11,122
                     
Re: Stupid question

I think reaching the SF is enough in most cases to be eligible for a SE next week.


TT Singles 2012: W: Winston-Salem SF: Honolulu CH, Rotterdam, Memphis, 's-Hertogenbosch, Wimbledon, Beijing, Vienna QF: Barcelona, Nice, Bastad, Petange CH, Bangkok R16: Monte Carlo, Madrid
TT Doubles 2012: W: Caloundra CH (with kingroger), Acapulco (with keqtqiadv) F: Beijing (with KittyTennis) SF: Sydney (with Belludal), Memphis (with Belludal), Guadalajara CH (with kingroger), Wimbledon (with RHB1993) QF: Barcelona (with extremaduratenis), Cincinnati (with stbanchile)
TankingTheSet is offline  
post #5 of 22 (permalink) Old 10-07-2007, 06:15 AM
Registered User
 
Jelena's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Age: 43
Posts: 85,806
                     
Re: Stupid question

The important thing is you need to play a match on the day the quali of the next tournament starts. Cause it's Saturday (mainly SF-day) often SF is enough.

Vamos Nando! Come on Andy! A portuguese Vamos to André Sá e Marcelo Melo! Vamos Gastão!Auf geht's Dustin! Vamos ChristianLindell!Vamos David! Pojd Tomáš! Davai Dolgo!

Bolo Zenden, Bobo Gille, Zlatan
Jelena is offline  
post #6 of 22 (permalink) Old 10-07-2007, 06:17 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Age: 48
Posts: 68
                     
Re: Stupid question

and how about the other qualifiers, such as SE player's opponent in QS?

I support
N. Djokovic A. Murray R. Federer
alexinmusic is offline  
post #7 of 22 (permalink) Old 10-07-2007, 11:53 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 85
                     
Re: Stupid question

Quote:
Originally Posted by GlennMirnyi View Post
Special exempt. When a player gets to the final of a tournament and he would have to play qualies in another tournament of the same level, he gets a SE entry in the main draw.
If you are playing double SF, do you get SE? Or SE is just for a player who is playing SF in single only?
wifey99999999 is offline  
post #8 of 22 (permalink) Old 10-07-2007, 03:05 PM
Registered User
 
Jelena's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Age: 43
Posts: 85,806
                     
Re: Stupid question

Quote:
Originally Posted by alexinmusic View Post
and how about the other qualifiers, such as SE player's opponent in QS?
the players who have a SE never appear in the Quali-draw.

Vamos Nando! Come on Andy! A portuguese Vamos to André Sá e Marcelo Melo! Vamos Gastão!Auf geht's Dustin! Vamos ChristianLindell!Vamos David! Pojd Tomáš! Davai Dolgo!

Bolo Zenden, Bobo Gille, Zlatan
Jelena is offline  
post #9 of 22 (permalink) Old 10-07-2007, 03:30 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Age: 48
Posts: 68
                     
Re: Stupid question

oh,i got it finally, haha.

I support
N. Djokovic A. Murray R. Federer
alexinmusic is offline  
post #10 of 22 (permalink) Old 10-07-2007, 06:33 PM
Banned!
 
GlennMirnyi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: I'm in Porto Alegre, bitch!
Posts: 42,099
                     
Re: Stupid question

Quote:
Originally Posted by wifey99999999 View Post
If you are playing double SF, do you get SE? Or SE is just for a player who is playing SF in single only?
I don't think so. It's just for singles, but maybe you can get a doubles SE, even though I never heard about it.
GlennMirnyi is offline  
post #11 of 22 (permalink) Old 10-07-2007, 06:45 PM
Registered User
 
gusman890's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Age: 26
Posts: 3,158
                     
Re: Stupid question

hmm

It makes sense if your both in doubles draw and your still playing and you were planning on playing singles qualies. By rule it sounds ligit, but I'm not 100% sure.

I cannot stand Djokovic
NEW YORK METS

I'm an American who loves clay tennis and the clay season...what is wrong with that picture?
gusman890 is offline  
post #12 of 22 (permalink) Old 10-07-2007, 06:46 PM
Registered User
 
R.Federer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 8,821
                     
Re: Stupid question

Not a stupid question... and thanks Gu and others for giving the answer, I had never thought about it.
R.Federer is offline  
post #13 of 22 (permalink) Old 10-07-2007, 10:25 PM
Registered User
 
Frooty_Bazooty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Age: 31
Posts: 5,304
                     
Re: Stupid question

in Puerta's case - Supplementally 'Enhanced'

Andy Murray ~ Richard Gasquet ***David Nalbandian*** Rafael Nadal ~ Gilles Simon
Paw Ranking (Race) : ? (?)
Brought PAW to MTF in 2004
Year end no. 1 in 2012

PAW Titles : 9 (WIMBLEDON '12, Washington '11, Acapulco '08, Stockholm '07, Houston '05, Monte Carlo TMS '04, Newport '04, Beijing '04, Moscow '04)
Finalist: 15 (Buenos Aires '12, Stockholm '11, Barcelona '11, Queen's 09, Nottingham '08, Las Vegas '08, Adelaide '08, Tokyo '06, St Poelten '06, Australian Open '05, St Poelten '05, Newport '05, Wimbledon '04, Houston '04, Basel '04)
Frooty_Bazooty is offline  
post #14 of 22 (permalink) Old 10-07-2007, 10:31 PM
Banned!
 
GlennMirnyi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: I'm in Porto Alegre, bitch!
Posts: 42,099
                     
Re: Stupid question

Quote:
Originally Posted by gusman890 View Post
hmm

It makes sense if your both in doubles draw and your still playing and you were planning on playing singles qualies. By rule it sounds ligit, but I'm not 100% sure.
Doesn't make sense at all. SEs are based on the two tournaments being of the same level, and doubles is clearly distinct from singles.
GlennMirnyi is offline  
post #15 of 22 (permalink) Old 10-07-2007, 10:53 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Age: 30
Posts: 56
                     
Re: Stupid question

Okay, so if they have the main draw acceptance list complete, and the qualifiers and WC's get their place in the draw, who gives up their spot in the main draw for the SE player?

For example, in the upcoming Moscow tournament, 25 people are in the Main Draw because their ranking is high enough. 3 people are in because of a Wild Card. And the rest are 4 Qualifiers. Now, lets say someone got an SE into this tournament. Would they take up a Wild Card spot, in which case the tournament would have to inform someone that was expecting a WC that they will not get a WC after all? Or would they take up a Qualifier spot, in which case there would be an extra Qualifier match between two people who would have normally made the cut? Or what? Who's spot do they take?
Ragayan is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the MensTennisForums.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome