- View Single Post - Australian Open averts player boycott with increased prizemoney
View Single Post
post #97 of (permalink) Old 08-24-2012, 06:27 PM Thread Starter
country flag Looner
Registered User
Looner's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 13,441
Re: Players threaten to boycott the AO!

I wonder if this has something to do with that article. Interesting decision to include Krajcek means Nadal's machinations behind the scenes never really stopped. He just lost to Federer (yet again).


NEW YORK — The ATP has announced the inaugural members of its new Competition Committee, created to evaluate and recommend changes in the way the professional game is presented and played at ATP World Tour and ATP Challenger Tour events.

The ATP Competition Committee will serve purely in an advisory capacity, with any recommended changes or innovations continuing to require approval by the ATP Board of Directors. The six-person committee consists of two representatives designated by the ATP Tournament Council, two representatives designated by the ATP Player Council, and one at-large member and a committee chairman, both selected by the ATP Executive Chairman & President.

“I have enormous respect for the history and tradition of our game,” said ATP Executive Chairman and President Brad Drewett. “At the same time, it’s important that we continue to explore new and creative ideas for enhancing the competition and presentation of the sport. We have a great group involved and I look forward to seeing what they come up with.”

Sergio Palmieri and Graham Pearce have been selected as the two Tournament Council-designated representatives. Palmieri has served as Tournament Director at the BNL Internazionali d’Italia, an ATP World Tour Masters 1000 event, since 2003. Pearce, a former Tournament Director of the Heineken Open in Auckland, an ATP World Tour 250 event, also served on the ATP Board of Directors from 2000 through 2010.

Lorne Abony and Weller Evans have been selected as the two Player Council-designated representatives. Abony is CEO and Chairman of Mood Media Corporation and has been an active member of the global tennis community, helping to raise in excess of $1 million to support worthy global causes through his charity Pro-Am events with the help of many past and present ATP players. Evans worked for the ATP for 25 years, the last 15 as Executive Vice President of Player Services, before retiring in 2006.

Richard Krajicek, the 1996 Wimbledon champion, has been designated as the at-large representative by Drewett. Krajicek reached a career-high South African Airways ATP Ranking of No.4 in 1999. The Dutchman is currently the Tournament Director of the ABN AMRO World Tennis Tournament in Rotterdam, an ATP World Tour 500 event.

Gayle David Bradshaw, ATP Executive Vice President of Rules & Competition, was appointed committee chairman by Drewett.

The "Who plays tennis?" thread

Originally Posted by Rocket Rod Laver
Roger is like a good red wine, he’s getting better with age.
Looner is offline  
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome