- View Single Post - Losing against the eventual slam winner- An Open Era overview
View Single Post
post #25 of (permalink) Old 01-30-2012, 07:37 PM Thread Starter
country flag Purple Rainbow
Registered User
Purple Rainbow's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: BoL
Age: 36
Posts: 6,782
Re: Losing against the eventual slam winner- An Open Era overview

The players who lost to Djokovic at Australian Open 2012 (in brackets the number of times they lost to an eventual slam winner):

F:    Rafael Nadal         (6)
SF:   Andy Murray          (7)
QF:   David Ferrer         (3)
R16:  Lleyton Hewitt       (13)
R32:  Nicolas Mahut        (2)
R64:  Santiago Giraldo     (1)
R128: Paolo Lorenzi        (1)
-Nadal became the first player in the Open Era to lose three slam finals in a row. Of course, they were all against Djokovic. Nadals name shows up more and more in the lists of this thread.
-In a time span of less than four years, Murray has now lost 7 times against the eventual slam winner. This is almost half of the tournaments played in that period (7/15)! If he continues at this pace, his coach Lendls record might be in danger.
-Ferrer has lost to the eventual winner three times, all of those were quarterfinals.
-Hewitt has lost in the 4th round to the eventual winner 6 times, which is a record. Indication of bad luck at draws or something else? Anyway it's a pretty meaningless, but beautiful stat!
-Nicolas Mahut has lost twice to eventual winner, both were in the third round.

17 (yes, yes, yes!) Slams! And counting....
Purple Rainbow is offline  
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome